We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but needs upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Northam All Suite Penang to your Saves list
The Northam All Suite Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable but needs upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in 2 deluxe rooms which were very spacious. The 2 rooms were at the end of a corridor and a door before the end of the corridor can be closed to isolate the 2 rooms from the rest of the corridor and create 1 single large suite. The rooms were supposed to be non-smoking. However, one of the rooms stank of stale cigarette smoke. If you can ignore little things that need upgrading, this is one spacious and comfortable room. Love the huge bathroom and jacuzzi. The reception staff weren't too friendly and made some irritating mistakes. The F&B staff were much better! This hotel is located at the beginning of Gurney Drive and it is about 20 minutes walk to Gurney Plaza, the nearest shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    156
    90
    26
    26
See reviews for
114
89
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for two night in a non-smoking junior suite (was upgraded from standard suite upon check-in). Overall the room was spacious and clean. The view overlooking the ocean and English-colonial mansions was great. The infinity pool was a fantastic place to hang-around. However, there were some details that needed further improvement. For example, the wardrobe door that couldn't close properly, the Jacuzzi shower head and water tap that were out of synchronization, the malfunction air-cond's temperature controller and the collapsing ironing board. It would also make the suite more trendy if the TV sets can be upgraded to flat screen TV. Since our room is very near the elevators, we constantly had to endure the noise resulted from the moving elevator cables whenever the elevators were in use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelana Jaya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we booked the deluxe suite. the suite have two toilet, one in the room, and the other one is located near the entrance. which i found very convenience to let the guests of us to use the toilet without letting them going into the room. plus they have a very spacious living room , two tv set. maybe two queen size bed that can even fit four people. just cross the road and take bus number 103, you can go to gurney drive, komtar, and etc.Also there is a food court just opposite the hotel. the environment is acceptable. i especially like the bathroom, totally relaxing and enjoying. The staff of the hotel is helpful. and not to forget the awesome part of the hotel is the swimming pool. a must visit place.

Room Tip: room face the sea might have better enjoyment as compare to room face to town area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spacious but everything else is sub standard. Food is horrible, service is poor and missing remote control for tv in bedroom. Staff could be friendlier.
The big advantage is the space in the room which is rare these days in hotels. The pool is lovely with a lovely view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked a deluxe suite. Although the hotel was a bit old but the room was very big with a separate living and bedroom, both with TV and toilet. The Bed and bathroom were also very big. Best thing was the sea view from the room.

They also served a wide variety of food for breakfast. Room also came with free wifi.

Location was a bit far from the main shopping area so we needed a cab wherever we went. However, the hotel staff were always there to help to get transport.

There is also a nice beachfront hawker in front of the hotel, they do not serve the best penang food but not bad too. You can enjoy the sea breeze when enjoying the food.

Enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The thing I love about this hotel is the rooms. The rooms are huge with a toilet and entrance room leading into the living area with couches and tv and a writing desk by the window. There is then a master bedroom attached to this with sliding doors to separate from the living area. The bed is huge it could fit four people and the ensuite bathroom is also huge with twin basins and a spa bath and then the toilet and shower are separated by glass doors. The thing I did not like was the breakfast! It was disgusting! Everything tasted rubbery and old and it just wasn't pleasant. When we checked in the staff weren't very friendly and looked like they didn't want to be there. The staff continued to be rather average during our stay and were not overly friendly apart from a few of the doorman who were happy to give us advise on places and restaurants to visit. The location is okay, around a 10/15 minute walk from Gurney mall one way and Georgetown the other. Quite far away from the night market and resorts (they seems to be where most of the tourists were) which is around a 40 minute taxi ride from the hotel depending on traffic. The pool is quite nice here but sheltered to my disappointment as I wanted to catch some sun. Overall an okay stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Northam 13 years ago when it just opened its doors when we visited Penang, thereafter we've been choosing to stay at the beach whenever we came to Penang but since we only have 2 days in Penang this trip, we thought we'll give the beach a miss and just stay in the town area, choosing Northam for its location and room sizes. As other reviewers have noted, the carpark isn't very traveller-friendly, imagine carrying bags and manoeuvering narrow stairs. We took a bigger suite that comes with a study area, a dining table, a living room with flat screen, a powder room/toilet and a huge super king-sized bed in the bedroom with a old-style TV, large ensuite bathroom that has a jacuzzi bathtub, a separate standing shower room, a separate toilet, 2 sinks and 2 wardrobes. Since we've not read that the hotel was refurbished since our last visit 13 years back, we expected the furnishing to be somewhat dated. Breakfast at the hotel was packed and there was a queue daily as the cafe was unable to accommodate so many guests during the peak seasons. Our main gripe was during our 3D2N stay, our room wasn't cleaned at all. This is a full daily serviced suite hotel and when questioned, the staff did nothing but gave us the extra towels and toilet rolls we asked for. We used the safe deposit box provided at the hotel reception as the room safe was not nailed down and could be carried away by anyone with access to the room. Upon our checkout, the front office staff had some problems opening the safe deposit box (that required two sets of keys to open, one set we were given and the 2nd set is their master key). Our key fit into the box and turned but their master key wasn't able to turn fully. The front office staff explained that it was because the safe deposit boxes are hardly used so some of the keys were not working very well (?!). Thankfully we were able to open the box after about 10 minutes of trying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#25 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
#28 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in George Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northam All Suite Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.