We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33, New Lane (Off Macalister Road) | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in Oct13. Gotten free upgrades to Club floor. The club room is big, clean and comfotable. No double bed, instead they intro the hollywood queen - combination of 2 single bed. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. We were given the late check out too when we requested. On the left of the hotel, are full of yummy street hawker food.
Cons of the stay - although we are given the free upgrades to the club floor, we are not allow to eat at the club level. We feel that in order for guests to give full feedback on the stay, we should be given full access to the club facilities too.
Breakfast selections are limited. We ate 3 days of breakfast - all same food with only 1 or 2 dishes changes.

Room Tip: The hotel had just been renovated so basically all rooms are good. Go for higher floor if possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at our Club room, however, we take note of the points highlighted on upgrade and will strive to do better in future.

Meanwhile, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    512
    200
    74
    30
See reviews for
216
197
41
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recommended by Mum's colleague. The room was spacious for the 2 of us. the 2 beds were slightly bigger than a super single, comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom was clean and functional. There is also an ironing board in the wardrobe. Room service was prompt.

Come evening time, the street below turns into a food street.There is also a coffee shop that operates from morning. There are also a few food shops along the main road. If you need to buy any local product, there is a shop across the hotel that sell these, most of the "piah" are freshly baked from the shop.

If you need to move around, you could get the concierge to hail a cab for you. Or make use of the free CAT shuttle, you could walk to KOMTAR (Stop 9), about 5-7 minutes walk, to explore Penang. Do read up on the stops and your destination before you board.

As our flight was at 5pm that day, we also manged to extend our checkout time to 1pm, but do ask the front desk on the day of checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your kind comments posted. We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations. We are most appreciative of your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

had a short stay with a friend in this recommended newly renovated hotel.The location was great!!! Just a 1min walk and you are at a coffee shop and during night time, the roadside is filled with food stalls. To purchase some local products, just right opp the hotel, there is this store, that sells all penang local products (food, coffee etc), just buy and went back hotel to put it down. Service was good, the staff was very friendly. Room wise was huge and clean. Defintely recommended to everyone who is visiting Penang. Oh by the way, we didnt op for hotel breakfast as we though early morning you can pop by the coffee shop for breakfast and its way cheaper...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we are delighted that your stay with us had met your expectations. Also, our location here indeed caters to those who love Penang's famous hawker fare.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the beginning till your departure, the services was awesome. Very friendly and well trained front liner really wow us. Check in was fast and efficient, luggage assistance to room together with a city map and in room facilities tour in the room. We love the lobby so much. Smell good and look brand new. Hawker center just 2 minutes away from the hotel and a walking distance to all attraction places. Room was spacious, clean and have the modern chic design. Courtesy call from the operator after you checked in was an extraordinary. There's only one thing that i hope Sunway to improve in was the thickness of their room glass window. Unfortunately, during our stay, nearby Times square was having a party. You can hear hard banging loud music from our room and and it last till 10pm if i'm not wrong. THere's one more thing that Sunway may need to look into was the Housekeeping and stewarding staff. Apparently both this staff were using the same lift during my stayed. I can tolerate with that (i mean no harm for sharing) but at least a greeting from the staff will be much appreciated rather than gossiping or talking while in the lift with guests. Hope to come back soon and surely Sunway will be my first choice whenever travelling to Penang.

Room Tip: Ask for room that not facing the front side of the hotel. Might be noisy if there's ab event fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay with us. We are glad that overall services met your expectations. However, we also appreciate your taking the time to highlight on of the areas of concern which we will definitely look into for further improvements.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel was very nice and also room was very clean! Room was more that satisfactory....nice huge bed, and great bathroom facilities. Will be staying there again in December. Also I will be recommending it to everyone that needs to stay in Penang.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback of your recent stay with us, and are delighted that you have chosen to make your next stay in Penang to be at Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back here again in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went in the summer to Malaysia & Singapore as a family of 5, age range from 2yrs-62yrs. We travelled up the country staying at different hotels along the journey. We chose Sunway Hotel as it was centrally located in Penang and booked online. In all the hotels we stayed at even during our lifetime NOTHING has compared with the excellent standard we experienced. Before we even stepped into our hotel they were outside waiting, before we asked for anything they had already anticipated our requests. We were treated like royalty, they catered for everything, they were eager to please, nothing was any trouble but in fact you felt it was a real pleasure for them to serve you. We can not sing their praises enough. We will definitely stay there again Its a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay with us. We are indeed most delighted that you had such a good experience with us. Your kind compliments will be shared with our staff and will definitely do wonders to their morale.

We are glad to have been able to make a contribution to your memorable stay in Penang and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent service and value for money where the breakfast selection is good and freshly made and covers all requirements and will certainly come back as for the front service is very courteous and friendly and would offer additional service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are most appreciative of your kind feedback. We will definitely strive to continuously better ourselves to ensure the satisfaction of our valuable guests such as yourself.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 33, New Lane (Off Macalister Road) | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.