We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Northam All Suite Penang to your Saves list
The Northam All Suite Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed in a normal hotel room, and I was shocked at how large they are. They are a very well presented large room, with lounge area, workstation area, king size bed, 2 TV's, and the most fantastic bathroom.

The bathroom had a beautiful big spa, 2 sinks, great shower and toilet. The hotel room even had a second toilet. The view was great.

The lobby is very nice, and the staff were overall helpful, althought we did have one grumpy and rude staff memebr, but we will let that slide.

There is parking, however there is no lift to the carpark, so a tip is to unload luggage before parking.... we did not do this and had to struggle down 5 flights.

If you are particular about fine detail, then you may be able to spot a couple of cleaning issues.... there was some mould in the shower, and the floor was not exceptionally clean in places.

The facilities are great.... the pool is just fabulous. It is a horizon pool, so you swim and feel like you are on the edge of the building looking out to a beautiful view.

The breakfast was really quite good. There was a great variety of cuisines, and the food was good quality.

The location is not necessarliy in the most perfect location, as you need a 15-20 min walk to get back into the action, but in saying that, the rooms were so good and spacious we didn't mind.

I will stay here again next time I am in Penang.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    127
    69
    22
    23
See reviews for
83
75
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Am so frustrated with the place that I'm writing this review just after checking out whilst I wait for my cab at the lobby... wonderful photographs on the internet are what drove me to book a room here and that says a lot about the photographer ...the hotel on the other hand sucks big time..big rooms are all that it has ...everything else is lack luster,run~down ...and that includes staff and the service they provide.Food on the breakfast buffet is cold but a bit warmer than the service provided at the hotel.. No room service menu in the junior suite..I had to call reception only to be told they offered fried rice/noodles/porridge and fruit platter...4 items on an oral room service menu for a room I paid 238RM per night for?? No toothpaste...1face towel...bathroom slippers available on request..and smiles from staff...non existent.
Being a hotelier myself for over a decade, it's just shocking to see the levels of service out there....I've stayed in backpacking joints on remote islands in Malaysia and have received better service .I can sit here all day extracting every single degrading word in the dictionary to portray my frustrations with the hotel, but I have other more important things to do A word of advice to readers of this review,please stay away if you want basic service ...there's a BnB right opposite charging 60RM that I can bet, offers value for money ...thanks for reading .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The first impresion when i going in the room is such as "woow.." because with this kind of money we paid and the room we get is totally 100% worth of it..
Our rooms have a separate living room, the view of the room is overlooking the sea and it was fantastic.
The toilet also was amazing. It was huge with 2 wash basins so you wont have to fight for it in the morning. There is also this amazing Jacuzzi and it works very well and also there is shower and a separated cubicle for the toilet.
Rooms are very clean and the aircond is working extremely well.
The other thing is their Pillow and TV ! The pillow is TOO soft! No neck support at all and their TV is only 14 inch and out fashion.
Other than two of this, i would recommend for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was not exactly suprised by the space of the room as it was stated in the web. The suite is only luxurious in the space, everything else is normal or even mediocre. While it is clean, it has a dated overall. On checking in, I was told there were only city view which surprises me as I paid for an Ocean view room. I highlighted that I paid for an ocean view room and was promptly given one... Breakfast has varied choices along very standard quality.Staff are generally helpful and speaks good English, which is common in Malaysia. The hugh king bed can sleep 3 persons comfortably!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is certainly value for the money; big room (suite) with the usual amenities, plus a living room, 2 toilets and a jacuzzi thrown in.....what else can we ask for. However, with the price we paid, the basic services are adequate; please do not expect and compare with the usual 5 star hotels. As the hotel is about 15 years old, do not expect the property to be in tip top state as compared to the newer hotels in Penang. There will be the usual wear and tear but is relatively clean and in working condition. Although the hotel is in the town, I would recommend having a rental car when staying in this hotel. The attractions, though near, are not in walking distance from the hotel.
In conclusion, I feel that this hotel will certainly be appropriate for the regional and local travellers. I would stay in this hotel when I visit Penang again.

Room Tip: I told the staff during check-in that I have read reviews for poor quality rooms and request them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed in Northam almost every time I had to travel to Penang in the past four years. The first time I stayed there, I was largely impressed by the spacious rooms. For the price, it's value for money. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

However, my grudge with this hotel is that they don't seem to care about the state of the property itself anymore. The walls are too thin that you can hear what people in the other room are talking about. Some of the rooms really smell bad. I think I demanded to be transferred to a different twice in the past. The sheets are also not so white anymore so sometimes you're quite unsure if they even change it. The iron and the ironing board left a stain and ruined my shirt (okay, this was partly my fault because I didn't check if the iron was clean but of course, when you're in a hotel you'll expect everything to be working right). Some of the furnitures are also quite dusty. I really wish the management will pay more attention to making sure the property is in tiptop shape. It's really a shame because this hotel can really be great with its views and the size of its rooms.

The breakfast spread is very limited but if you happen to have lunch in the cafe, I think that's a better value.

But then again, I think this is already considered a good hotel in Georgetown and after staying in Evergreen Hotel, I definitely have to agree.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel with nice large suites, even at basic level. Beds very comfortable and showers wonderful. Breakfast was good and with lots of choice. Location is good, being near all major local things.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northam All Suite Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.