We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms have been refurbished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33,New Lane,(off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rooms have been refurbished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and taken 4 rooms. The location of the hotel is just perfect, for food and near to city center. The rooms are nicely renovated and clean, sufficient lightings, a/c were working well, with free wifi usage. Housekeeping staff was rude over the phone, when I call up requesting them to check my room safe deposit box and I have to call twice then only two of the staff come and attend to it. Breakfast place was nicely refurbished. But on the first day of our breakfast, the venue was full and only two staff on the floor. However, on the second day it was better but the kitchen just can't cope up with the food serving. Check-out was a bit slow. I guess it due to the hotel high occupancy rate, but they should schedule more staff on duty especially during school holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms facing non-city view are able to see Penang Hill. Higher floor have less karaoke music noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    466
    189
    69
    27
See reviews for
192
174
35
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Sunway Hotel Penang has served and provided me an unforgettable experience and ultimate holidays, for the past 13 years of my stay at the hotel for each and every holiday and work visit to Penang.

Today I would like to share this very important message and praise to the management and especially to each and every individual who has served with excellence. From the security guard, housekeeping staff, front office, coffee house personnel to the foreign workers who don't speak a word of English has served me and my family with a smile and an experience that is unforgettable.

The above proves that each and every visit of ours has been not because of what Penang would offer us but the hospitality that Sunway Hotel Penang, has provided us. My children, wife and me myself have always enjoyed our stay in the hotel rooms, our breakfast at the tantalizing coffee house and the cozy environment fitted with the facilities like the swimming pool, gym and all that people who have made our stay memorable each time we checked in and out of the hotel. To add to the memories is the shopping complexes, food, temple and church that surrounds the location.

I would like to thank the management and all personnel who made my holidays and visits always one to be spoken about for days, weeks, months and years in the past, present and the future.

Dr Jeffery J. Louis Adaikalasamy
jefferydynamic@gmail.com

Room Tip: The tranquility and essence of the best in hospitality is felt at every corner of the hotel as we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The location of this hotel is just perfect in the city center between Macalister Road and New Lane. There are some food stalls on the left side of the hotel. Penang Time Square is just 200 meters from this hotel. Here, you may find some restaurants and shops. The rooms of this hotel are newly refurbished which add more comfort to customers. Breakfast offers a wide choice of food and drinks. The hotel should take pride of its staff. They really made my trip more memorable. From the time you check in until check out, you will be taken care of. There is also free wi-fi for your convenience. Highly, recommended hotel when you are in Penang.

Room Tip: You may ask a room facing Penang Time Square because of the beautiful night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed there in May on holidays. The reception was friendly, and allowed us to have an early check-in though we arrived around 8.30am (after a 11 hours bus ride from Singapore!). Thank God for the shower in the room!

Room is clean and nice, with free wi-fi available. Very helpful if you have a smart phone and need to find certain information online. Swimming pool and gym are small but nevertheless serve their functions well. Nice view of Georgetown from the room as well, being able to see Penang bridge and the sunrise from Butterworth.

However, our toilet bowl was stuck, i.e. flushing didn't work well. We called the maintenance and they came, but could not fix the problem.

The hotel has taken effort to install branded shower amenities in the bathroom, e.g. Hansgrohe, but the shower gel and shampoo didn't seem to match the expectations. One would expect some branded shower items to be available but we got the generic kind of shower gel and shampoo. Nevertheless, it is still acceptable to us, since they've made it available for our use! :)

Location wise it is good, with Lorong Bahru below having a street hawker from evening till midnight. Good food can be found there. Local delicacies can also be purchased for your family back home from at least 3 shops below near the hotel. It is also within walking distance to the nearby mall, e.g. Komtar Walk, 1st Avenue, and Prangin Mall.

Overall, worth it! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The renovated rooms are simply great. Good attention to detail and other than the lack of variety of international channels on TV, this has to be in the top 5 best hotels that I have stayed in Malaysia. Completely worth it, value wise.

I cant say the same about some of the reception staff. Very temperamental staff who treat you as if you owe them a debt in your previous life. Sarah (reception staff) in particular ruined the entire check in/check out process by her angsty, moody and cranky face and attitude (I thought perhaps it was her bad day but another guest shared the same opinion). Maybe she should consider a different service line where guests dont have to share her angsty emotions. Has got to be the worst check in experience ever. Other service staff (restaurant, housekeeping, etc) were otherwise very courteous and helpful.

Overall great hotel. Just avoid being check in/checked out by Sarah if you dont want to ruin your day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelGP, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang and I am most grateful that you took the time to highlight on this matter.

We apologize for the displeasure that had caused you some inconvenience. However, we would like to emphasize and reassure that what you have experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service.

We truly believe in extending a warm welcome experience to all our guests. On this note, we have reminded our associates of their duties.

I sincerely hope that you have not allowed this incident to mar your impression of us and that it has not detracted too much of your overall enjoyment of your stay here.

Thank you again for your kind understanding and we shall unreservedly value your support and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had an extended stay at the Sunway Hotel and were very pleased with the large, newly remodeled rooms. The AC was powerful (a godsend after walking around during the day) and the rooms were very comfortable. Unfortunately the pool was under construction while we were there, but I was impressed with the rest of the renovations and have no doubt this will be top quality as well. The gym has all new equipment (though it does get a bit warm in there with all the windows). The location is very central (though it is a 10-15 min walk to the old town) and the famous "new Lane" hawker stall is right outside. The roasted chicken wings at the Sin Yin Nim Cafe are very nice. We got a great deal since there was construction going on, but after visiting the Traders Hotel I can say that once all the renovation is complete, this will be the nicest hotel in the main Georgetown area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had my apprehensions about this place due to many negative reviews, but after a 4-day stay I can vouch for this place as a top-notch, value-for-Singdollar star hotel (S$80-a-day) in Georgetown.

To start with, the reception staff were most courteous and helpful, at all times. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. There was hardly any noise in the room, so sleep quality was assured.

The bathroom and toilet were beyond reproach. Laundry service was exceptionally fast (same-day, often just 4-5 hours). The aircon was working perfectly, which is something you'll badly need when it gets hot and sticky in Penang. Free wifi worked very well during the entire stay. They also have a business center with a couple of PCs.

I didn't try the restaurant downstairs, but then street food is just down the street, so why bother! The location is a stone's throw from Komtar and Penang Times Square, and Chowrasta and Little India are within walking distance.

With a wealth of budget accommodation available in Penang (from 22-ringit hostels to 130-ringgit hotel stay), one might find it difficult to justify Sunway's 200-ringgit-a-day tariff, but if you're OK with "splurging" S$80 a day for 4-star accommodation on a short holiday, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 33,New Lane,(off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.