We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly And Helpful Front Desk Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Save Saved
You added The Northam All Suite Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Northam All Suite Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Friendly And Helpful Front Desk Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The front desk staff were helpful and friendly when we checked-in.
The suite was clean, spacious with a very comfortable bed.
The only surprise I had was that even though I was on the 26th floor, the traffic from the street in-front of the hotel was audible.
Thankfully, the street traffic was inaudible by the time I retired at 11 pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ibnibatutta,

We are very pleased to learn that you have a very pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You back to the Northam All Suite Hotel Penang.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    103
    59
    21
    23
See reviews for
68
65
18
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We did some research and get many recommendations to stay in the Northam Hotel, Penang. After our 2D1N stay, we totally agree with the good reviews on TripAdvisor and would like to spread the word about this hotel!
#Room - We got a Junior Suite (Room 2704) with amazing sea-view, as requested. The room is clean and spacious with separating bedroom and common area which provides more privacy.
#Bathroom - We got 2 bathrooms!!! which is a great news for us who are traveling in a group of 5. This saves us from fighting over the toilet!
#Price - Reasonable. You'd be paying the same price for a smaller room in the hotels nearby.
#Location - very near to most Penang attractions yet not to close to the hustle and bustle of the city center
#Service - Attentive and Friendly! We requested for a complimentary birthday cake when we did our online booking. We were touched and were as surprised as the birthday girl when the staff brought the cake to the doorstep and sang birthday song! Check out the photo of the cake! It's not a slice but A CAKE! LOL!! We truly appreciate the effort and the kind service!
# Comments for improvement: The furniture and the condition of the room are wearing out. Some upgrading/refurbishment are recommended.

We will definitely come back to Northam Hotel for our next trip to Penang! Keep it up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Weina29,

We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and the birthday cake that our staff presented to you.

Yes, we look forward to Welcome You back to the Northam All Suite Hotel Penang.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed two nights.

Pros:
#1. Big and spacious suite room
#2. Ocean view
#3. Free WIFI with good signals in the room, lounge and coffee house

Cons:
#1. Blackouts in my room every 30 minutes. Despite two complaints made to the reception, the maintenance staff attended it only one hour later. The staff at the front desk finally agreed to transfer me to another room at about 12.00am midnight after the 4th blackouts.

#2. To leave the room, I needed to pull harder the handle as the room door was not able to lock automatically.

#3. Air conditioner temperature could not be controlled at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear wongts77,

We have noted your comments regarding your stay at our hotel and we are looking into all the matters mentioned.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrived just in time for check-in with friends and the concierge was friendly and feel welcoming. Ample parking space if travel with car. We got Deluxe Suite with seaview at the end of the floor. Very spacious room, good for travel with family. Separate study table and wooden door to the bedroom and washroom for privacy. The two tv in room is a plus point. They even have 2 toilet for convenience! The view was superb, wake up in the morning with sunrise just in front of your bed was an amazing experience, no need to walk early in the morning to the beach to enjoy this kind of view. Location wise is good, near to most of the Penang attractions. The swimming pool is something that not to be missed, check out the photo!

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Suite with good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Wan N,

We thank you for your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You back to The Northam All Suite Hotel Penang.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Came with a small group to Penang for a 3-day meeting at the hotel. Arrived from the airport on Friday for lunch and left for the airport on Sunday after lunch. The hotel looked impressive when I first arrived, with a large foyer. Some of my colleagues have been waiting to check-in, having arrived earlier in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised to receive my room key after a short wait, ahead of my colleagues who were still waiting. The room I had was large, with a separate double sliding wooden panel to the bedroom, and another door to the the bathroom area, which was large as well. The room was clean, but the cushion for the rattan settee have stains, and the top of the desk was damaged, which marred the image of the room. There were two flat television sets, one for the settee area and another in the bedroom. When I walk on the floor to the bedroom, there were cracking sound from the wooden floor, either due to the age or termite attack, which definitely did not give a good impression. The room and hotel needs an upgrade, which will certainly add to the location of the hotel (near Gurney Drive) and the beautiful sea view the hotel offers. The Wifi is weak in certain spots of the room, but the hotel compensate it with a cable connection for those with a laptop. Throughout the hotel though, there is generally Wifi access, which is most pleasing. The hot water is strong and good, but water does leak out from the enclosure when I shower, which is a disappointment. There is a jacuzzi, safe (located way down in the wardrobe), sleepers, and an ironing board. At Level 9, the hotel has an infinity pool and gym facilities, a treadmill, 3 bicycles, but access to the steam and sauna rooms is denied and is only for paying clients to the SPA. It seems the SPA is operated by an external party. Breakfast and lunch fares were pretty the same if eating the same place for more than once. The price for the seafood dinner was a great disappointment for the price.

Room Tip: Sea side view and the higher floors are best views to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear jtkfoch,

We thank you for your comments.

We look forward to Welcoming You back to the Northam All Suite Hotel Penang.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first trip to Penang after over 12 years. This hotel was recommended by a local Penang Lang because it's located along the millionaires row and it's close to many places of interest in Penang. I have to admit, I'm not familiar with hotels in this Malaysian state so I booked a room here purely on their recommendation.

My first impression was the hotel was probably very impressive, like 15 years ago. Now, it looked dated compared to the newer hotels nearby. However, the front desk service was prompt and efficient. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. I got to my room pretty fast with minimal hassle.

The room, or in this case, the suite was huge. I mean for the price I paid, it was a pretty decent value for money. The suite was made up of a large hall and study area, a large room next door that could be closed for privacy with a double sliding wooden panel. The bathroom. Gosh, it was probably the size of someone's master bedroom in Singapore! Came equip with a jacuzzi and built in wardrobe. I even had two TVs, one in the hall and the other in the bedroom.

All in all, the room was pretty functional. The deco was little dated but it was comfortable. The hotel could have invested in a makeover and providing new sheets and comforters. Mine had holes and stains on it.

A couple grouses though. The wifi in the room was pretty erratic and I had to walk around the room to find a spot with strong signal. Also, the rattan sofas and chairs were not very comfortable to sit on. I understand that there's a certain rustic charm that reflects its colonial past and heritage. But still...

The plus points. It had a fantastic view of the seaside and it was really nice to wake up to see the sunrise from the room. Also, it was strategically located close to Gurney Drive and the Penang Heritage Area. There was a hawker center just across the road called Northam Beach Cafe for late night supper. Also, there is a nice little infinity pool with a view to die for.

Kudos to housekeeping for making sure the rooms were clean with minor intrusion.

It was amazing to see so much has changed in Penang since the new CM has taken charge of the administration of this state. It was also great that they took great pains to maintain the surrounding heritage area. I want to come back to Penang soon. Will I check into this hotel in my next visit? Probably

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Alan,

We are glad to hear that overall, you were impressed and happy with your stay in our hotel and our staff has given you good service.

Yes, we need a few touch up here and there and we look forward to Welcoming You Back again to The Northam All Suite Hotel Penang.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms! Great room for family traveling. Friendly and prompt service from housekeeping and front office staffs. Nice view of the Gurney from the room. Strategic location, very near to Gurney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for your good comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Northam.

Look forward to "Welcoming You Back"!


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Hotel
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang Georgetown
Address: 55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northam All Suite Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.