We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Lovely place to stay, eat, swim ... enjoy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Various
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Lovely place to stay, eat, swim ... enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The E & O Hotel was recommended to us by my brother who said he'd had the best breakfast ever there - so on the strength of that we decided to lash out and spend 2 nights there during our week long stay in Georgetown. It was well worth the extra expense. We had a room with a view of the sea and the coastline (not that great due to the smoke from the fires in Sumatra but the thought was there!). The room was large, the bathroom was large, even the showerhead was large! There was fruit to eat and coffee, tea and soft drink. On the 6th floor was a lovely swimming pool half covered over, half out in the open which was a great delight after our days of walking around Georgetown in the heat. We stayed in the Victory wing which had a 'Cocktail Hour' from 5 - 7 pm each evening where yummy finger food and all kinds of drinks were available to the residents of this wing. Very nice, thank you. After we checked in we were taking a look around and the manager of the Victory wing noticed we were interested in the hotel and took us on a tour all around. She was very informative about the history of the place - it was built in 1885 - and was obviously very proud to be working there. All the other staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I had some trouble getting on to the internet and one of the staff took the time to check out my netbook and set it up so it worked fine. And the breakfast? Superb! So many choices - and definitely the best ever!! So ....When you go to Georgetown - go on, spoil yourself and stay at the E & O!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view - which we got - and were on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for this candid review and your kind recommendation of this
Hotel. It was with great pleasure to read this feedback and that the quality of the
hotel surpassed all expectations as well as your compliments to the team.

The infinity pool located at level 6 of the Victory Annexe is indeed a place for
relaxing after a tiring trip or to start the day with a refreshing dip. It also pleases
us to know that you enjoyed the complimentary cocktail and canapés available
at the Planters Lounge for guests staying in the Victory Annexe.

We would also like to take this opportunity to introduce our Eastern & Oriental’s
first and newly launched water limousine named ‘Lady Martina’, which is an added
attraction for guests of the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and selected patrons of the
Straits Quay Retail Marina for just RM10 per return ticket. This water limousine
service has just begun operations and it can comfortably seat up to 33 passengers,
with indoor seating as well as outdoor benches for those who enjoy the sun and sea
breeze. Lady Martina shuttles between the Straits Quay Retail Marina and the legendary heritage Eastern & Oriental Hotel.


It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we look forward to having you
with us again soon.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    378
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
318
793
72
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel but had afternoon coffee and cake on the terrace outside. As you would expect, the heritage of this hotel is wonderful and the food was superb and shows the true colonial history of Penang. A great experience to sit on the terrace overlooking the bay. Cost I think £20 for 3 of us for coffee and cake and the service was excellent. If you want to explore the hotel (but not pay the money to stay) then I would highly recommend getting some food and taking some pictures and the staff are only too pleased to help.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Being a non in-house guests, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide us
with this feedback regarding your dining experience in our Hotel. We are delighted to
hear that the food and service were excellent and thank you for making recommendation.

It is our sincere hope that you will return and perhaps consider staying with us in the
near future.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at the new Victory Annexe.

Beautifully renovated to mimic the classic old wing colonial style. Excellent interior design, lovely finishings--they haven't scrimped on that. The best feature of the standard room is the bathroom, very large, very spacious, very luxurious. Strange lack of standard British power points (considering it's the same points used in Malaysia)--I ended up having to charge my phone and laptop on the floor and in the bathroom.

View from the hotel room is stunning, Straits Quay to the left and Gurney drive to the right. Lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the waves, and equally lovely to be greeted by that view the moment you wake up. Bed's fairly comfortable, although nothing on the Westin and W hotels. One drawback of the room is that the walls are very thin; you can hear the water pump when the next room turns on the tap and the shower, when they slam the door and plug a charger in to a socket--not so good when they're on holiday and you have a 9 am the next day.

On the 6th floor--beautiful infinity pool, good fitness centre (even though it closes at 10pm, being a city hotel with jetlagged business travellers, you would think they would be open 24 hours). Planters lounge has complimentary coffee/tea all day, and free flow cocktails and snacks from 5-7pm.

Breakfast selection is good--western, chinese, japanese, malaysian--all the usuals of a Malaysian 5 star hotel buffet breakfast. Service is appalling. Rude chef at the dim sum station, and waiters wander around aimlessly, not clearing plates after you finish, not offering coffee, not refilling coffee, quite unacceptable for the 5 star price the hotel demands.

Not the 5 star experience expected, and certainly not for what they chargewill not be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback in regards to your recent
stay with us. We are concerned that you were not totally satisfied with your stay
and it is disappointing to hear that the service was a let-down. Your feedback has
been shared with our Food & Beverage team who have initiated some very detailed
actions to ensure that we deliver quality service to all our guests at all times and that
such lapses are not repeated. Please accept our sincere apology that on this occasion
you felt this was not the case.

On a positive note, we are glad though that there were few aspects of the hotel that
met with your expectations.

Once again, we regret for the disappointment and thank you for your valuable feedback.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to make improvements and welcome you back.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week here and couldn't have picked a better hotel. After touring the island and comparing Georgetown to Batu Ferringhi, we knew we had chosen the right place (unless you're a beach person). Eastern & Oriental is conveniently located in Georgetown within walking distance to Little India, Red Garden Hawker Center, China Town, Clan Jetties and on and on. The staff at E&O were very friendly and professional. We stayed in the Victory Annex with a BEAUTIFUL view of the strait and the relaxing sound of the water. No traffic noise at all on this side of the building. The room was large, clean and offered not only hotel robes but also beautiful sarongs to wear. The breakfast area on the 6th floor faced the water with a nice selection for breakfast. The daily free cocktail hr from 5-7pm was great with delicious hors d'oevres, wine, and some hard liquor. This all faced the water and there was also a relaxing area to eat/drink by the beautiful infinity pool. Our hotel was an oasis in the city and we looked forward to coming back after a hot day of sight seeing. LOVED this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is our absolute pleasure to know that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel
during your recent stay with us and thank you for posting this review.

As you correctly mentioned, we are very fortunate to be located within walking distance
to the popular eateries, shopping areas, cafes and places of interests which many
guests find this beneficial and I am glad you found this the same.

It is always motivating for the staff to know that they could contribute to make a guest’s
stay remarkable. We are grateful for your appreciation of the room presentation along
with the amenities we have to offer as well as the complimentary cocktail and canapés
for our Victory Annexe guests, available daily from 5pm – 7pm at the Planters Lounge.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you
to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place was fantastic, there was nothing the staff could not do to help our stay be a great experience. The room was excellent, and we had plenty of room, and over looking the sea and coastline, although the TV was an old style one with poor reception. The pool was brilliant, could easily retire here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time and your stay with us was
a great experience. We value all feedbacks from our guests, and are pleased
to inform that we do have plans in store to upgrade the TVs.

Once again, thank you for enjoying your stay with us and taking the time to provide
us with this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As others have pointed out, there's a big difference between the good service levels at the old hotel (Heritage wing) and the disappointing service at the new hotel (Victory wing). I stayed at the Victory wing. It's an entirely separate hotel with some shared facilities - housed in a rather nondescript new-build tower building on top of a multi-storey car park.

The rooms are beautifully decorated but badly designed in detail:
- There are no lights for the mirrors in the bathroom so hard to see
- You have to put your suitcase in the wardrobe (in the bathroom) but the area is so narrow you can't get past the open doors
- You have to unplug the bedside light to charge a mobile phone
- There are no standard Malaysian/UK sockets by the desk so you can't plug in a laptop.
This is all a bit odd for a newly-designed hotel. The management are well-aware of the issues but have not taken steps to address them.

The bathroom cleaning was lacking - the mirrors and shower glass looked like they've never been cleaned since the building recently opened. The same in the lift lobbies.

Another concern - breakfast on the sixth floor of the Victory wing (Victory guests are not allowed to take breakfast in the original hotel) had temperature-sensitive food like sushi left out on the servery to stand without refrigeration or ice.

The big issue is with the service - in the new wing. Unlike in the original hotel, which still provides good service, the new wing is very 3* in service. The people on reception don't provide any helpful information, are not confident with guests and are not welcoming.

I missed breakfast on the first day because they gave me an incorrect closing time. There is no concierge (the desk is there - just no concierge). The new pool area had only 6 guests and 2 staff but you had to request towels and there was no poolside drinks service - order at the counter only. Fine for a 3*, but not for 5*.

The manager provided a complimentary car to the airport to compensate for the shortcomings but I would have preferred the service they advertised.

For the money the Victory wing is reasonable value and the decor is new and impressive (even if the rooms are impractical for guests). But to position the new hotel as 5 star is misleading and to badge it as the same hotel as the Heritage wing will ultimately damage the good standing of the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe better to choose older but more practical rooms in the Heritage wing than the 'bling'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the E&O for three weeks in June this year, it was our second stay at the hotel, the first being in 2009. We booked into the new Victory Wing and were a little concerned that the growth in size of the hotel might have removed some of the character and personal service. We needn't have worried, the hotel has managed to pull off a very rare combination of being a larger 5* hotel with service that makes you feel like 'one of the family'.

So regardless of the changes, the E&O remains a wonderful hotel and the facilities are magnificent, whether the Heritage Wing or the Victory Annexe, which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend. We loved our suite and the private balcony with its view of the Straits (amazing bathroom as well). The Planters Lounge and terrace, the infinity pool are all wonderfully luxurious, as were the facilities and the older pool in the Heritage Wing. The buffet facilities in Sarkies were superb and excellent value, and although we enjoyed eating at food courts and hawker stalls on the island, we both agreed the best food we had was in the hotel. The 1885 for afternoon tea and for dinner was wonderful, and among the best for fine dining.

But it was the staff who made it so very special for us. Everyone was so professional, friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, when the hotel 'ambassador' Edward introduced himself and showed us around (and always seemed to be there whenever we needed him), followed by a warm and friendly reception from the doormen and reception staff, to the catering and bar staff, the management, the cleaning staff. Everyone made us feel like VIPs and yet like friends and family at the same time.

Christopher, Izzy and the team in the Planters Lounge were all wonderful (thanks especially to Duminda and Divra for looking after us so well). The Planters Lounge surroundings and service are definitely 5* - we especially enjoyed the 'happy hour' drinks and canapes! It also provided a peaceful alternative to Sarkies for breakfast, whilst there is not so much selection, the selection is still as good as the vast majority of hotels, and the extra half hour of service until 11am was also welcome at times!

We would heartily recommend Sarkies, for quality, service and value we believe it takes some beating. The buffet food is wonderful, and Chefs Abdullah and Khalimoutu, despite being busy, always had time to cook us a little treat or recommend something from the buffet, and Normala and Zul were always on hand to ensure we had a good table. We would recommend a visit when Los Cantores are playing - we remembered them as 'The Strollers' from our previous visit and were delighted that they were still playing. The seafood and carvery nights are also well worth it. Although I notice some have complained about the price, I am not sure where in the UK one could enjoy fantastic food and service in a 5* hotel for £25-£30 per head

The 1885, whilst a little pricey, is worth it. The food is superb and the service is as good as any michelin starred front of house (better than some I'd say!). Desite us only visiting there a couple of times during the holiday Jeeva, Liza (a wonderful lady) and the rest of the team made us feel so special.

In Farquahar’s Bar Nini, Nora, Sherly and especially Emma were there to provide an oasis from the heat and humidity, it has a very welcoming 'local pub' feel which the staff clearly work hard to maintain.

I must admit, I don't understand how anyone could give the hotel a low score. We have stayed in many hotels, both on business and for pleasure and the E&O ranks amongst the absolute best.

In summary, if anyone reading this is left in any doubt, if you are going to Penang stay at the E&O! It is unquestionably 5* in surroundings, rooms, food and service and is in a fantastic position a very short walk from the centre of Georgetown, but also with amazing views over the Penang Straits. Thank you all at the E&O for a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Other than that all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us in
June 2013.

We are thrilled that your stay at our property was more of an experience than
just a holiday. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest standards of service
and are happy that this has translated into a wonderful stay for you and your husband.

It is our absolute pleasure to know that you made full use of all the facilities and
outlets available at the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences
in The 1885, Sarkies as well as the Planters Lounge. Guests can partake in a range of
dining experiences, The 1885 offers classical yet contemporary fine dining and our
Traditional English Afternoon Tea served in this elegant restaurant is something not to
be missed. Our team endeavour to make each guest feel as welcome and relaxed as
possible during their stay with us. We do appreciate your very kind comments and rest
assured that our team have been personally thanked for their exceptional service.

Our convenient location is constantly one aspect we get a lot of praise on and we
are glad you found this to be the same. The Hotel is ideally located within walking
distance to eateries, shops, cafes and places of attractions.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for contributing this wonderful review
for other travellers considering The Eastern & Oriental Hotel for their forthcoming stays.

My team and I certainly look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.