We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Charming"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“" Charming"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the room number 111, the bathroom was really huge and luxurious, you should try smth like that once in your life :-)
The beds, the balcony, the desk were beyond our expectations!!! They even put our slippers next to our bed while we were having dinner! The mini bar with a complimentary drinks was a nice touch as well! the variety of tea was a nice surprise as well , there was a good coffee machine and an iron with an iron desk!
Check your wardrobes and try on the sargons they are something special as well.
The staff was very professional , polite , helpful and invisible..
The breakfast was amazing I cant think of a single thing which was missing: fresh juice of all sorts , hot and cold dishes, pancakes, fish, sushi, seafood, sausages, fruit....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    867
    327
    110
    37
    19
See reviews for
268
686
64
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in one of the suites in the Heritage Wing. If you stay at the 100 room Heritage Wing, all guests will get to enjoy the 24-hours butler service. However, I felt that the butlers were only present during check in and check out (they're all really nice mind you), they don't really attempt to get to know you better, find out your plans, and try to personalize your stay.

Our sea view wasn't fantastic (but, I'm not complaining) because we got the corner room (332), and to our extreme left was the jetty, and a tree was in the middle.You should have seen our friends' room (328). They got the corner room as well, down the corridor, and their view was partially blocked by a pillar that was extending out from the building. Of course, a jetty and a tree anytime over a pillar. If you stay in the Heritage Wing, try to request for a room that is in the middle. I think the view would have been fantastic.

The suite is really large! Large bathrooms, large bedrooms and large sitting area! There're his and hers sink, and at first you wouldn't know which was his or hers. If you look closely, HIS sink will have shaving kit, electrical shaver outlet plug, etc. HER sink will have tissue box, more bath amenities, nail file, shower cap, etc.

Now, the tub is really big and beautiful. I guess it's really how they designed the whole bathroom. However, there is no raised ledge around the tub and when you slosh around the tub, water just spills over. So do be careful! It tends to be slippery!

We were celebrating our anniversary, and they surprised us with romantic decorations in the room! They left rose petals on the bed and all over the room! very nice touch there!

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view. make sure no pillars or trees are blocking your view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon District, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We're just about to head home after a week relaxing at the E&O Hotel and had to write a review before we checked out.

It is our second stay at E&O in the new Annexe Wing and it gets better each time. We stayed in a corner suite with views of the Strait and the annexe wing pool - the accommodation is definitely five star. The hotel is located right in Georgetown and you can walk to most parts of the town..finding so many places to explore, eat and shop.

We'd like to especially thank Dean and his team in the Planter's Lounge on level 6 which hosts breakfast and cocktail hour each day for guests staying in the Annexe Wing. We received attentive and friendly service each day. They always made us feel welcome. Dean became a friendly face around the hotel for us - recommending places to visits and tours we could do.

We can't wait to come back to E&O in the future! Thanks again.

Room Tip: Go for the corner suite in the Annexe Wing - wrap around balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was beautiful! The staff, most of the time, we're very friendly. There were two occasions where the concierge staff were not as friendly and helpful as they could have been. There was a laundry around our room which echoed throughout our room in the middle of the night and at times there was a sewerage kind of smell in our room. However, the rooms were huge, there was a paper waiting each morning, the breakfast was great, the pool was lovely. It's close to the club/bar strip in Georgetown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A wonderful hotel with a great atmosphere. Our room was huge, a nice balcony with views of the Andaman sea. The bathroom was huge, 2 hand basins, lovely shower and a free standing bath. We stayed in the Victory Annexe, which included drinks and nibbles between 6.00 - 7.00pm, which was nice and very generous. The breakfast in Sarkies was good, plenty of choice and local and western food. The pools were lovely, but the downstairs pool was nice and warm, with great service. Would love to plan to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

E&O is a historical hotel with modern facilities. The rooms in both heritage wing and victory annexe are steeped in style and luxury. I am impressed with the staff's service in every aspect. They are always smiling, friendly and responds to our requests. They did a great job in cleaning the room, ensuring that we have enough water, tuned down the room while we were having dinner. Small details but makes a difference for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a lovely stay here, beautiful pool.The staff were very friendly and we liked the free one hour cocktail session with free flow of wine and finger food.

The location of the hotel is also very convenient for those wanting to enjoy the nightlife as a lot of bars are nearby.

Definitely will go again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.