We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel With a Taste of Penang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Save Saved
You added The Northam All Suite Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Business Hotel With a Taste of Penang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This older hotel is well located, between historic Georgetown and Gurney Drive and its shopping and restaurants. You can easily get a cab to both places but you could walk to Gurney Drive, but it is a rather hot walk.
The room we had was a big 1 bedroom apartment, with a powder room and entrance area, a lounge room & TV (reception wasn't great though), a study area, a bedroom with a large comfortable bed and another small TV with a huge bathroom attached (with separate toilet and shower, twin vanities & spa bath). I would call it colonial style decor with modern touches. The rooms were showing their age a little and some things didn't work as well as they should, but they had a charm about them. The apartment was very well-equipped and the views of the sea and coast were sensational.
There is a lovely lap pool on the 9th floor , positioned right on the edge looking down on sweeping bay views, with nice sea breezes. On this floor there are also spa services. The hotel also has a Gym but I didn't see it.
Breakfast was quite nice with a fair selection of western and Asian food. They leave you a newspaper outside every morning.
The lobby has comfy cane chairs to sit on and ceiling fans which give it that Penang island feel.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I did have a problem with my room safe not opening on the day I was due to leave but when I alerted them they sent someone up to fix it immediately (I think it was the battery).
There are lots of little restaurant and cafes located behind the hotel (but they are closed on Mondays) and there a re some on the seafront across from the hotel also. You can also walk across the road to a small beach, at the start of Gurney drive. A very pleasant area to walk around.
Overall a very good stay and I would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Globerwalker,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again to The Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    115
    62
    22
    23
See reviews for
75
69
20
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taiping, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June 2013. We took a junior suite and it was fantastic and very spacious! The junior suite had a lounge area with its own television, as well as a working area (writing desk) and a tea and coffee station. The bedroom area had its own television. The bathroom was spacious with double sinks, a standing shower, one toilet, a jacuzzi (great jacuzzi!) and a big closet, which contained a safe, ironing board, iron, hangers, slippers and bathroom scale. The window between the bathroom and bedroom is only covered by a blind, so you can lift it up and watch television from the jacuzzi. The windows in the bedroom area and lounge area were huge and we had a wonderful view of the ocean. This is a beautiful hotel with a classy retro touch!

The staff at the hotel were very courteous. The check-in and check-out was very quick (we even got to check in slightly earlier).

The rates included breakfast. There was a wide selection of Western-style and Malaysian-style food.

The only negative about this hotel is that the passages of the non-smoking floors occasionally smelt of cigarette smoke.

I would have loved to stay another night, but the next evening was fully booked. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Leila_Jansen,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again to The Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is great for people who want to get away from the crowd. It is not too far from Gurney Drive hawker food, you can get a cab or enjoy a slow walk along the shady coastal road. There are nice eateries along the way if you choose to try them. There is a foot reflexology place midway along the way if you need to relax your tired legs after a whole day of sightseeing. The hotel is clean and quiet, the infinity pool on the 9th floor is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sea view. For supper, just head across the road to the Northam Beach cafe to enjoy a wide range of local food at a good price. You can arrange for a cab at the front desk, the rate is fair so there is no fear of a ripoff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view if you want to catch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear John Wong,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Gurney Drive is just Next Road to us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First impression - the hotel room was HUGE. This is the largest hotel room I've stayed in for only 100usd... so worth it! Frankly, we were worried after reading some negative reviews about service/it being run-down, but still decided to try it out and loving it now!

Soooo many things we liked about it other than the size:
1. DECO - some say it's dated, I'd say it's charming. We love the rattan furniture and peranakan-style ceiling fan. The bathroom was grand with the marble tiles, double sinks and jacuzzi. By the way, the jacuzzi worked well and is rather spacious for two... EXCEPT for some tiny black particles from the water vent. Time to clean the pipes!

2. BED - Huge too. Well we didn't realize it was made up of two super singles until the 2nd day when we flipped the sheets. I guessed the thick and comfy sheets did their job.

3. VIEW - everyday's sunrises were so beautiful through the full-glass windows. We could see the full stretch of the sea. There was a traditional but locked house between the hotel and the sea. We checked it out, and discovered that it was the "Penang house" of the Sultan of Kedah! WOW.

4. POOL - this was one of the few hotel pools I wanted to visit every morning. Infinity pool to a gorgeous view from the 9th floor with constant sea breezes that made me feel like I was swimming in the sea. Love it.

5. LOCATION - walkable to Gurney, Ivy's Peranakan Kitchen, Northam Beach Cafe. Did anyone mention it yet? Northam Beach Cafe's just 100 metres opposite the hotel. It's an open-air coffee shop place size of a football field, and it was cooler than the famous Long Beach Cafe at Batu Ferringhi - with more variety of food and directly along the sea... you can't enter the sea though, it's a few metres down!

6. SERVICE - had to wait to get the room I wanted (highest floor for non-smoking, king bed, corner). Waited an hour at the lounge (1 to 2pm), and the staff, Masrini, was nice to offer me other rooms during the hour, but I insisted. In the end she got me the room I wanted. Think their problem was that their housekeeping can't cope (clean fast enough) with their full capacity. Full capacity - that kinda means they are pretty popular?


Didn't try the breakfast though... Penang has too many nice foods to waste a meal eating hotel food. Head out for the real good Penang food, people!

Room Tip: Anything above 30th floor. Non-smoking. And get that Junior Suite for just 10usd more per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear maryyeo,

I am so happy to read about many things you liked and enjoyed during your stay in our Northam All Suite Hotel.

Our Huge Bedroom, our Rattan Furniture, Peranakan-style Ceiling Fan, Double Sink and Jacuzzi, Bathroom, Huge bed, Beautiful Sunrise from the room through our full glass window and opposite our hotel, the Penang House of the Sultan of Kedah.

You enjoyed our swimming pool at the 9th floor and the convenient location of our hotel.

Now, the GM would like to meet you and Thank You during your next stay with us.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here from 13 July - 15 July 2013. During check in, the staff took a while thought i gave her my printout. Then she said only smoking room avail though i reserved non-smoking rm but no prob for me. Then, during my booking request, i did mensioned that its my sister's bday and will be good if the hotel would hv sth to surprise her, like a cake. But nothing was done and i even mentioned to the staff but she just smiled at me. Guess she did nt understand what i said. A bit disappointing. The room was good n we had 36th floor. Good view facing the sea. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was was good. Swimming pool at 9th floor overseeing the sea was great. Walkable to Gurney drive, 20-25min & can take bus from hotel area to little india or penang rd. Also can buy Biscuit Tambun from Tean Ean shop which is 5 min walk from hotel. Good Price. Must try Nasi Kandar from Line Clear located at Penang Road. Went to Batu Ferringi.(Can take bus from komtar or taxi RM30) The sea sports are fixed rates controlled by gvernt. Good.Can eat in 'I love you' or ' long beach'. The nite market there is a long stretch of shops selling almost the same things. Price abit high.. Need to bargin.. Can rather buy from penang road or little india. Many historical place as well as food places in Little India. A good trip.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Dev,

We sincerely apologies for the birthday cake issue.

However, it's very nice to hear that your overall stay in Penang has been a very enjoyable one.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

- Stayed in Junior Suite for a night.
- Room is spacious and big.
- Equipped with Jacuzzi. But the jacuzzi is seemed like not working well.
- "Big" sized bed. But is combination of two single bed.
- Seaview room. Enjoyed it especially early morning.
- Parking design is very weird. But lot of space available.
- Breakfast is standard. Western and Asian foods is available.
- Service is so so. Slow check in but fast check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View Room. Nice view from Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ken Sheng W,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again to The Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

By reading your review and respond from you ,tat why I have already booked
3 night stay hope I will receive the good stay with your hotel,Thanks

The Northam All Suite Penang

55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia

Rdgs

Lam W K (Singapore)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr Lam,

I look forward to Welcome You on 25/8/13 and hope we have a chance to say "Hello" to each other.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northam All Suite Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.