We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel we ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Save Saved
You added Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33,New Lane,(off Macalister Road), Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Bird Promotion
Ranked #12 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best hotel we ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went in the summer to Malaysia & Singapore as a family of 5, age range from 2yrs-62yrs. We travelled up the country staying at different hotels along the journey. We chose Sunway Hotel as it was centrally located in Penang and booked online. In all the hotels we stayed at even during our lifetime NOTHING has compared with the excellent standard we experienced. Before we even stepped into our hotel they were outside waiting, before we asked for anything they had already anticipated our requests. We were treated like royalty, they catered for everything, they were eager to please, nothing was any trouble but in fact you felt it was a real pleasure for them to serve you. We can not sing their praises enough. We will definitely stay there again Its a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay with us. We are indeed most delighted that you had such a good experience with us. Your kind compliments will be shared with our staff and will definitely do wonders to their morale.

We are glad to have been able to make a contribution to your memorable stay in Penang and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    408
    167
    64
    25
See reviews for
158
147
26
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and value for money where the breakfast selection is good and freshly made and covers all requirements and will certainly come back as for the front service is very courteous and friendly and would offer additional service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are most appreciative of your kind feedback. We will definitely strive to continuously better ourselves to ensure the satisfaction of our valuable guests such as yourself.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Pahang, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent hotel since the upgrade. Staff services is very good and friendly. By virtue of it's location, it is the ideal place to stay if you are there for what penang is famous for ( it's street food ). From there it is easy to proceed to nights spots and other interesting landmarks.

Room Tip: The lifts are a bit slow, lower levels will be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. We appreciate your highlighting on your lift service and please rest assured that the matter has been looked into and resolved.

We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here close to a week for work in July.
Having read that the rooms were refurbished, I was having a high expectation from this hotel when I checked in. Needless to say, I am impressed with the new room. It was exactly as depicted in photos.

Room is quite big about 200-300 sqft. And the bathrooms were nice, love the powerful shower.
The room has a very modern touch to it and it seems perfect for the business traveller. THe internet provided was very fast by Malaysian standards.

I was given breakfast at the lounge located in the higher floors of the hotel. Chocies at the lounge was very limited but the personal service and quietness of having breakfast there made up for it. If you want variety for your hotel breakfast, then have it downstairs.

The gym is well appointed and of course, very new, I managed to do the workouts I wanted , something simple. THe pool also looked very inviting but I didnt take a dip.

Location wise, I find it very convenient. Right downstairs is New Lane Hawker street at night. The Georgetown Heritage area is about 15 minutes walk. 1st Avenue mall about 10 minutes walk. All the good food in Georgetown can be found within 15-30 minutes walk fromt he hotel.

Check-in/outs were abreeze and the receptionists are friendly. The concierge gave me a very detailed map of the Heritage area to which i visited all the places I wanted to within a days walk.

I would definitely recommend anyone I know to stay here as I think it is well worth the money,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are extremely delighted that your stay with us met up to your expectations, and we thank you for your kind comments. We will continuously strive to do our best to ensure our valuable guests such as yourself are given the best service possible

We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 6 - 9 Sep. This is my third visit to Penang. The hotel location is good and near walking distance to many shopping malls and Komtar. The famous New Lane hawker street which is popular with the locals is right at the door step and serves good Cheng Ting, satay, etc. Chowrasta Market, a wet and community market in the morning, is about 20 minutes walk and turned out to be one of the more interesting places we visited. It is not so difficult to get to shopping malls and even Chew Jetty, once you figure out how to walk across the various small lanes. However, what really impressed me was the service provided by the hotel. I couldn't find my wallet after I returned to Singapore, and all it took was a call followed by an email to the hotel for them to send someone to look for it in the room. Needless to say, I was more than happy to get back my lost item. A very big thank you to all the staff there. I will be certainly stay in this hotel again if I visit Penang again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Penang Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are extremely delighted to learn that the arrangements and services extended during your stay with us met your expectations. Your kind comments have been shared with members of staff who are indeed most appreciative. Such compliments are most welcomed as it certainly heightens the morale of our staff.

We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us your feedback. We thank you for your past patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We traveled to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang with our family. First impression was very nice lobby and friendly helpful staffs. Thank you for receiving our parcel before our check-in. The rooms were nice, clean and well maintained. Although we didn't get double bed room, they were willing to upgrade for us although we had to stay at different floor with our family, but hey.. that's a good initiative from hotel front office and management. Kudos. Location is also strategic, near to traditional and famous eating places and souvenir shops.

Only drawback was the breakfast buffet, not enough variety and not really suitable with our taste buds. If you like to wake up early and roam around in the morning, there are shops that serve traditional breakfast Penang style or take taxi short distance to Campbell street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment and for sharing on your stay with us. We are glad that the Hotel and services met your expectations. At the same time, please rest assured that we will definitely look into ways to improve our breakfast.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in Sunway Hotel from 23-25 Sept. The only plus point is that the rooms are very clean and new. First, this hotel is not really within walking distance to shopping malls e.g 1st Avenue. With 2 elderly persons and 1 kid following us, it is no easy task to cross those roads and to walk at least 30 minutes to reach the mall. Second, initially we were glad Time Square is nearby the hotel...making shopping and eating convenient for us. However, we were very disappoint to find one or two shops selling things plus some makan outlets only e.g food court, 1 or 2 restaurants and etc. Fourth, the hawker food at the left hand side of the hotel is not really fantastic or super tasty. Last but not the least, when we check in on 23 Sept, we requested to check out late at 2.30pm on 25 Sept and the non chinese receptionist says OK. On 24 Sept, we repeated the same request to another non chinese receptionist and this time he say 2pm is the latest time we can check out. We are fine with this timing too as we have arrange transport to airport at 3pm on 25 Sept. On 25 Sept late morning, we were being informed that we need to check out 1 room by 12 noon and the other room at 2pm. This last minute arrangement by the hotel dampen our mood that day as we have to rush back to our room to pack up the things and transfer all luggages to another room. We do understand that late checkup is subjected to room availability but we also do appreciate that the hotel do not inform us last minute. AND if the hotel cannot give us late checkup, just say so...do not give us the impression that late checkup is possible. We did not encountered any problem for late checkup when we stayed in Holiday Inn hotel Malacca.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Firstly, thank you for your kind comment on our newly renovated rooms. However, it is unfortunate to hear that accessibility to some of the malls nearby was not so convenient.

We would like to apologize on our service shortcomings on the handling your check-out and for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured that we will seriously look into the areas highlighted for improvement.

Thank you for your past patronage and we do hope to be given the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 33,New Lane,(off Macalister Road), Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.