We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel on the Waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel on the Waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The E&O is now a tale of two hotels. Having stayed in the hotel some twenty years ago, we decided to return to the Heritage wing for a week to soak up Georgetown's atmosphere and relax... and we did.

The Heritage wing has been modernised, but still retains atmosphere. Our suite was large, as was the bathroom, allowing us to spread out and, put our feet up and slow down.

Breakfast was a typical 5 star experience in an Asian hotel - anything from Omelettes, through to noodles or congee, to Roti Canai or Sushi. (Perhaps best to stick to one culture a day...) We explored Georgetown and surrounds during the day, heading to the pool late afternoon to cool down with a swim and a drink, with a book for company.

Can't really fault the hotel - it's location on the edge of the World Heritage Area makes it ideal as a base, and being just on the waterfront is great.

Decide if you want to stay in the Old or New Wing (we had a look in the New Wing and I've no doubt it would be a good experience as well - the pool / bar area was larger and being elevated had great views)

Dined in one night at the the top-end restaurant - 1885 - yes it was good but take the time to look at other places to eat in Georgetown as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back again since your last visit some twenty
years ago. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation in the Heritage
Wing and your stay throughout was seamless.

A wide selection of items are available on the breakfast buffet in ensuring all
tastes are catered for and we are glad you enjoyed it. The New Wing has a
larger gym, infinity pool located at level 6 and the Planters Lounge which is an
added facility for all guests staying in this wing. You may want to experience
staying here on a return visit. Delighted to know that your dining experience
in The 1885 was up to your expectation.

We are glad to have once again made your stay memorable and it is our sincere
hope that you will be returning again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    378
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
318
793
72
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

First of all, let me tell you upfront that I did not stay in this hotel, or dine here. It's more of a trespassing experience. My traveling companion wanted to see Ernest Zacharevic latest street graffiti and it's near E&O Hotel. As it turns out, the graffiti is by the sea and nearest 32 Mansion/Beach Blanket Babylon Bar. However, the front entrance hotel staff is kind enough to let us pass this super-exclusive hotel to get to the other side. As soon as we stepped into the hotel, it took my breath away. The colonial-style exterior is picturesque but the interior is even more mind-blowingly beautiful. We found the picture of three ancient dudes in this hotel's exquisite hallway, which we later found out that they are the hotel's founders. Managed to take a few pictures in the hallway, hehe. As we pass along, we stumbled upon a beautiful ocean view and pier, and managed to take a few pictures of the pier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute this review though you did
not stay with us on this occasion. Glad that it was a worth trespassing
experience for you to have a feel of this hotel of old colonial charm.
The picture that you saw at the Heritage Wing hallway were The Sarkies
Brothers, a group of brothers of Armenian ethnicity, best known for
founding a chain of luxury hotels throughout Southeast Asia including
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel.

We would be delighted to see you again maybe even for a stay if your time
allows.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed with my family over new years. You feel taken back in a tasteful way into the late colonial 19th century, yet without missing the modern comforts of the 21st century.

The rooms are generous and spacious. The view and the facilities such as the pool are amazing. The location is very convenient,

The staff is well trained, and takes individual care of guests. When my senior father got lost, it seemed like the whole hotel was on high alert and looking for him. When we were late to a dinner appointment and no taxi could be found, the concierge took the house Mercedes and drove us.

Without hesitation I would highly recommend this hotel, as it is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

Just try to stay away from rooms near the pedestrian crossing, as it makes a loud noise when the light turns green.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the street, next to the pedestrian crossing. Everytime there is a green li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for posting your nice review and rating us 5/5 on Trip Advisor.
As you correctly mentioned, The Eastern and Oriental is a hotel of old
colonial charm with the finest traditions of comfort and service and it
is conveniently located near food havens, shopping and entertainment
belts.

It pleases us to know that the staff took good care of you, just as you should
be. We greatly appreciate your kind compliments on the areas that we have
served you well and thank you for making recommendation of this place.

It will be great to have you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

What an amazing hotel. From the minute you walk through the door you are treated like royalty. The staff are extremely helpful, rooms are wonderful and the infinity pool over in the new building is like heaven on earth, so peaceful. Breakfast was great with a lot of choice and the restaurant choices are great too. Within walking distance of most of the Georgetown attractions such as the old fort etc. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your positive comments in regards
to your recent stay with us and we are delighted to know it was a perfect stay.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we hope to welcome
you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Old Hollywood feel... I'd normally be annoyed with the long check-in process, but since I was given a fresh iced towel and delicious welcome drink... it was absolutely fine with me. I stayed in a suite in the old wing- gorgeous... unreal view of the sea (everyone gets ocean view here) the pool (both in the old wing and the new wing) is outrageously beautiful... the service is impeccable- I had work to do and needed to get my lunch quickly and they absolutely delivered.

The food is great and actually really decently priced I thought. This is a great place to have an event- conference, meeting, wedding, anything. I think these folks have been well trained in customer service- and I think the wedding is VERY well cared for and has a great historic story. Well done guys- I'd recommend this place to anyone-

Room Tip: They're all great! You can't get a bad view here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we are
glad you have enjoyed your accommodation in the old Heritage Wing,
the hotel facilities, food and its services.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it
has been achieved on this occasion. As you correctly mentioned,
we have the venues to cater for all events and thank you for making
recommendation.

We certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

One of the more interesting hotels we have stayed at since the National in Havana.
Very positives experience and agree with other posts.
My one small gripe - the free cocktail hour (it was 2 hours actually so no gripe there) but there was no one who would make me a cocktail or give advice on how to make one! You pour your own drinks and get snacks but instead of the triple g and ts I fancied a gin sling for example. Staff, who are plentiful said they couldn't help me. So had an extra large gin instead. Twice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing this review and we are pleased that you
enjoyed your stay with us.

We acknowledge receipt of your feedback with regards to the Planters
Lounge. Allow us to clarify, the 2-hour complimentary drinks and canapés
at the Planters Lounge was initiated as an added benefit to celebrate the opening
of our new wing last March and this is an added facility for guests staying in
the new wing. It is called the Planters Lounge Hours where we serve beers,
house pouring brand wine and liquors and canapés.

This will soon be reduced to 1 hour for both wings after the 1st year Anniversary
of the opening of the new wing.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

As I simplify my life, I've given up staying in 'fancy' hotels. But as our friend's wedding was here, we decided to treat ourselves to night of high end luxury. And luxury it is, so good we've extended another night. Beautiful appointed, and spacious, rooms with sea view balconies, exquisite bathrooms, and dimmer switches on most lights to set the ambience to one's liking. We even have a Lavazza coffee machine in our room. Worth paying a little more for entry to the 6th floor lounge for cocktails and hors d'oeuvres 5-7pm.

Loving it!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to hear that attending a wedding
at our Hotel and your recent stay with us was a positive experience and you
enjoyed your suite with nice sea view.

The Planters Lounge at level 6 of the Victory Annexe is an added facility for all
guests staying at this new wing and we are glad you were able to experience it.

It is our sincere hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.