We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights in the lap of luxury. The rooms in the Victory Annex are spacious and well appointed but what makes this hotel great is the level of service. Without exception the staff are friendly, accommodating and a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 4 nights stay with us and
thank you for your compliments on the service you received.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we do hope you will visit
us again soon if your travel brings you back to Penang.

We are pleased to introduce our new added attraction for guests, which is the newly
launched water limousine, priced at RM10 per return ticket which shuttles between the
Straits Quay Retail Marina and the legendary heritage Eastern &Oriental Hotel. You
may obtain more info when you next visit us again.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    380
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
320
796
72
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the new wing for 2 nights in late August. My wife and I stayed in one room and our teenage daughter and 2 girl-friends stayed in another. We arrived at midday and, with advance warning, the hotel already had our rooms ready. The car was valet parked in a secure hotel car park.
The rooms are spacious, without being huge, with lovely sea views and a nice cosy balcony. The bathroom is huge, and my only gripe here is that the bathroom could easily have been reduced further back by 2 foot or so, without diminishing its facilities which would have enlarged the actual bedroom area. The other drawback is that the toilet is open-plan within the bathing area and openly visible from the dressing area, which may not be everyone's idea of privacy.
The beds were super comfortable, great bed-linen and very efficient a/c. Flat panel TV, and DVD available on request - which is no bad thing as the selection of TV channels is dreadful. In this day and age being miserly with the channel selection just looks cheap. Free Wi-if was available throughout the hotel, including by the pool. The 6th floor infinity pool was great and not crowded at all albeit it was quite hazy when we were there which might have kept some people away.
Breakfast was available on the 6th floor lounge, albeit more 'continental' than the full blown buffet on the ground floor. We took the main buffet breakfast which was generally good.
We dropped into the 6th floor lounge each night for complimentary drinks (beer, wine, spirits) and some limited, but tasty, canapes. This was a pleasant precursor before dinner and seemed very popular.
Service was mixed. Efficient but a little inscrutable at reception, pleasant in the Sarkies coffee shop, very responsive when in contact by email, and generally more helpful and friendly in the old wing areas.
We had good 'promotional' rates when we stayed, and already those rates have gone up subsequently. Having said this, the hotel was not full when we stayed and, in any event, we would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for sharing this experience for other reviewers and fellow travellers
to gain a better knowledge of what we offer at The Eastern & Oriental Hotel and
in particular our newly opened Victory Annexe.

It is always a pleasure for the entire team to receive such praises and we are more
than happy to know that you found every aspect of your visit to your satisfaction.
Nevertheless, we note your comments on the service at reception being inscrutable
and wished you had informed us of your concern.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and perhaps you may
want to experience our newly launched water limousine which is an added attraction
to the guests. This water limousine shuttles between the Straits Quay Retail Marina
and the legendary Eastern & Oriental Hotel. Ticket is priced at RM10 per return ticket.
You may obtain more information on this when you next visit us again.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A five-night stay in the Victory Annexe in August, 2013 was my second time visiting the E&O, and it certainly won't be my last.

I'm a solo traveller, and not at all trying to win any bonus points (or, you know, purposefully save money) scrimping on accommodation like many backpacker types would. I like a nice hotel when I'm on the road. And my favourite hotel on the planet (so far - I have a lot more of the planet to explore) is the E&O.

I've stayed twice in the Annexe, in beautifully appointed rooms. Judging just from the fixtures and furnishings, expense has not been spared putting this hotel together. The standard King rooms in the Annexe are huge with giant bathrooms, a walk-in shower, and dual vanities/closets, which would please even the most difficult travelling couples. The bed is soft, pillows comfortable, view of the sea impressive and amazing... these rooms are just gorgeous.

Add to that a sixth floor breakfast/lounge (not a bar, just a place to sit on couches and comfortable chairs to read and such) adjoining the pool area (infinity pool, heaps of deck lounges and umbrellas), a very good assortment of restaurants on property, and the bar (I enjoy the bar, even if I'm paying hotel prices for my pints), and there's no reason not to be comfortable.

The service is also quite professional and helpful, although I'm pretty low maintenance when it comes to visiting Penang.

It's a short walk from the hotel into the historic areas of George Town, four blocks to the best roti canai vendors in Malaysia for breakfast, and only a short cab ride to most of the popular night markets and such (though Red Garden Night Market - overrated and a tourist trap, in my opinion - is less than two blocks away).

Penang is probably my "happy place" in SE Asia, and I'll be visiting the E&O again and again.

Room Tip: Book early for Victory Annexe rooms that fully face the sea. The view's still pretty good from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to read of your recent enjoyable experience at The Eastern & Oriental
Hotel. A detailed review like yours in particular about our new Victory Annexe is always
helpful for us and others considering this hotel for their forthcoming stays as it gives
them a better idea of what we have to offer.

Your glowing comments on your satisfaction of our accommodation, facilities and
location were so pleasing to read, and that everything went perfect for you.

We are more pleased to learn of your return and on your next visit, you will get the
opportunity to experience our new added attraction for guests, which is the newly
launched water limousine, priced at RM10 per return ticket which shuttles between
the Straits Quay Retail Marina and the legendary heritage Eastern & Oriental Hotel.
You may obtain more info when you next visit us again.

On behalf of the team, we would like to thank for your compliments on the areas we
have served you well and we eagerly anticipate your return in the near future.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergneustadt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight here for our anniversary. Since we had already seen most of Penang Island, we wanted to spend our time primarily at the hotel, and were not disappointed in the relaxing atmosphere. If you stay in the Victory Annexe, you have access to a gorgeous infinity pool on the 6th floor, overlooking the ocean. It wasn't at all crowded, and we experienced great service (complimentary iced latte/cappuccino delivered to your lounge chair). There is also happy hour from 5-7p for those staying in the Annexe. We received early check-in, late check-out, rose petals on our bed, and a cheesecake all complimentary due to our anniversary. Service was top!
This is an incredibly beautiful hotel with lots of charm and a wonderful value for the money (especially for Penang which is quite pricey!). If you want to spend time at the beach, it's probably not the right choice for you, but Penang is not known for its quality of beaches. We really enjoyed the pool!
Perfect place to relax and unwind, as well as sightsee if you've just arrived on the island.
I highly recommend this hotel to couples!

Room Tip: Studio suites in the Victory Annexe are lovely. Very spacious, and we had a beautiful ocean view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting this review. Staying with us
on your anniversary must have been very special and it is a pleasure to know that your
accommodation experience was an enjoyable one.

As you correctly mentioned, the infinity pool with a view overlooking the ocean is a
place to start your day with a refreshing dip or for relaxing after a tiring day. We are
glad you enjoyed the facilities available at the Victory Annexe including the complimentary
cocktail and canapés at the Planters Lounge.

For beach lovers, they may choose to stay at our sister hotel called The Lone Pine Hotel
located at the Batu Ferringhi Beach, whereas The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is conveniently
located within walking distance to famous street food, places of attractions, cafés and
shopping.

Besides, we would also like to take this opportunity to introduce our Eastern & Oriental’s
first and newly launched water limousine named ‘Lady Martina’, which is an added attraction
for guests of the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and selected patrons of the Straits Quay Retail
Marina for just RM10 per return ticket. This water limousine service has just begun operations
and it can comfortably seat up to 33 passengers, with indoor seating as well as outdoor
benches for those who enjoy the sun and sea breeze. Lady Martina shuttles between the Straits
Quay Retail Marina and the legendary heritage Eastern & Oriental Hotel.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident on this very special occasion and thank
you for making recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to having you with us again
And perhaps experience our new added attraction mentioned when you next visit us.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Victory Wing and revelled in the lap of luxury. Our package included free breakfast and happy hour each evening between 5 and 7pm with complementary cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.
The only let down was the extra bed that we had requested was not available at check-in and still not supplied 6 hours later, even though we had received a confirmatory email 2 days prior to our stay that the bed would be in the room. When the extra bedding was finally supplied it ended up being a mattress on the floor, not an extra bed as expected. This was the only let down to our stay and we would return again without hesitation. We would recommend this hotel to other travellers who wish for luxury at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you were generally happy with your stay, however
we were disappointed to read your comments about the extra bed which
will be investigated further. Please accept our sincere apologies for the
inconvenience caused on this occasion and rest assured that every effort
is made to minimize the discomfort of our guests.

We would like to thank you for your recommendation of this hotel and
happy to know that you would be planning a return.

In addition, we would also like to take this opportunity to introduce our
Eastern & Oriental’s first and newly launched water limousine named
‘Lady Martina’, which is an added attraction for guests of the Eastern & Oriental
Hotel and selected patrons of the Straits Quay Retail Marina for just RM10 per
return ticket. This water limousine service has just begun operations and it can
comfortably seat up to 33 passengers, with indoor seating as well as outdoor
benches for those who enjoy the sun and sea breeze. Lady Martina shuttles
between the Straits Quay Retail Marina and the legendary heritage Eastern &
Oriental Hotel.

You may want to experience this added attraction when you next visit us.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The E & O Hotel was recommended to us by my brother who said he'd had the best breakfast ever there - so on the strength of that we decided to lash out and spend 2 nights there during our week long stay in Georgetown. It was well worth the extra expense. We had a room with a view of the sea and the coastline (not that great due to the smoke from the fires in Sumatra but the thought was there!). The room was large, the bathroom was large, even the showerhead was large! There was fruit to eat and coffee, tea and soft drink. On the 6th floor was a lovely swimming pool half covered over, half out in the open which was a great delight after our days of walking around Georgetown in the heat. We stayed in the Victory wing which had a 'Cocktail Hour' from 5 - 7 pm each evening where yummy finger food and all kinds of drinks were available to the residents of this wing. Very nice, thank you. After we checked in we were taking a look around and the manager of the Victory wing noticed we were interested in the hotel and took us on a tour all around. She was very informative about the history of the place - it was built in 1885 - and was obviously very proud to be working there. All the other staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I had some trouble getting on to the internet and one of the staff took the time to check out my netbook and set it up so it worked fine. And the breakfast? Superb! So many choices - and definitely the best ever!! So ....When you go to Georgetown - go on, spoil yourself and stay at the E & O!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view - which we got - and were on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for this candid review and your kind recommendation of this
Hotel. It was with great pleasure to read this feedback and that the quality of the
hotel surpassed all expectations as well as your compliments to the team.

The infinity pool located at level 6 of the Victory Annexe is indeed a place for
relaxing after a tiring trip or to start the day with a refreshing dip. It also pleases
us to know that you enjoyed the complimentary cocktail and canapés available
at the Planters Lounge for guests staying in the Victory Annexe.

We would also like to take this opportunity to introduce our Eastern & Oriental’s
first and newly launched water limousine named ‘Lady Martina’, which is an added
attraction for guests of the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and selected patrons of the
Straits Quay Retail Marina for just RM10 per return ticket. This water limousine
service has just begun operations and it can comfortably seat up to 33 passengers,
with indoor seating as well as outdoor benches for those who enjoy the sun and sea
breeze. Lady Martina shuttles between the Straits Quay Retail Marina and the legendary heritage Eastern & Oriental Hotel.


It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we look forward to having you
with us again soon.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel but had afternoon coffee and cake on the terrace outside. As you would expect, the heritage of this hotel is wonderful and the food was superb and shows the true colonial history of Penang. A great experience to sit on the terrace overlooking the bay. Cost I think £20 for 3 of us for coffee and cake and the service was excellent. If you want to explore the hotel (but not pay the money to stay) then I would highly recommend getting some food and taking some pictures and the staff are only too pleased to help.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Being a non in-house guests, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide us
with this feedback regarding your dining experience in our Hotel. We are delighted to
hear that the food and service were excellent and thank you for making recommendation.

It is our sincere hope that you will return and perhaps consider staying with us in the
near future.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.