We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Evergreen Laurel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really nice and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Walking distance from a couple of Temples and some yummy food stalls, and a huge mall - this hotel is really nice - really big room that felt so luxurious - we even had wifi in our rooms - the breakfast was a huge buffet that was really good and they didn't seem to mind when i took a little food out of the restaurant for my husband - so major plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    189
    89
    21
    12
See reviews for
97
109
42
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Rooms: My first observation of the room was it is a bit dated in decor. However, it was clean and functional and the bed provided for comfortable sleeping. The bathroom was clean but nothing remarkable other than the shower is in the bathtub so for those who don't like stepping over the side of the tub to shower this is a consideration. The hotel is right on Gurney Dr. so seaside facing rooms do have a decent sea view. The pool is decent for just swimming laps or maybe catching a little sun but nothing special here either.

Location: The location here is very good. Walking distance to all the shopping (Gurney and Paragon malls, etc) and dining choices on Gurney Drive.

Overall Evergeen is a decent hotel, and I would recommend it if the price is right for the location compared to other hotels on Gurney. If I were only rating the hotel nothing else compared, I might call this average, but I am rating it very good because I stayed here for an excellent rate compared to my normal hotel choice on Gurney (G Hotel). On my last trip to Penang I stayed my first few nights in G Hotel and when I extended my trip I moved down to Evergreen because I got a significantly lower rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I do not usually write bad reviews but this is an exception. I was excited when I stepped into the lobby as it had this old and classic feeling but that feeling was ruined by their customer service. Firstly, it was my friend who checked in so I didn't ask him how was their attitude towards him. As I was walking around the hotel, I noticed their staff were selective of whom they wanted to greet. Obviously I was not one of their respected guests. Same goes for the breakfast buffet buffet staff. All of them are bunch of snobs. This happened a throughout my stay. Even asking a simple inquiry really bothered them. I am not a difficult customer but I expected a little bit more from them as Evergreen is a well-respected brand.

As for me, they scored two as I could not fault the room and view that we had. It was breathtaking. Gym was old but well equipped. If you're particular about customer service especially when staying in a well respected brand of hotels such as this, I suggest you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Please listen to my advice and don't swim in the pool. My husband and 2 kids swam in the pool and all three of them suffered from severe vomitting and diarhhoea. My daughter (who's only 22 months) vomitted twice in the aeroplance and imagine the amount of discomfort she, myself and all the passengers around us must have felt!

We rule out any food posioning as we travelled in a group of 6 and ate the same food. And it's only the 3 of them who swam in the pool that suffered from the symptoms.

This is a disgrace to a 4 star hotel. I'm trying to write to the Hotel Management but can't seem to find any email contact and therefore, decide to post here to let the others know!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for abt 4 days. Great location with easy reach to eating places and town. Service was ok. Book room w sea view, it's beautiful. Don't bother to book with breakfast, local eating places are all around, ask the doorman for directions to Palau tikus which is where local breakfast food can be found :) there are plenty dinner places along gurney drive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So photo of the lovely morning Sunrise.. Evergreen is So much more. cheaper compared to G Hotel yet a lovely pleasant hotel. Great Service staff all the way from the Concierge Bellboy to the Concierge Manager . Much better to stay@this hotel as there are lots of food at Left side of the hotel. Morning Dim Sum Breakfast @Bali Hai Restaurant(left hand side) was very very good ..only RM $2.20 for lovely porridge, chee cheong fun & lots of good quality fried Dim Sum spring rolls etc. Forget about going to Gurney alley for food poor quality. Instead go to ABC Food Centre on left side of hotel, food is much better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room: Was OK. Clean & basic. Good value for the price.

Location: Located along gurney drive. Walking distance to the nearest mall & the Gurney night market. Will need to take a taxi or walk quite far to the bus stop to catch a bus to Georgetown.
There is a nearby good & cheap massage place as you walk along towards the Gurney nightmarket (There is a huge signage / logo of a feet with 6 toes)

Service: Front desk personnel (Issac) was not friendly in dealing enquiries, didn't even bother greeting guests. Was very much disappointed with the service. And this attitude towards guests was seen during the span of the stay.

Tip: Taxis are all running at RM15 per way. We were lucky to have met this honest local taxi driver who offers his services to drive you around for RM 40/hr (MIN 4 hrs) and you can ask him to bring you to the really nice authentic penang food locations & buy cheapest beer (RM3.50/can). He also does airport transfers & drives an MPV so it can accomodate quite a no. of people.
Contact Mr. S Rajagopal at 010-3959404

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Laurel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.