We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
London, england
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our stay didn't start well - no-one explained in advance that there were 2 check ins and inevitably we went to the wrong one only to be brusquely directed to the other. Reception was slow and understanding made difficult by noisy family parties in the foyer. But the room, when we got there, was delightful. We stayed in the Tower Wing and had access to the club lounge which provided a super terrace for free drinks and snacks each evening and for breakfast. The other public areas appeared very busy and noisy through our stay but we did have one exceptionally good dinner in the 1881 restaurant. The landward area around the hotel isn't particularly attractive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is with regret that your stay didn’t start well. Please accept our sincere
apologies that you were not made aware that there is one reception counter
in each wing, and your experience with the slow check in.

On a positive note, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your room
in the Victory Annexe with access to the Planters Lounge and that your
dinner at The 1885 was exceptionally good.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near
future.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    876
    327
    110
    37
    19
See reviews for
270
690
64
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Came to this hotel knowing that it is one of the best hotel in Penang but turns out to be a great disappointment for both me & my partner. We came over for our Valentines celebration however never felt welcome at all at the reception upon check-in was quite slow as being local we felt discriminated that service was rendered first to foreigners! Entire ambience in the resort was great but however most of the amenties wasnt in the room and we had to request for it. Upon departure, staff at reception was totally RUDE & UNFRIENDLY ! To my shocking experience staff could even murmured and commented on guests and even showed tantrums at the front desk. Totally NOT what we have expected. Checked out with a very ruined mood over for the weekend and we will not consider coming back anymore since its basically more FOREIGNER friendly hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for coming to spend the special occasion at the Eastern & Oriental
Hotel. It is with regret to receive such review from a guest who is also a
Hotelier of a luxury resort on the island. The claim of being discriminated
is untrue as our all our guests are treated the same, and we do not give
any preference to locals or foreigners.

As mentioned in your review, you had to request for amenities as most of them
were not provided. It would be great if you could share with me your room number
with a list of amenities that were not made available to allow me to investigate
further, as well as the front desk staff handling your check in and check out.

I can be reached at rainfroy.harold@eohotels.com

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We concluded a very enjoyable holiday in Malaysia with a 5 day stay at the Eastern and Oriental. This is a grand old elegant hotel that is excellently maintained. We stayed in the old wing and the suites with a sitting room are well proportioned, looking out over the sea. Georgetown is full of interesting things to see and delicious things to eat and we settled into a routine of going out early in the morning, sight-seeing and having lunch at a local place, returning to the hotel in the afternoon to lounge around the pool. There is the original pool at sea level, with a spectacular new pool and bar in the new wing. The service at this hotel perfectly matched the high level of accomodation. We intend to return to the E&O, this time with a group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing this candid review. It is an absolute pleasure
to know that you had a truly enjoyable stay and that we were able to give
you a great impression.

We greatly appreciate your kind compliments on the areas that we have
served you well. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward
to the pleasure of welcoming you with your group of friends soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The E&O is now a tale of two hotels. Having stayed in the hotel some twenty years ago, we decided to return to the Heritage wing for a week to soak up Georgetown's atmosphere and relax... and we did.

The Heritage wing has been modernised, but still retains atmosphere. Our suite was large, as was the bathroom, allowing us to spread out and, put our feet up and slow down.

Breakfast was a typical 5 star experience in an Asian hotel - anything from Omelettes, through to noodles or congee, to Roti Canai or Sushi. (Perhaps best to stick to one culture a day...) We explored Georgetown and surrounds during the day, heading to the pool late afternoon to cool down with a swim and a drink, with a book for company.

Can't really fault the hotel - it's location on the edge of the World Heritage Area makes it ideal as a base, and being just on the waterfront is great.

Decide if you want to stay in the Old or New Wing (we had a look in the New Wing and I've no doubt it would be a good experience as well - the pool / bar area was larger and being elevated had great views)

Dined in one night at the the top-end restaurant - 1885 - yes it was good but take the time to look at other places to eat in Georgetown as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back again since your last visit some twenty
years ago. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation in the Heritage
Wing and your stay throughout was seamless.

A wide selection of items are available on the breakfast buffet in ensuring all
tastes are catered for and we are glad you enjoyed it. The New Wing has a
larger gym, infinity pool located at level 6 and the Planters Lounge which is an
added facility for all guests staying in this wing. You may want to experience
staying here on a return visit. Delighted to know that your dining experience
in The 1885 was up to your expectation.

We are glad to have once again made your stay memorable and it is our sincere
hope that you will be returning again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

First of all, let me tell you upfront that I did not stay in this hotel, or dine here. It's more of a trespassing experience. My traveling companion wanted to see Ernest Zacharevic latest street graffiti and it's near E&O Hotel. As it turns out, the graffiti is by the sea and nearest 32 Mansion/Beach Blanket Babylon Bar. However, the front entrance hotel staff is kind enough to let us pass this super-exclusive hotel to get to the other side. As soon as we stepped into the hotel, it took my breath away. The colonial-style exterior is picturesque but the interior is even more mind-blowingly beautiful. We found the picture of three ancient dudes in this hotel's exquisite hallway, which we later found out that they are the hotel's founders. Managed to take a few pictures in the hallway, hehe. As we pass along, we stumbled upon a beautiful ocean view and pier, and managed to take a few pictures of the pier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute this review though you did
not stay with us on this occasion. Glad that it was a worth trespassing
experience for you to have a feel of this hotel of old colonial charm.
The picture that you saw at the Heritage Wing hallway were The Sarkies
Brothers, a group of brothers of Armenian ethnicity, best known for
founding a chain of luxury hotels throughout Southeast Asia including
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel.

We would be delighted to see you again maybe even for a stay if your time
allows.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed with my family over new years. You feel taken back in a tasteful way into the late colonial 19th century, yet without missing the modern comforts of the 21st century.

The rooms are generous and spacious. The view and the facilities such as the pool are amazing. The location is very convenient,

The staff is well trained, and takes individual care of guests. When my senior father got lost, it seemed like the whole hotel was on high alert and looking for him. When we were late to a dinner appointment and no taxi could be found, the concierge took the house Mercedes and drove us.

Without hesitation I would highly recommend this hotel, as it is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

Just try to stay away from rooms near the pedestrian crossing, as it makes a loud noise when the light turns green.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the street, next to the pedestrian crossing. Everytime there is a green li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for posting your nice review and rating us 5/5 on Trip Advisor.
As you correctly mentioned, The Eastern and Oriental is a hotel of old
colonial charm with the finest traditions of comfort and service and it
is conveniently located near food havens, shopping and entertainment
belts.

It pleases us to know that the staff took good care of you, just as you should
be. We greatly appreciate your kind compliments on the areas that we have
served you well and thank you for making recommendation of this place.

It will be great to have you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

What an amazing hotel. From the minute you walk through the door you are treated like royalty. The staff are extremely helpful, rooms are wonderful and the infinity pool over in the new building is like heaven on earth, so peaceful. Breakfast was great with a lot of choice and the restaurant choices are great too. Within walking distance of most of the Georgetown attractions such as the old fort etc. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your positive comments in regards
to your recent stay with us and we are delighted to know it was a perfect stay.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we hope to welcome
you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.