We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party in hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Paris, France
1 review
“Christmas party in hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Lucky enough to meet the communication manager of this hotel, Zeta, who invited me for the christmas party. I discovered a fantastic place looking like the Raffles in Singapore. Authentic and nice place where I should have stayed. Ideally situated in the center of the town, far from the overrated places of Batu Ferringi. The place to go and to stay if you really want to discover the true Penang.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    355
    115
    39
    19
See reviews for
297
735
67
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

very nice hotel in a amazing place, plenty of acommodation an excellent service

Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

A fantastic hotel in the middle of Georgetown, Penang. My wife and I were met as we exited our taxi by a porter and then escorted to check in. Very professional staff in uniform. The rooms are spacious and well presented and equipped. A lovely pool by the side of the waterfront with waiter service. Breakfast, afternoon tea and diner were fantastic, food to die for. A beautiful bar that will serve any cocktail or beverage that you could ask for. A truly fantastic experience.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

1. Location: Great if you want to see sites with George Town; all within comfortable walking distance. Not good if you re looking for shopping and or beach, though. Those are not within walking distance.

2. Room (and hotel) has charming colonial feel. Well-equipped with bathtub, tv (with ok range of channels), aircon, hot water. Beautiful view of Straits of Melaka.

3. The swimming pool is a good size and offers a great view.

4. Staff speaks English competently. Very friendly, helpful with recommendations. Also very accommodating.

5. Breakfast is wonderful: Quality and range (Malaysian, Japanese, Western). It's like a foodcourt unto itself. I ate so well every breakfast that I could not eat lunch.

6. No convenience store in nearby vicinity though.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

If business or personal travel take you to Georegtown, Penang, Malaysia, do not make the mistake of staying anywhere other than the E & O. The combination of a central location, fabulous large guest rooms, and first rate service can not be matched in the area...and all at a very reasonable cost! The two restaurants offer good examples of local food as well as western fare, but if you are staying here for a few days you should by all means experience the excellent variety of food that all of Penang has to offer.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

stayed hear for 12 nights nice rooms hard beds but we slept ok on them bathrooms fantastic the best shower you will ever get and the baths are massive . try to get a room at the back of the hotel less noise great views the staff were great we had no complaints at all , we tryed the afternoon tea in the 1885 it was great we olso had dinner there fine dinning it was really good but not cheap. the pool was nice and good sunbeds nice towels and iced water from the pool dude, all in all we had a great stay and if we visit penang again we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed here for a night and was impressed from the moment we arrived.
On arrival you are met by extremely courteous door staff who immediately take care of your baggage as you are calmly ushered to reception past the concierge, looking resplendant in his planter shorts and pith helmet.
The reception is large, attractive and once you are booked in you are escorted to your suite and shown how everything works.
The suite is huge. By far the one of the largest 2 person hotel suites I have stayed in , with a separate WC, twin sink bathroom with shower and bath. Adjacent to the bathroom is a huge walk in wardrobe and dressing area. Additionally and overlooking the sea is a sitting area and dining area complete with desk.
Beds were comfortable and the whole suite was faultless.
The swimming pool overlooking the sea was lovely, and was immaculately presented.It looked so inviting on a hot and humid day.
I visited the bar in the evening and this was very nice with attentive staff and comfortable seating. SItting outside watching the sea darken into the night was an absolute pleasure.
The E and O is within walking distance of most main streets in the area and is actually quite well positioned as a step of point for visiting the Penang sights.
The buffet Breakast was a huge selection and an incredible range of Western and Local/ Oriental Foods.
Staff are polite and without fault. All in all and excellent experience, and on our return home, there was a postcard from E and O thanking us for our stay. I thought that was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.