We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to upgrade the breakfast quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Northam All Suite Penang to your Saves list
The Northam All Suite Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Time to upgrade the breakfast quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The family room is spacious and comfortable so stay and the hotel is strategically located at Gurney drive - 1 of the famous tourist spot in Penang.

I don't really have anything to complain except on the buffet breakfast as i felt the variety of food are considered quite limited considering the hotel has easily more than 300 guest rooms

Also, i personally think that the staffs' service are not 100% professional as the check in and check out process could be quite time consuming

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear BC Y,

Thank you for your comments in the TripAdvisor.

We hope that you will still give us another chance to improve ourselves.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    124
    69
    22
    23
See reviews for
81
75
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I checked into the Junior and Deluxe Family 2 Bedroom Suite from Fri 26 to Sun 28 July 2013. I occupied the family suite the suite was very spacious and clean and upon checking the guest toilet could be flushed. The suite was very poorly maintained. The hair drier in one of the rooms was not working, I had to go over to the other room every time I need to dry my hair. The door bell was not working. The bedroom slippers were soaked in water. The water in the Jacuzzi could not be retained and I wasted my good bottle of bath salts. There was no hand and face towels, the light at the dressing table could not be turned off, I finally got maintenance at 1am to remove the bulb.
The coffee house supervisor (who was a chinese) was not happy to serve us. He had a sulky face with no greeting and he was unhappy when I told him that the half boiled eggs he had prepared for me was uncooked. The staff uniform was tattered and torn and it was a pathetic site. The staff at the coffee house had no service atticate. I asked her for an extra chair and she replied that they were all occupied when the coffee house was practically empty.
I am deeply disappointed as I had such high thoughts of this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms that we occupied had a very good view from all corners of the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Regina,

Thank you for your comments in the TripAdvisor.

We hope that you will still give us another chance to improve ourselves.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived at this hotel around 11pm and the first thing I noticed was the smell of mold. That wet smell. The desk people were very polite. I went to my room and you can see the mold on the ceiling. And the smell. I changed rooms. The people were very nice. the bed was a mattress on a wooden frame and there was no water. No magnified mirror for shaving. No bottled water.
Went to eat dinner and all I had was the fries. Not very good.
Need to upgrade this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear ScopeDRK,

Thank you for your comments in the TripAdvisor.

We hope that you will still give us another chance to improve ourselves.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This older hotel is well located, between historic Georgetown and Gurney Drive and its shopping and restaurants. You can easily get a cab to both places but you could walk to Gurney Drive, but it is a rather hot walk.
The room we had was a big 1 bedroom apartment, with a powder room and entrance area, a lounge room & TV (reception wasn't great though), a study area, a bedroom with a large comfortable bed and another small TV with a huge bathroom attached (with separate toilet and shower, twin vanities & spa bath). I would call it colonial style decor with modern touches. The rooms were showing their age a little and some things didn't work as well as they should, but they had a charm about them. The apartment was very well-equipped and the views of the sea and coast were sensational.
There is a lovely lap pool on the 9th floor , positioned right on the edge looking down on sweeping bay views, with nice sea breezes. On this floor there are also spa services. The hotel also has a Gym but I didn't see it.
Breakfast was quite nice with a fair selection of western and Asian food. They leave you a newspaper outside every morning.
The lobby has comfy cane chairs to sit on and ceiling fans which give it that Penang island feel.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I did have a problem with my room safe not opening on the day I was due to leave but when I alerted them they sent someone up to fix it immediately (I think it was the battery).
There are lots of little restaurant and cafes located behind the hotel (but they are closed on Mondays) and there a re some on the seafront across from the hotel also. You can also walk across the road to a small beach, at the start of Gurney drive. A very pleasant area to walk around.
Overall a very good stay and I would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Globerwalker,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again to The Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June 2013. We took a junior suite and it was fantastic and very spacious! The junior suite had a lounge area with its own television, as well as a working area (writing desk) and a tea and coffee station. The bedroom area had its own television. The bathroom was spacious with double sinks, a standing shower, one toilet, a jacuzzi (great jacuzzi!) and a big closet, which contained a safe, ironing board, iron, hangers, slippers and bathroom scale. The window between the bathroom and bedroom is only covered by a blind, so you can lift it up and watch television from the jacuzzi. The windows in the bedroom area and lounge area were huge and we had a wonderful view of the ocean. This is a beautiful hotel with a classy retro touch!

The staff at the hotel were very courteous. The check-in and check-out was very quick (we even got to check in slightly earlier).

The rates included breakfast. There was a wide selection of Western-style and Malaysian-style food.

The only negative about this hotel is that the passages of the non-smoking floors occasionally smelt of cigarette smoke.

I would have loved to stay another night, but the next evening was fully booked. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Leila_Jansen,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again to The Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is great for people who want to get away from the crowd. It is not too far from Gurney Drive hawker food, you can get a cab or enjoy a slow walk along the shady coastal road. There are nice eateries along the way if you choose to try them. There is a foot reflexology place midway along the way if you need to relax your tired legs after a whole day of sightseeing. The hotel is clean and quiet, the infinity pool on the 9th floor is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sea view. For supper, just head across the road to the Northam Beach cafe to enjoy a wide range of local food at a good price. You can arrange for a cab at the front desk, the rate is fair so there is no fear of a ripoff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view if you want to catch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear John Wong,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Gurney Drive is just Next Road to us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First impression - the hotel room was HUGE. This is the largest hotel room I've stayed in for only 100usd... so worth it! Frankly, we were worried after reading some negative reviews about service/it being run-down, but still decided to try it out and loving it now!

Soooo many things we liked about it other than the size:
1. DECO - some say it's dated, I'd say it's charming. We love the rattan furniture and peranakan-style ceiling fan. The bathroom was grand with the marble tiles, double sinks and jacuzzi. By the way, the jacuzzi worked well and is rather spacious for two... EXCEPT for some tiny black particles from the water vent. Time to clean the pipes!

2. BED - Huge too. Well we didn't realize it was made up of two super singles until the 2nd day when we flipped the sheets. I guessed the thick and comfy sheets did their job.

3. VIEW - everyday's sunrises were so beautiful through the full-glass windows. We could see the full stretch of the sea. There was a traditional but locked house between the hotel and the sea. We checked it out, and discovered that it was the "Penang house" of the Sultan of Kedah! WOW.

4. POOL - this was one of the few hotel pools I wanted to visit every morning. Infinity pool to a gorgeous view from the 9th floor with constant sea breezes that made me feel like I was swimming in the sea. Love it.

5. LOCATION - walkable to Gurney, Ivy's Peranakan Kitchen, Northam Beach Cafe. Did anyone mention it yet? Northam Beach Cafe's just 100 metres opposite the hotel. It's an open-air coffee shop place size of a football field, and it was cooler than the famous Long Beach Cafe at Batu Ferringhi - with more variety of food and directly along the sea... you can't enter the sea though, it's a few metres down!

6. SERVICE - had to wait to get the room I wanted (highest floor for non-smoking, king bed, corner). Waited an hour at the lounge (1 to 2pm), and the staff, Masrini, was nice to offer me other rooms during the hour, but I insisted. In the end she got me the room I wanted. Think their problem was that their housekeeping can't cope (clean fast enough) with their full capacity. Full capacity - that kinda means they are pretty popular?


Didn't try the breakfast though... Penang has too many nice foods to waste a meal eating hotel food. Head out for the real good Penang food, people!

Room Tip: Anything above 30th floor. Non-smoking. And get that Junior Suite for just 10usd more per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear maryyeo,

I am so happy to read about many things you liked and enjoyed during your stay in our Northam All Suite Hotel.

Our Huge Bedroom, our Rattan Furniture, Peranakan-style Ceiling Fan, Double Sink and Jacuzzi, Bathroom, Huge bed, Beautiful Sunrise from the room through our full glass window and opposite our hotel, the Penang House of the Sultan of Kedah.

You enjoyed our swimming pool at the 9th floor and the convenient location of our hotel.

Now, the GM would like to meet you and Thank You during your next stay with us.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northam All Suite Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.