We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Laurel Hotel to your Saves list
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great price and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I Booked this hotel as part of a package with flights and I got a fantastic deal..I got in early but the staff at reception was very nice and checked me immediately.The room was clean, service was fantastic.The high speed internet was great and I recommend this hotel to anyone.Gurney shopping is about 10=15 mins walk away.
Once again staff at Evergreen Laurel well done and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    252
    123
    25
    13
See reviews for
135
134
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at the Evergreen twice during my trip to Penang, got great rates through booking online. For the price, it was a great stay. Spacious, clean and comfortable room to come back to after exploring Georgetown. I've had both the sea view and the city view - the sea view was definitely nicer and felt more peaceful, if a bit more expensive.
The internet was fast and reliable, which was incredibly helpful and convenient since I was working while traveling. Really loved having the option of a solid ethernet connection while in the room. Their business center is very convenient if you need to print anything.
Breakfast was a good variety of local and american breakfast, pretty good. Love the Gurney Drive location- looking over the water and a short ride to Georgetown but away from the hectic congestion. The pool area is great - just wished that the bar was open on weekdays, not just weekends.
Be sure to notify them at booking you'd like a king bed (if you would). Seems they have a limited amount and I was disappointed the first time when they were booked up. The service is okay - nothing bad but nothing over the top exceptional.
Overall though, it was a great value and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Sea view is much nicer, and be sure to ask for a king bed when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Last minute booking, but front desk and service was excellent. Location-wise, 1.5km away from Gurney Drive, although exploring Campbell St and Little India will require transport. Room was very good, gym was ok and has long opening hours. High-speed internet in the room is really high-speed. Primarily a business hotel but good for holiday makers too. Will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel every time I visit Penang, I think had been stayed here around 5 times. The main reason for choosing here – “the Jacuzzi” and overall of this hotel is quite ok. First time at here was 8 years ago and that time came with family. Our family members like the Jacuzzi so much and really enjoy the moment. However, I’m so sorry to say that I will consider change another hotel on my next visit in Penang due to recent unhappy experience. We stayed 2 nights at this hotel on 08.09.2013 ~ 10.09.2013. We went for Jacuzzi every day and the last day before we check out, we went for it again at around 11am. The operation time of the Jacuzzi start from 10:30am to 10pm. But, when we were there at 11am, the hot Jacuzzi was not ready yet and the staff told us need to wait one hour for it. We don’t really understand why the Jacuzzi not ready before operation hour. This is a 5 stars hotel so the management must make sure all the facilities and the procedures are up to standard. Also, the room is old and need an update.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size. Everything was spotless and clean. The complimentary fruit and mints was a nice touch. Free wifi and newspaper too. Overall good value. The location is great. Gurney plaza and Gurney Paragon and many food stalls nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this Hotel. The service and hospitality is excellent with large clean rooms offering a great nights sleep. There are great local eating places where good food and cold beer is a short walk away. The local plaza for some shopping is also a short walk away (15 mins). There are a number of old colonial buildings nearby hinting at a bygone era. The Hotel is very well located and a great place to stay. While it is not the most modern of Hotels it is comfirtable, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel over the years when we visit Penang, which is almost yearly. Our most recent visit was over 15 August 2013 through to 19 August 2013. Though not new, and somewhat dated, we find it clean, comfortable and well located. Disappointing was the lack, throughout the hotel, of a hard copy of a directory of Penang's residential telephone numbers and the difficulty outside callers had in reaching us in the room. More often than not, the hotel phone operator didn't respond to incoming calls. Otherwise, the staff were attentive and pleasant and service prompt - additional hangers and a 2nd dressing gown were delivered soon after the request was made.

PKHY

Room Tip: A sea facing room on a high non-smoking floor has not disappointed so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Laurel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.