We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in Penang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in George Town
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel in Penang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The E&O Hotel is situated in a great location. It's walking distance from a lot of historic, cultural and tourist sites. The staff are very polite and friendly. Check in is relaxing as you are given a cold towel to wipe your hands and face & you receive a complimentary fruit juice. We checked in and out 3 times as we used the E&O as our home base hotel while traveling around the country. The price per room was a bargain for this hotel. The 3 rooms we stayed in were all very clean, well furnished, spacious and had beautiful ocean and swimming pool views. The beds were a bit on the hard side though. The rooms had a sitting area with sofa, coffee table, desk and chair; there is complimentary teas/coffee (the BOH tea is great); a tv and French doors that open up to a moderate sized balcony with chairs and small table. The large bathrooms included a tub as well as a separate glassed shower and two sinks on opposite ends of the bathroom.
The hotel has a fine dining restaurant (we didn't dine there), a casual restaurant named Sarki's Grill, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a pub called Farquar's. Sarki's serves a buffet breakfast with a mix of Malaysian, Asian and Western food. There were items like miso soup, roti, prawn curry, fruits, cereals, etc. The meals we had there were good. Once a week there is a fancier buffet dinner at Sarki's with live entertainment. There is a small gift shop, a business centre and an outdoor swimming pool that is really nice. The grounds are immaculate and the view of the ocean is stunning and vast. There is a rental car company located just down the street and the hotel has parking. It seemed quiet while we were there even though the restaurant had many patrons. Maybe it just has that laid back quiet atmosphere. It's a lovely, historic hotel and worth staying at.
PS. Take a rickshaw ride around the neighborhood - the guided tours are pretty interesting and fun.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    389
    130
    42
    19
See reviews for
332
817
74
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Stayed at this magnificent hotel for 3 nights in April after leaving Langkawi and found the service to be great in some areas and lacking in others which was the same as the food. The hotel is magnificent with a great pool and views over the straits of Malacca. We had a deluxe suite which was big and very clean with a huge bathroom and big sitting area. When you check in you are offered a cool drink and cold towel which is great especially given the heat and humidity at the time.
The service given by the staff in Farqhars bar was excellent especially David and his supervisor Kelvin. I originally ordered something on the menu and was told that it was not available (shades of the Westin) but they went out of their way to go to another restaurant in the hotel and arranged for a curry for me. Great Service.
The same can't be said however for the "Straites Restaurant" which provides breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. The meals were mostly cold and service abrupt and impersonal. We went for what was advertised as dinner and dancing only to be confronted with a noisy overflowing restaurant and cold food and it appeared the staff could not handle the full house. There was no dancing and the music turned out to be a 3 piece band with a bongo drum and a guitar. My wife and I stayed for 20 minutes and left for the quiet of Farqhars and where we should have eaten in th first place.
The location is fantastic to walk to all the attractions of Penang and the night markets are only a 30 minute taxi ride at Batu Ferranghi which are an experience not to be missed.
Overall a great hotel that needs to get its act together in some areas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahrain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

E&O has a beautiful architectural building whoch stands out in the area. the rooms are very big in size and so are the washrooms. the beds are quite comfortable and gives you a feeling of being in a spacious house rather than a hotel room. the room we were putting up did not face any sea view. the hotel is very close to the famous street market of penang which boasts of lit up streets in the nights, variety of shopping items and eating options.

room service is satisfactory. the breakfast spread is quite good and it feels good to sit out in the sun under shades overlooking the sea and have breakfast.overall the hotel is good especially if you are looking for a centrally located hotel in the heart of the city. its a wrong choice for people looking for some scenic beauty or peaceful ambience.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — very noisy location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Great Hotel with huge magnificent rooms and personal service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

An old colonial hotel recently refurbished in immaculate condition. Room (all are suites) was beautifully appointed with ocean views. One of the very few hotels we have been to where the stunning website photos actually match reality. Also has one of the best European restaurants (1885) in Asia we have been to (and we like our fine dining). Great service and concierge. Amazing pool setting - we cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

All we can say is that we had a room booked for only 3 days but kept extending it as it was very hard to leave this beautiful hotel. The staff always had a smile on their faces and nothing was too hard for them even to our last morning where they made sure we had breakfast before we left for our 5am start to the airport. It's a holiday I will never forget. Thank you very much (Room 009 Matt and Jackie)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar,Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

What a wonderful hotel this is.The butler who showed us every detail of our suite on arrival was obviously very proud of his hotel and justifiably so. The space, style and quality of the suites make staying here a joy - a contrast to many more expensive 5 star hotel 'chains'. Huge bathroom with 2 showers and beautiful capacious bath; large sitting room with comfortable sofa and chair;even larger bedroom with 2nd TV and a large furnished balcony overlooking the beautifully kept gardens and the Straits of Malacca.What more could we have asked? And the buffet breakfast was the best of our trip. The food in local restaurants in Georgetown is spectacular - best ever Tandoori Chicken for 3 pounds a head.The heritage status of Georgetown is well-deserved.Much to see including a fascinating town museum which cost the princely sum of 1Ringitt (20p) for entrance. We did not want to leave and will stay longer next time.Yes,it's one of those places where there just has to be a next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.