We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I am a frequent traveler and stayed in many different type of hotels, E&O definitely does not impress me at all. For the price that you are paying, it certainly failed to deliver what is basic customer service. I was pretty embarrassed though, as I recommended this hotel to my friends. First of all checking in was pretty lousy (maybe because we are staying at Victoria Annexe wing and not the old wing). None of the receptionists have eye contact with you to let you know that they are aware of your existing. Informed them that we had 2 separate bookings for 2 nights and yet it was totally ignore and we have to go back to clarify with them the next morning. Worse thing is that, they can't even be bother to tell you where is the lifts and what facilities that they have. Room is pretty nice and huge (especially the bathroom), however from the way they design the layout, you will know that they didn't put in lots of thought into making the stay a comfortable one.
1) Bellboy - Can't be bothered to help you with your luggage until you are right in front of the lifts.
2) Bathroom - separate dressing table/sink area was pretty dark, I wonder how the ladies put on make-up with that kind of lighting.
3) Bathroom - bathtub right in the middle of the bathroom and I wonder where people put their soap or shampoo (too bad they don't even provide you any bath salt or scented candle) if they decided to use the bathtub instead of shower. Furthermore they only provide 1 floor mat, so you will have to chose where you want to place it, bathtub site or shower site.
4) Bathroom - Huge mirror in the middle of the bathroom and yet didn't put in any effort to clean it properly. (someone written on the mirror and it has not been clean for sometime I guess)
5) Shower - Shower screen and floor tiles full with molds
6) Balcony - it's like a prison, you have the view in front only as both sites are fully covered to protect your privacy?
7) Turndown service - not even a card or a bottle of water? how luxury can this hotel be?
8) Evening drinks - only for Victoria Annexe guests. Find your own table and help yourself with the drinks as they can't be bothered to serve you.
9) Breakfast - You really spoilt by the choices that they offered but again, customer service ain't there. They are like forced to work at that place, not sincere should be the word to describe. At one occasion, a guy asked for a glass of water and guess what the boy told him? Help yourself at the buffet there! Even though he has got nothing to do...

Overall, the hotel looks more like a hospital to me. The long and wide corridor reminds me of Victoria building type of hospital. Whole place is lacking of character, lousy customer service, unfriendly staff (no greeting at all from housekeeping to receptionist).

Seriously, it's not a place I would recommend anyone to stay there. Not because of the price but the quality of service and products which has way long to improve. Maybe they should ask the manager to travel a bit more to see how other hotels are doing. Even any Novotels in Bangkok did better than this E&O.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    383
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
321
797
72
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a fine old hotel! Everything worked ...well I didn't try pulling the "Butler Cord", that seemed a bit much to me. The lighting was phenomenal, the Wi-Fi fast, the spacious suite and the view (we splurged and got the sea-view rooms because we had read here, and the desk clerk confirmed, that the city-side can sometimes hear the nightclubs down the road). We were in the "old" building, because the new annex was booked, and I doubt there is much of a difference in the rooms. The best, the very best, of a very good experience was the breakfast. Every kind of fresh food imaginable. There must have been 8 chefs out in front creating various dishes (and countless workers behind the scene). Picture: one chef whipping up traditional Malaysian noodle dishes, and next to him another preparing fish soup fresh to your order. There were freshly made pancakes and waffles of course, and untold breads available. And sushi, and fresh fruit. And A man to juice to your order. WOW!
Unfortunately, the sea is too contaminated to swim, even though it is right outside. Apparently there is a shuttle to another property that does have sea-swimming. But there are two pools, a 35 meter stunningly beautiful infinity pool on the 6th floor of the new bldg, and a ground-level pool by the old bldg (a short walk between the two bldgs). My wife, a regular swimmer, preferred the ground-level pool (I'd estimate 25 meters) because it was less windy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We only stayed for a night. Although the initial plan was to extend another night, we decided against it. I booked a Studio Suite at Victory Annexe using a special rate for government servant and requested for a full seaview. At the reception counter, a fair lady with hair tied in a bun attended to me. Her service was monotonous - asked for ID, process the booking and handover the roomkey. I don't find her friendly nor welcoming so much so that I avoided dealing with her upon my checkout.

We would like to assume that since we were paying a special rate (which is much lower than published rate), we were given a room with HALF seaview and HALF cityview despite our request. The room was fantastic but we were very disappointed with the view as it was supposed to be one of our honeymoon trips. We arrived at 12.30pm and we understand that full seaview room may not be available yet, but if she had offered us to wait for another hour or so for the room to be ready, we would have happily accepted it!

Cocktail and breakfast was great. The waiters were attentive and prompt at their service. I particularly like to compliment the service of a waiter named Jeeva. He is always all smiles while talking to guests and that is the service that we want, not the sour faced reception lady.

Other than the only bad apple, the rest was good - cleanliness, bellboys etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

After reading all the reviews we were looking forward to the EO. We stayed six nights at the Victory Annexe. The room and the bathroom were large and the sea-view was just magnificent. It's very close to the historic area of Georgetown. Service was excellent and Internet worked well. We very much liked the afternoon free buffet between 5 and 7 pm. The EO offers a free shuttle service to Batu Ferringhi (30 minutes drive) where we spent a great day at the beach in the Lone Pine Hotel (it belongs to the EO). Unfortunately, we were woken up almost every night as our stupid neighbors slammed the heavy door always loudly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you have chosen the Eastern & Oriental
Hotel for your recent stay based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your six nights accommodation
in the Victory Annexe, the service and the Planters Lounge which is an added
facility for all guests staying in this wing. Many guests appreciate the free
shuttle service we offer and we are glad you took the opportunity to experience
it and had a well spent day up at our sister hotel in Batu Ferringhi.

We are sorry for your encounter with your noisy neighbour slamming the room
door. We would have been more than happy to offer a change of room had
you informed us of your concern.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to
welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, england
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our stay didn't start well - no-one explained in advance that there were 2 check ins and inevitably we went to the wrong one only to be brusquely directed to the other. Reception was slow and understanding made difficult by noisy family parties in the foyer. But the room, when we got there, was delightful. We stayed in the Tower Wing and had access to the club lounge which provided a super terrace for free drinks and snacks each evening and for breakfast. The other public areas appeared very busy and noisy through our stay but we did have one exceptionally good dinner in the 1881 restaurant. The landward area around the hotel isn't particularly attractive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is with regret that your stay didn’t start well. Please accept our sincere
apologies that you were not made aware that there is one reception counter
in each wing, and your experience with the slow check in.

On a positive note, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your room
in the Victory Annexe with access to the Planters Lounge and that your
dinner at The 1885 was exceptionally good.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near
future.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Came to this hotel knowing that it is one of the best hotel in Penang but turns out to be a great disappointment for both me & my partner. We came over for our Valentines celebration however never felt welcome at all at the reception upon check-in was quite slow as being local we felt discriminated that service was rendered first to foreigners! Entire ambience in the resort was great but however most of the amenties wasnt in the room and we had to request for it. Upon departure, staff at reception was totally RUDE & UNFRIENDLY ! To my shocking experience staff could even murmured and commented on guests and even showed tantrums at the front desk. Totally NOT what we have expected. Checked out with a very ruined mood over for the weekend and we will not consider coming back anymore since its basically more FOREIGNER friendly hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for coming to spend the special occasion at the Eastern & Oriental
Hotel. It is with regret to receive such review from a guest who is also a
Hotelier of a luxury resort on the island. The claim of being discriminated
is untrue as our all our guests are treated the same, and we do not give
any preference to locals or foreigners.

As mentioned in your review, you had to request for amenities as most of them
were not provided. It would be great if you could share with me your room number
with a list of amenities that were not made available to allow me to investigate
further, as well as the front desk staff handling your check in and check out.

I can be reached at rainfroy.harold@eohotels.com

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We concluded a very enjoyable holiday in Malaysia with a 5 day stay at the Eastern and Oriental. This is a grand old elegant hotel that is excellently maintained. We stayed in the old wing and the suites with a sitting room are well proportioned, looking out over the sea. Georgetown is full of interesting things to see and delicious things to eat and we settled into a routine of going out early in the morning, sight-seeing and having lunch at a local place, returning to the hotel in the afternoon to lounge around the pool. There is the original pool at sea level, with a spectacular new pool and bar in the new wing. The service at this hotel perfectly matched the high level of accomodation. We intend to return to the E&O, this time with a group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing this candid review. It is an absolute pleasure
to know that you had a truly enjoyable stay and that we were able to give
you a great impression.

We greatly appreciate your kind compliments on the areas that we have
served you well. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward
to the pleasure of welcoming you with your group of friends soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.