We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Laurel Hotel to your Saves list
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Total value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

90USD including taxes - thats all that cost me to get a nice sea facing deluxe room at this hotel. Located at a very convenient place, good service, courteous staff, nice room - that's all I expect from a good hotel.

Worth a stay if you are not expecting something grand.

Room Tip: Take a sea facing high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    267
    129
    26
    13
See reviews for
141
138
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Travelled with three friends for a 2D1N trip, and the location of the hotel makes it simply perfect.

*Airport transfer: Standard white airport taxi price at RM$44.70

*Location: Great place with really good standards of local food within 5min of walk :) Also, really near to Gurney Plaza and Paragon which really allows so much options on what to do

* Room: Great bed and pillows, with clean towels and toilet. Also with good standard of wifi.

I will definitely recommend everyone to stay here, from family to business to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The price paid through internet booking was a good price for such a lovely hotel.
Room and bed sheet were spotless clean and the air conditioning works really well.
Upon check in we requested for an upgrade and even though we did not get the sea facing room, we somehow got upgraded to a larger room with nice comfortable sofa (3 + 1 ) and it make our in room dining such a pleasure.
The complimentary fruit basket was thrown in with the free upgrade (3 apples). One of the apple was rotten. However, it did made the room looks classical and serve its purpose as a decoration.

For those travelling to Penang and staying on the "Strip" or Gurney Drive, this is the value for money hotel. Others near by would command somewhat twice the price for a similar quality room.If you really fancy an evening stroll along the esplanade with some of the best hawker's food, you can't be wrong in choosing this strip.

Would recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. You will really enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Got disappointed at the service level since had great expectation. Front office staff most uncourtious. conifrmed and paid booking is not hounoured. Even then refused to upgrade the room and wanted further payment to upgrade for none of my/guest mistake - for their very own mistake I was asked to pay. Rooms have very little walking space. not lived upto its name.

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms though it is little expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjwoodsjr
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel was more than I expected. Very nice room, hotel lobby was very nice. Hotel had a pool and fitness center. Breakfast had a nice variety, staff was very helpful. Wish I had more time to spend at the hotel as it looked like they had a nice couple of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
400 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My group checked in during a weekday and it seemed it's catered to regional biz travellers on first observation. The bellhop and lobby staff very helpful with baggage and with parking. Here's what we observed...

- room 625 is a corner room
- tennis courts on premises is not really a grass court (carpet placed over cement)
- excellent outdoor pool with empty bar (must walk through spa/gym to access pool)
- separate gym membership available for non-hotel guests (hence good use and maintenance)
- parking validation very simple to understand
- walking distance to the food hawkers at the end of Gurney Drive
- stay indoors during low tide (stench from bay rather strong)

Nothing to really complain about except for the dated decor. It's like an old grand dame that has seen the prime of its life slowly slipping by.

Room Tip: Waterfront views overrated... all you see is a shallow bay and very little water/waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Walking distance from a couple of Temples and some yummy food stalls, and a huge mall - this hotel is really nice - really big room that felt so luxurious - we even had wifi in our rooms - the breakfast was a huge buffet that was really good and they didn't seem to mind when i took a little food out of the restaurant for my husband - so major plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#33 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
#28 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#21 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Laurel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.