We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in George Town
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Beautiful, historic hotel and a wonderful three-night stay, from start to finish.
We booked a premier suite and were thrilled to have a large balcony with beautiful sea views. The suite was impeccably furnished and very clean. My only gripe would be that the wooden furniture (easy chairs/sofa) looked very smart but wasn't very comfortable. I believe that different rooms have different furniture, however.
The service was excellent and we found that the room-service, bar (especially cocktails!) and restaurant prices were very reasonable.
Swimming pool was lovely, overlooking the sea, although there seemed to be a bit of work going on nearby, and you couldn't walk between the pool and the sea-wall as the area was cordoned off.
The location was also very good, with lots of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

  • Liked — Sense of history, wonderful service, beautiful building, gardens and pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    448
    152
    45
    23
See reviews for
381
957
87
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

Wow, wow and wow! We stayed in quite a few high-rated hotels whilst in Malaysia for our honeymoon, but this one was certainly the best and we only had a standard suite. We had the bathroom of my dreams, no less than two flat screen tvs, fresh fruit and the staff were excellent. It also had the best value for money wine that we saw in Malaysia and the breakfast was superb. The echo in the domed entrance was rather different too, not to mention the flowers on display. We were sad to have to leave!

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — Shame there's no beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

We stayed at the E&O for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip. The old (1885) hotel is fully restored and absolutely beautiful. The room (each a suite, I believe) was huge and very clean, the service was excellent, and the site-seeing driver the hotel arranged at our request was very knowledgeable and reasonably priced. The food at the hotel was quite good, too. Our room overlooked the hotel's garden which is at the seawall on the Indian Ocean (crashing on the rocks just a few feet below) -- what a nice way to be lulled to sleep! I have traveled extensively on business throughout Asia and stayed at quite a few "4-star" hotels, and this is one of the finest hotels I have stayed at for any price. Granted, it's not right on the sand beach like the higher-priced resorts in Penang, but we were much more interested in experiencing a more "local" Malaysian flavor in our surroundings and restaurant choices. A definite two-thumbs up! Btw, when in Penang, if you're interested in nature, we also recommend visits to the Butterfly Farm and the Fruit Farm. They're a bit of a drive, but very interesting (and tasty).

  • Liked — The hotel was historic and beautiful.
  • Disliked — The nice dining room was being renovated -- oh, well.
  • Tips/Secrets — Penang is very interesting -- just make sure you arrange through the hotel for a driver.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Wonderful colonial style hotel in Penang. Fantastic design and great to stay for a taste of old world charm. It is an all-suite hotel and rooms are large with old fashioned fittings (take a room with a sea-view as other rooms overlook a very noisy and busy road, and the windows are not soundproofed). It has a nice refreshing pool overlooking the sea - great after a sweaty day exploring Penang. A great base for exploring Georgetown - it is a 10 minute walk to Chinatown/Little India. The hotel is already starting to look a little tired (damp patches, peeling paint) since its major makeover 5 years ago and will need to be properly maintained (I fear this won't happen) in the future. This is not me being over-fussy and wanting perfection, but because the hotel is old it needs more TLC than a modern, purpose-built hotel, and it would be such a shame for this grand-dame to become a shadow of her former self. For example, the chairs and tables on the verandah outside Sarkies restaurant are not really in-keeping with the hotel and its history and the whole area looks a little un-loved particularly at lunch-time. Stay here now before the hotel becomes complacent....

Check-in was a nightmare - I had to wait 2.5 hours for a room despite being told continually that there was no problem with my reservation and that it would be ready soon!

  • Liked — history and colonial style
  • Disliked — beginning signs of the hotel not being card for enough
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen Wales
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

Just returned from a great stay in the E & O, it was a wonderful experience. The suites were spacoius and roomy with a good size sitting area which opened out on to a balcony,giving great views on the ocean , watching the local fishermen ply their trade in the evenings whilst sitting with a drink as the sun went down was a most relaxing pastime.
from the minute we were picked up from the airport by the limo, the hotel has an ambience which gives the impression of a step back in time, it has a colonial feel with the warm dark wood, polished marble and elegance of times past.
the hotel is an oasis in a very busy, bustling city, food in sarkies corner was very good, breakfast was very extensive and afternoon tea and cakes in the bakery became the norm ,the pub in the evening is a good place to relax and it has good food,The pool area is good in that it is clean and very relaxing,
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, from the knowledgable staff at reception, the cleaning staff in the suites who carried out their work in a quiet unassuming way yet the suites were spotless at all times, to the bar,cafe staff, all to numerous too mention made our stay wonderful.
The hotel position was okay and most days we took a stroll down into little india,china town or the kompar shopping, in the evenings we visited one of the malls where there is good shopping and numerous food outlets, taxis are very cheap so if you do not want to walk it is no problem.
In conclusion, a wonderful hotel with great welcoming happy staff , and yeas we will return soon I hope.

  • Liked — the wonderful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — keep this hotel a secret from the tourists
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

The E&O is a beautifully restored colonial hotel in Penang - with amazing suites and amenities. However, it is located near the seedy historic district of Georgetown - far from nice beaches or Gurney Drive (restaurants, etc).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

The Eastern and Oriental has certainly reinvented itself since I last visited there as a small boy in 1973. The hotel now brands itself in the style of a great Malaysian institution, which to some extent it is. Its refurbishment has made for enormous rooms with very high ceilings and a hint of the grandeur of the British Empire. It certainly has its good side, lovely view over the water, but no beach. Nice pool and fine breakfasts and meals. It is quite pricey, and probably worth it for a night to sample, as much better value can probably be found elsewhere, though not with the same stateliness. The rooms including the bathrooms are enormous, marble, solid wood and enormous reproduction furniture. Lovely views with fold out windows. Each room has a butler button, which leads to a glorified room service. The foryer is grand too and recently refurbished with reverence to feng shui. Loo seat dirty on arrival and took a day to fix (seat had to be exchanged!?!) Service OK, but not legendary. Some occasional language barrier difficulties with staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.