We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Evergreen Laurel Hotel to your Saves list
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there in late October/early November for 11 days and was very satisified with the choice. The rooms are spacious. The furniture and fittings are in very good condition and the view from our room over the water was always interesting. The fridges are average re cooling power but they do provide ice cubes on various floors. I should add that finding the ice is a bit of a daily treasure hunt. Ice is not provided on all levels on all days. The best bet is to go to the top floor which seems to have the more reliable supply.

The rooms are clean and serviced on a daily basis by very pleasant and helpful staff. English is not universally understood and misunderstandings can be expected. For example, on one night we requested two glasses from 'housekeeping'. Promptly, there was a knock on the door and two staff presented us with two boxes of tissues, four bottles of water and two toilet rolls. But no glasses. Amusing. BTW if you have problems, Rachael Ines on the front desk is the person to see. She solves problems!

The hotel is on Gurney Drive and is within walking distance of the CBD and the ferry terminals. If walking is not your go, then the 103 bus stops in the road behind the hotel and fares are ridiculously cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the windos and double glazed and cannot be opened. Rooms at the front g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    225
    112
    23
    12
See reviews for
120
122
44
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stay in this hotel 3 years ago, on business trip. Tried here this time round for this business trip. Finds that hotel room is a bit run down and not as well clean and maintain as last time.
Location is very good though, but not so much value for the price paid and I don't feel the 5 star rating. Breakfast is decent but nothing to shout about. Besides location, view from room (16 floor) is good. May not consider this hotel next business trip or even for holidays, unless the price is really attractive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is my first choice when I need to stay on Gurney Drive for work at Gurney Plaza. It's just a 5-10min. walk to Gurney Plaza and the located right beside the shore.

The Pros:
1. Reasonably priced considering what you get. The rooms are standard, beds are comfortable, and it's clean.
2. If you're driving, there's a block right beside the entrance where parking is available and free for guests.
3. Check-in was fast and the staff converse well in English.
4. Again, the location allows you to explore Gurney Drive from the start to the end. Food is not a problem when you're in Penang!

The In betweens:
1. Given that the Evergreen has been around for quite a while, signs of aging is evident. A small facelift or upgrade would do the hotel even greater. I'm sure they have the budget for it.
2. At one glance, you know the reception staff are seasoned veterans - they know what they're doing and know how to do it fast. However I don't receive an atmosphere of hospitality as one would expect from someone who's been at the job long- what more at a hotel. People skills could be improved in my opinion.
3. The hotel is pretty dim, but the rooms are not.
4. There's supposed WIFI, but I did not use it.

The Bad:
1. Once I booked my room online through the hotel's website with my Amex, the next day after checkout, my card was used to purchase an airline ticket from Etihad and a software from a European website. Luckily my bank immediately called upon transaction and I had it disputed on the spot. I suspect the website had phished my card details or either that a staff had access to my details. I would advise travelers to reserve via phone.
2. Rooms are not always available especially on short notice. Book in advance.
3. Give the gym an upgrade! Only Arnold's generation would consider the gym well equipped!

On the overall, the hotel is business and family friendly. Even with my grouses I would still stay at the Evergreen whenever I need to by in Gurney Drive as the hotel meets standards and expectations for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely clean, bright welcoming hotel in a truly superb location.
Reminiscent of Shangri-la hotels without the service. Now don't get wrong dear reader, The service was good, but the reception desk team could do with the same training that they give to Shangri-la staff. We want a bit more friendliness, rather than the matter of fact get it done efficiency that this company provides on its airlines.
The rooms were great, Clean, fresh comfortable bright with a great bathroom that even had big fluffy towels.
There was a basket of fresh fruit which was replenished every day and 2 complimentary bottles of fresh water.
Breakfast (not included) for which i paid extra was a sumptuous feast which had I gone to earlier, I could have eaten more on the first day. A great buffet breakfast catering for all nationalities with so much choice, indeed worth the price I paid.
The location gives a great view out across the bay and the location is wonderful for getting to shops and hawker food stalls. It is only a 10 minute walk to Gurney Plaza and shopping heaven for all the ladies out there.
The hotel has a happy hour that lasts nearly all night, and the gin and tonic is excellent!

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view, worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is rated as a 5 star hotel, a little over-rated, but for the approx USD 75 that I paid for the room only per night on an internet deal, it was a bargain. The room was of an adequate size, comfortable beds and clean bathroom. The deal did not include breakfast, but the hotel was on Gurney Drive with lots of food outlets nearby within walking distance. There was free broadband internet in the roon, via cable, quite fast. Free car-parking also. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here because there was a 50% offer on Agoda, but quite frankly i can't imagine paying full price for this place. I would only give it a 3-star rating. The only thing fantastic about this place is the location...15-20min walk to gurney drive and within walking distance to all the eating joints along gurney.

Room - Small and musky.
Staff - Could be better. Not very friendly. Check-in took forever!
Breakfast - Such a let-down. Very very limited spread

Would only stay here again for the location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Check-in was a breeze. A premier deluxe room was given to us. A big room, very clean and very well maintained. Surprise the room came with a fruit platter. We had a shock when the electric kettle blew up and the replacement was pretty quick. The breakfast spread was great with many varieties.

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Strategically situated. There is a food court, 7-11 and many restaurants nearby. The Gurney Plaza is just round the corner.

Will definitely stay here if in Penang again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Laurel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.