We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Evergreen Laurel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stay 3 nights at this hotel. No major complaint. The room are clean with a 32" LCD and it has internet access in the room, however it is quite slow. And there's only wifi in certain area like the lobby and cafe. If you need wifi in the room, an additional $5 is charge which I think is not worth it as it is too slow and signal is weak. The breakfast can be improved further as the taste is like a left over food from yesterday. There is a lot of hawker food around the hotel but the Gurney plaza is still quite a walking distance away. It takes about 20 min walking to reach there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    180
    84
    21
    13
See reviews for
93
107
42
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed 2 nights at this hotel in mid October for a business event that wad held in the hotel. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. It is a little slow for check in. There is no wifi in room. it is still the best value hotel in Gruney drive area by considering the good room rate. Will stay again when visit Penang again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall experience at Evergreen Laurel Hotel:
Room - Adequate size, clean and spacious bathroom.
Internet in the room was slow.
Check in and check out were smooth and fast.
Location - Good, along Gurney Drive and within walking distance to Gurney Plaza. Approximately 15-20 minutes to Komtar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there in late October/early November for 11 days and was very satisified with the choice. The rooms are spacious. The furniture and fittings are in very good condition and the view from our room over the water was always interesting. The fridges are average re cooling power but they do provide ice cubes on various floors. I should add that finding the ice is a bit of a daily treasure hunt. Ice is not provided on all levels on all days. The best bet is to go to the top floor which seems to have the more reliable supply.

The rooms are clean and serviced on a daily basis by very pleasant and helpful staff. English is not universally understood and misunderstandings can be expected. For example, on one night we requested two glasses from 'housekeeping'. Promptly, there was a knock on the door and two staff presented us with two boxes of tissues, four bottles of water and two toilet rolls. But no glasses. Amusing. BTW if you have problems, Rachael Ines on the front desk is the person to see. She solves problems!

The hotel is on Gurney Drive and is within walking distance of the CBD and the ferry terminals. If walking is not your go, then the 103 bus stops in the road behind the hotel and fares are ridiculously cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the windos and double glazed and cannot be opened. Rooms at the front g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stay in this hotel 3 years ago, on business trip. Tried here this time round for this business trip. Finds that hotel room is a bit run down and not as well clean and maintain as last time.
Location is very good though, but not so much value for the price paid and I don't feel the 5 star rating. Breakfast is decent but nothing to shout about. Besides location, view from room (16 floor) is good. May not consider this hotel next business trip or even for holidays, unless the price is really attractive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is my first choice when I need to stay on Gurney Drive for work at Gurney Plaza. It's just a 5-10min. walk to Gurney Plaza and the located right beside the shore.

The Pros:
1. Reasonably priced considering what you get. The rooms are standard, beds are comfortable, and it's clean.
2. If you're driving, there's a block right beside the entrance where parking is available and free for guests.
3. Check-in was fast and the staff converse well in English.
4. Again, the location allows you to explore Gurney Drive from the start to the end. Food is not a problem when you're in Penang!

The In betweens:
1. Given that the Evergreen has been around for quite a while, signs of aging is evident. A small facelift or upgrade would do the hotel even greater. I'm sure they have the budget for it.
2. At one glance, you know the reception staff are seasoned veterans - they know what they're doing and know how to do it fast. However I don't receive an atmosphere of hospitality as one would expect from someone who's been at the job long- what more at a hotel. People skills could be improved in my opinion.
3. The hotel is pretty dim, but the rooms are not.
4. There's supposed WIFI, but I did not use it.

The Bad:
1. Once I booked my room online through the hotel's website with my Amex, the next day after checkout, my card was used to purchase an airline ticket from Etihad and a software from a European website. Luckily my bank immediately called upon transaction and I had it disputed on the spot. I suspect the website had phished my card details or either that a staff had access to my details. I would advise travelers to reserve via phone.
2. Rooms are not always available especially on short notice. Book in advance.
3. Give the gym an upgrade! Only Arnold's generation would consider the gym well equipped!

On the overall, the hotel is business and family friendly. Even with my grouses I would still stay at the Evergreen whenever I need to by in Gurney Drive as the hotel meets standards and expectations for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely clean, bright welcoming hotel in a truly superb location.
Reminiscent of Shangri-la hotels without the service. Now don't get wrong dear reader, The service was good, but the reception desk team could do with the same training that they give to Shangri-la staff. We want a bit more friendliness, rather than the matter of fact get it done efficiency that this company provides on its airlines.
The rooms were great, Clean, fresh comfortable bright with a great bathroom that even had big fluffy towels.
There was a basket of fresh fruit which was replenished every day and 2 complimentary bottles of fresh water.
Breakfast (not included) for which i paid extra was a sumptuous feast which had I gone to earlier, I could have eaten more on the first day. A great buffet breakfast catering for all nationalities with so much choice, indeed worth the price I paid.
The location gives a great view out across the bay and the location is wonderful for getting to shops and hawker food stalls. It is only a 10 minute walk to Gurney Plaza and shopping heaven for all the ladies out there.
The hotel has a happy hour that lasts nearly all night, and the gin and tonic is excellent!

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view, worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/Georgetown
Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Laurel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.