We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Alternative to G” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Laurel Hotel to your Saves list
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in George Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Alternative to G”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the ELH, as a change from the G Hotel as we got a special deal from my close friends. It was a god send after the disaster at Leisure Cove!

Hotel situated on Gurney Drive which is about 15 minutes from Gurney Plaza. The rooms were clean, spacious and well maintaned. The room rates came with a sea view and breakfast - with a decent selection of food & beverage.

Staff were friendly & helpful, and hotel prides itself on going "green". Hotel is owned by Taiwanese people and its clientelle are quite cosmopolitian, from my observation. We left as Mr. Psy of Gangnam was going to stay there for his short performance in Penang!

Room Tip: try to get a sea view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    271
    134
    26
    13
See reviews for
144
139
50
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The room was old and furnishings were rundown. The dining choices at the hotel fell below expectations. The staff was not service-oriented at all, except for the transportation desk.
The biggest downside is that there is no wireless internet access in the room - so only your plugged laptop can be used and not your other mobile devices.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have been staying at this hotel since 2005. Always loved the place.

Great C shape sea view, spacious rooms, fantastic spa, excellent breakfast, courtesious staff, well decked up gym.

Gurney Drive has become a happenning place with lots of malls and resturents.

This is a jwel of penang for those who wants luxry at budget rates.

Room Tip: Higher floors non spoking seaview are perfect.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I did revisited this hotel as I was quite impressive from first visit 6 years ago.

I could go to Starbucks and Subway, all my favorites, within walking area.

Room with seaview and high-floor made my family so impressive.

Swimming pools, sauna, stream rooms, kids club and fitness are perfect facilities upon brand of Evergreen Laurel.

Closed to Gurney Plaza and Hawker Foods along the way are another loving choice for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First time back since 2010. It was around Christmas but the hotel was not as crowded as others. I did the booking only a week before using an online travel website and surprised to see that the price was the same as what I paid for back in 2010 but this time the room faced the city (those are cheaper than sea facing ones). The room was not upgraded and a bit dated but it was big and clean. My room was right across from the elevator so it was noisy. The biggest let down I found in two year was the quality of food. Some items on the breakfast menu were inconsistent and tasteless. I did not try the local food so those maybe better than western food. The only thing good at breakfast was coffee. I tried their lunch a-la-carte menu and room service menu but I found them to be below average compared to what I got two years back. The fitness room needs upgrading as even some treadmills were broken. For nearly US$100 less per night as compared to G Hotel, I thought the hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Book online using discount travel websites. Hotel website has higher prices. Also ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Eventhough i just walk in during Christmas Eve but the hotel still can accomodate my request. The location at Gurney Drive is merit for this hotel since normally people go to Penang will go for street food at Gurney Drive. you can drive about 3 minutes or just take a walk from the hotel for about 20 minutes maybe. Strategically located in the business area, ATM machine, Starbucks, CoffeeBean and Kapitan's branch is all in the walking distance only. But for vacation, maybe this is not the hotel, should go to Batu Feringghi area then.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Superbly located and very well appointed property. Room service is at par the best of hotels I've ever visited. The kitchen is efficient and so is their Business Centre. The Spa, though not very fancy is a nice treat after a hard day's work for sure. Recommend they refurbish their Jacuzzi in their spa!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#33 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#17 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
#28 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Laurel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.