We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
southsea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for unfortunately only one night in February but had a fantastic stay. We had a high floor room in the Victory Annexe which had superb views of round the coast and the Straits of Malacca. The room was great with a lovely bathroom and it was possible to pull back all the balcony doors. The new pool and lounge area for the happy hour is good which was for 2 hours when we visited but I believe it is changing to 1. Drinks were help yourself and the white wine was vey drinkable! The selection of nibbles wasn't the biggest I have seen but all very nice. Farquhar's Bar is also worth a visit.

We visited the free E&O museum in the Victory Annexe. It is tucked away a little but is worth looking for .It is run by the lovely Merlene and she really helps bring the history of the hotel to life for you.

Room Tip: High floor with full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    378
    125
    42
    19
See reviews for
317
792
72
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Given all the great reviews, I was really excited to stay at the E&O. Ended up being a disappointing experience.

The good: The rooms are very beautiful and spacious. I was in the Heritage Wing (older wing), and our room was very large with a sitting room and large marble bathroom. The pool in the new wing was very beautiful and the buffet was truly spectacular (both for breakfast and dinner). Norman, the man in charge of tours was really helpful and awesome.

The bad: It just didn't feel that well put together. The spa is still not open (one driver told us it was supposed to be open last year but is still under construction) and the hotel suggested we go to a spa down the street which ended up being pretty seedy. The ladies at reception were friendly but not very knowledgeable (even though they've been sending people to that spa for a year, they couldn't give directions). The lock on our door stopped working so we had to wait for 20 minutes for it to get fixed (they hadn't changed the batteries). The toilet was really temperamental and sometimes didn't flush. And in the afternoon tea, the sandwich bread was a bit stale.

They also treat the people in the new and old wing differently. At the pool in the new wing (we were told we could use either pool), when we went to order drinks, the waiter told us there was a free buffet next door for guests and we should go there. We went in there to get a drink and the waiter there told us it was only for people in the new wing. This was a pretty awkward experience on many levels.

What I didn't realize when I booked was that Penang is pretty small. I thought I had to be in Georgetown to enjoy the true experience of Penang. That's definitely not true. If you stay in any of the towns you can get a newer and better hotel for half the cost. I wish someone had told me that before.

Room Tip: Go to the new wing. You'll be treated better and the amenities will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a very imposing looking hotel with a magnificent long sea frontage. Rooms and bathrooms are fine, but the food is so-so and the service in restaurant, poolside, bars - whilst the staff are very friendly and charming - is slow and indifferent. This has to be down to training.
Suggest the managers spend a few days at the Shangri La in Kuala Lumpur to find out how it should be done. Also it is aston
ishing that a hotel of this size and quality does not have a spa/beauty salon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at the E&O on a holiday in Penang. The rooms are very impressive in the Victory Wing,the newer part of the hotel. Massive bathrooms, nice balconies with sea views and comfortable, if you like firm, beds. Breakfast was good and it was nice to sit out on the terrace and get a bit of a sea breeze. The dinner we had at Sarkies was only average, but the dinner we had at Seven Terraces was excellent! The only minor complaints are air con a bit cold and not really adjustable (common in hotels I find) and the staff must have washed hundreds of towels for us while there with no option to not have towels replaced every time the housekeeping staff went to our room. And why do they always leave every single light on in the room after doing housekeeping even though nobody is there. It must cost the hotel a lot of money and really annoys me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The oldest hotel in Southeast Asia, the E&O old wing has huge rooms, well-designed bathrooms and gorgeous views of the water. The breakfast buffet is amazing - there is little you could want that is not available. The dinner buffet looked equally delicious. The pool in the old wing is very nice and there is a second, infinity pool in the new wing on the 6th floor. Unfortunately, the service at the restaurants and bar is very slow and the staff is not at all proactive. The wait staff needs better training. Other services at the hotel, especially the concierge were excellent, although they were unable to recommend a good local restaurant and repeatedly directed us to the food court nearby. I was disappointed that they do not have a spa but there was a nice yoga class offered on Tuesday and Thursday mornings.

Room Tip: The old wing was great, with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eeklo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Do not come here for the beach: there is a beachfront but no beach..
This historichotel is divided in 2 parts:the historc and a modern part:both with modern amenities(also wifi)
Huge pool on the 6th level with bar and snacks(happy hour) and a smaller one(verypretty) on the groundfl.
All the rooms have seaviews;6 different eating venues:Sarkies(international:allday with buffet)
Special mention:1885 restaurant is certainly a superb michelinstar worth

Room Tip: if you wish to stay at the seafrontgarden pool,take a groundfloor room in the historic aisle;otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and classically styled. It has maintained an elegant retro style. All staff are friendly and helpful, but the service in all of their restaurants and bars is painfully slow and inattentive. At breakfast, we had to ask 6 different waiters for coffee and all of them would forget. With lunch and dinner, our meals came out with either the wrong dish or just very very slowly. The final excruciating wait was for the bill when we were in a rush to leave for the airport. We had asked for the bill to arrive with our dessert so that we could settle it and leave as soon as we finished. After 20 minutes, we got up and had to find someone and follow them to the register and hover until they printed and settled everything. Overall, that was the most annoying part.

Other than that, the hotel was beautiful as I mentioned. Our room (Herman Hesse Suite) was enormous, looked out on the ocean, and had a gorgeous interior. Very luxe, just like the rest of the hotel, and we felt like royalty. Everything was clean and very well attended to in that regard.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.