We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in George Town
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Beautiful colonial facade with long history, but very disappointed with the service levels in this hotel. When I entered the lobby, the staff were not serving other customers but continued chatting among themselves nonetheless. Their first remark to me was "passport please".

The rooms are big and clean but with ersatz colonial era furniture. The long hallways leading to the rooms are traditional parquet, but no one has seen fit to run a carpet up the centre, resulting in housekeeping trolleys which trundle along like freight trains from early morning.

Room service food was very basic. You need to pay for your Internet connection at quite an exorbitant rate.

My biggest complaint is reserved for their 1885 restaurant. Our party arrived a little late, but well before last orders. The restaurant was at about 10% capacity. "Sir, do you have a reservation?" I replied "er no" ... "please take a seat outside first". We were ushered outside where we had to wait for 10 minutes while each of the three staff had a peep at us. When we were given seats we waited about another 20 minutes before the bread arrived. "Sir, this bread is just fresh out of the oven!" the waiter exclaims. I think he meant the microwave, as the bottom of the bread was still hard and cold. We complained. "Would you like it reheated sir?" .. "er no, I think we will just leave". ."would you like to have your order in your room?" basically no apologies and no idea why we might be upset with the service.

May be they were just having an off day. Can't understand all the praise on here though, unless the hotel have a very busy marketing department?. Perhaps they should redirect some more energy to training.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    467
    159
    49
    24
See reviews for
395
992
87
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
3 nights in Gorge town here before 3 nights in Batu F.
Very nice - and with kids - very accomodating.
Beautiful pool.
Good value at about 400 Rm a night and room was ample size to fit an extra bed for the 2 kids. Loved it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potteries
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

From the moment we arrived in reception my wife and I felt we had arrived at somewhere special. We were transported back to the days of colonial Penang. The hotel is magnificent, from the public rooms, the leisure areas through to the accommodation. The staff are, all without exception, most helpful and wait on ones every needs in the friendliest and cheerful manner. Meals, when taken in the hotel, were of a wide variety with abundant fresh fruit and something for every taste. The location of the hotel, being central to Georgetown, is ideal for our requirements

All in all my wife and I had a never to be forgotten experience at the E&O and our next visit cannot come too soon.

Alan Cocker [--]

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

If your budget allows it you must stay here, if not blow the budget and still stay here! We had two nights here and it was not long enough!! Everything from the moment we arrived was perfect, from the check-in, the fabulous suite, the food in both restaurants and also in Farquhars Bar. The pool was excellent, very peaceful with the most comfortable sun loungers, very good service which included fluffy towels and ice cold water. The breakfast was absolutely gorgoues, it's a buffet but with every food you could imagine and then some.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Everything is just perfect about this hotel. We were give cold towels and drinks (fruit punch) upon arrival. I loved the dome right in the middle of the lobby. We were given a fantastic room with the sea and pool view. Unfortunately, it was a twin-bed room, not a king-bed room as we have requested in the online reservation form. The staff were very attentive about it. A housekeeping staff was sent immediately to our room to join the beds together as all other king-bed rooms were occupied. They did their best to accommodate us by upgrading the room. We couldn't be happier about it. The room was SPACIOUS and everything was VERY CLEAN. It had a separate sitting area and bathroom, which I absolutely loved. Basically, the hotel provides everything you need to have in the room. We didn't try the restaurants as we wanted something local, so we headed to Gurney Drive to experience the night life. The drive takes about 10 to 15 minutes, depending on the traffic. The breakfasts at the hotel was great with lots of choices, continental and oriental. There is a street directly opposite the hotel where you can find pubs and clubs. There was a party going on at one of the clubs when we were there but we didn't go because we were tired after the long drive from Kuala Lumpur.

I can't sing enough praises for this hotel. It has a wonderful ambiance and style. I would definitely come back and stay there one day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

What a fantastic hotel. We arrived on a Monday and were greeted with cold towels and fruit punch, check-in was superb, we just sat and relaxed whilst the staff completed the necessary paperwork. The receptionist took us to our suite numer 207, which was stunning. It consisted of a large lounge area with sofa and chair, desk, tv, minibar etc, and had a wonderful view of the swimming pool and sea. The bedroom area was also very large, with a huge comfortable beds, with the most wonderful pillows, a very large wardrobe and dressing mirror. The bathroom was also huge, his and hers basins, a large bath and seperate shower cubicle. The whole suite was beautifully decorated, and very elegantly furnished. We ate lunch at Farquhar's Bar, which was really lovely and in the evening we ate in the 1885 Restaurant, which having recently eaten at the Grill Room at Raffles in Singapore, I would describe as very similar, the food and beverages were gorgeous. Breakfast was included in our price and was taken in Sarkier's Corner, the quality and variety of food was out of this world, the best breakfast I've come across anywhere. The pool area was beautiful and had the most comforatble sunbeds, the pool attendant came round supplying everyone with iced water,which was a lovely touch, especially in the searing heat. The only thing I could complain about is the fact that we rather stupidly only stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

The Eastern & Oriental is the perfect place to relax after a hot and sweaty day sightseeing in Penang. Both built by the Sarkies Brothers, it’s no surprise that the E&O looks just like Singapore’s famous Raffles Hotel. Well we live in Singapore but unfortunately, at SGD640 a night we won’t be staying at Raffles any time soon. The E&O, however, is the next best thing – maybe better - for a fraction of the price. We got a special rate for Singapore residents – RM480 per night.

From looking at the website I was a bit concerned that the place might be pretentious or stuffy but it's really not. Do, however, expect royal treatment all the way. The minute we got through the door, our luggage was whisked away and we were given a chilled mocktail in one of those old fashioned shallow champagne glasses. Check in was all done from the comfort of a chaise longue and we were escorted to our room and shown how to work everything. One small problem – the twin beds weren’t joined together as promised – was quickly solved. A maid appeared in minutes to sort it out.

The rooms – wow! We stayed in the most basic room but it was fantastic, with crisp clean linen on the beds, lots of E&O branded pillows and a huge bathroom with his and hers sinks and a rainforest shower. There was even a separate lounge area with sofa, coffee table and writing desk – and a butler call button right next to the bed! The whole hotel has a great colonial throwback feel to it and everything was immaculate.

We didn’t eat much in the hotel as we wanted to try out the restaurants on Gurney Drive (try Bali Hai for a good beach-front fish restaurant). The bar food in Farquhar’s bar was good though and breakfast was okay, although the staff were a bit over-zealous in clearing tables when people hadn’t even finished. One day we were seated at a table only for the bewildered looking previous occupants to turn up seconds later, breakfast in hand. The coffee shop wasn’t much to write home about either – I was expecting a bit more than three tiny tables and a few sad looking cakes to tempt me for afternoon tea.

As previous reviewers have commented, the area immediately outside the hotel is a bit rough around the edges (and I’m not sure which bright spark thought it was a good idea to build a petrol station right opposite). Penang as a whole is great though – yes, there’s the rough with the smooth, but there are some fascinating places to visit and after a hot day pounding the streets, it’s great to return to the sanctuary of the E&O and take a dip in the pool looking out over the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 71 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#22 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.