We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week here and couldn't have picked a better hotel. After touring the island and comparing Georgetown to Batu Ferringhi, we knew we had chosen the right place (unless you're a beach person). Eastern & Oriental is conveniently located in Georgetown within walking distance to Little India, Red Garden Hawker Center, China Town, Clan Jetties and on and on. The staff at E&O were very friendly and professional. We stayed in the Victory Annex with a BEAUTIFUL view of the strait and the relaxing sound of the water. No traffic noise at all on this side of the building. The room was large, clean and offered not only hotel robes but also beautiful sarongs to wear. The breakfast area on the 6th floor faced the water with a nice selection for breakfast. The daily free cocktail hr from 5-7pm was great with delicious hors d'oevres, wine, and some hard liquor. This all faced the water and there was also a relaxing area to eat/drink by the beautiful infinity pool. Our hotel was an oasis in the city and we looked forward to coming back after a hot day of sight seeing. LOVED this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is our absolute pleasure to know that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel
during your recent stay with us and thank you for posting this review.

As you correctly mentioned, we are very fortunate to be located within walking distance
to the popular eateries, shopping areas, cafes and places of interests which many
guests find this beneficial and I am glad you found this the same.

It is always motivating for the staff to know that they could contribute to make a guest’s
stay remarkable. We are grateful for your appreciation of the room presentation along
with the amenities we have to offer as well as the complimentary cocktail and canapés
for our Victory Annexe guests, available daily from 5pm – 7pm at the Planters Lounge.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you
to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    876
    330
    110
    37
    19
See reviews for
270
692
64
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place was fantastic, there was nothing the staff could not do to help our stay be a great experience. The room was excellent, and we had plenty of room, and over looking the sea and coastline, although the TV was an old style one with poor reception. The pool was brilliant, could easily retire here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time and your stay with us was
a great experience. We value all feedbacks from our guests, and are pleased
to inform that we do have plans in store to upgrade the TVs.

Once again, thank you for enjoying your stay with us and taking the time to provide
us with this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As others have pointed out, there's a big difference between the good service levels at the old hotel (Heritage wing) and the disappointing service at the new hotel (Victory wing). I stayed at the Victory wing. It's an entirely separate hotel with some shared facilities - housed in a rather nondescript new-build tower building on top of a multi-storey car park.

The rooms are beautifully decorated but badly designed in detail:
- There are no lights for the mirrors in the bathroom so hard to see
- You have to put your suitcase in the wardrobe (in the bathroom) but the area is so narrow you can't get past the open doors
- You have to unplug the bedside light to charge a mobile phone
- There are no standard Malaysian/UK sockets by the desk so you can't plug in a laptop.
This is all a bit odd for a newly-designed hotel. The management are well-aware of the issues but have not taken steps to address them.

The bathroom cleaning was lacking - the mirrors and shower glass looked like they've never been cleaned since the building recently opened. The same in the lift lobbies.

Another concern - breakfast on the sixth floor of the Victory wing (Victory guests are not allowed to take breakfast in the original hotel) had temperature-sensitive food like sushi left out on the servery to stand without refrigeration or ice.

The big issue is with the service - in the new wing. Unlike in the original hotel, which still provides good service, the new wing is very 3* in service. The people on reception don't provide any helpful information, are not confident with guests and are not welcoming.

I missed breakfast on the first day because they gave me an incorrect closing time. There is no concierge (the desk is there - just no concierge). The new pool area had only 6 guests and 2 staff but you had to request towels and there was no poolside drinks service - order at the counter only. Fine for a 3*, but not for 5*.

The manager provided a complimentary car to the airport to compensate for the shortcomings but I would have preferred the service they advertised.

For the money the Victory wing is reasonable value and the decor is new and impressive (even if the rooms are impractical for guests). But to position the new hotel as 5 star is misleading and to badge it as the same hotel as the Heritage wing will ultimately damage the good standing of the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe better to choose older but more practical rooms in the Heritage wing than the 'bling'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the E&O for three weeks in June this year, it was our second stay at the hotel, the first being in 2009. We booked into the new Victory Wing and were a little concerned that the growth in size of the hotel might have removed some of the character and personal service. We needn't have worried, the hotel has managed to pull off a very rare combination of being a larger 5* hotel with service that makes you feel like 'one of the family'.

So regardless of the changes, the E&O remains a wonderful hotel and the facilities are magnificent, whether the Heritage Wing or the Victory Annexe, which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend. We loved our suite and the private balcony with its view of the Straits (amazing bathroom as well). The Planters Lounge and terrace, the infinity pool are all wonderfully luxurious, as were the facilities and the older pool in the Heritage Wing. The buffet facilities in Sarkies were superb and excellent value, and although we enjoyed eating at food courts and hawker stalls on the island, we both agreed the best food we had was in the hotel. The 1885 for afternoon tea and for dinner was wonderful, and among the best for fine dining.

But it was the staff who made it so very special for us. Everyone was so professional, friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, when the hotel 'ambassador' Edward introduced himself and showed us around (and always seemed to be there whenever we needed him), followed by a warm and friendly reception from the doormen and reception staff, to the catering and bar staff, the management, the cleaning staff. Everyone made us feel like VIPs and yet like friends and family at the same time.

Christopher, Izzy and the team in the Planters Lounge were all wonderful (thanks especially to Duminda and Divra for looking after us so well). The Planters Lounge surroundings and service are definitely 5* - we especially enjoyed the 'happy hour' drinks and canapes! It also provided a peaceful alternative to Sarkies for breakfast, whilst there is not so much selection, the selection is still as good as the vast majority of hotels, and the extra half hour of service until 11am was also welcome at times!

We would heartily recommend Sarkies, for quality, service and value we believe it takes some beating. The buffet food is wonderful, and Chefs Abdullah and Khalimoutu, despite being busy, always had time to cook us a little treat or recommend something from the buffet, and Normala and Zul were always on hand to ensure we had a good table. We would recommend a visit when Los Cantores are playing - we remembered them as 'The Strollers' from our previous visit and were delighted that they were still playing. The seafood and carvery nights are also well worth it. Although I notice some have complained about the price, I am not sure where in the UK one could enjoy fantastic food and service in a 5* hotel for £25-£30 per head

The 1885, whilst a little pricey, is worth it. The food is superb and the service is as good as any michelin starred front of house (better than some I'd say!). Desite us only visiting there a couple of times during the holiday Jeeva, Liza (a wonderful lady) and the rest of the team made us feel so special.

In Farquahar’s Bar Nini, Nora, Sherly and especially Emma were there to provide an oasis from the heat and humidity, it has a very welcoming 'local pub' feel which the staff clearly work hard to maintain.

I must admit, I don't understand how anyone could give the hotel a low score. We have stayed in many hotels, both on business and for pleasure and the E&O ranks amongst the absolute best.

In summary, if anyone reading this is left in any doubt, if you are going to Penang stay at the E&O! It is unquestionably 5* in surroundings, rooms, food and service and is in a fantastic position a very short walk from the centre of Georgetown, but also with amazing views over the Penang Straits. Thank you all at the E&O for a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Other than that all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us in
June 2013.

We are thrilled that your stay at our property was more of an experience than
just a holiday. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest standards of service
and are happy that this has translated into a wonderful stay for you and your husband.

It is our absolute pleasure to know that you made full use of all the facilities and
outlets available at the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences
in The 1885, Sarkies as well as the Planters Lounge. Guests can partake in a range of
dining experiences, The 1885 offers classical yet contemporary fine dining and our
Traditional English Afternoon Tea served in this elegant restaurant is something not to
be missed. Our team endeavour to make each guest feel as welcome and relaxed as
possible during their stay with us. We do appreciate your very kind comments and rest
assured that our team have been personally thanked for their exceptional service.

Our convenient location is constantly one aspect we get a lot of praise on and we
are glad you found this to be the same. The Hotel is ideally located within walking
distance to eateries, shops, cafes and places of attractions.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for contributing this wonderful review
for other travellers considering The Eastern & Oriental Hotel for their forthcoming stays.

My team and I certainly look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

superbe hotel manage with class and kindness, superbe vue over the sea, rooms in the old part are huge bright, same feeling as the old sofitel in hanoi, the new part is also very well done, excellent chic hotel, perfect location, cross all the box

Room Tip: choose the old section of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your
recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you found all aspects of the hotel to your expectation and
we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We would like to thank Denise who was so informative and enthusiastic about the hotel she took us around the old and the new parts of the hotel her knowledge was fantastic the Hotel has a wonderful and Informative employee
We can also recommend the afternoon teas fantastic not to be missed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you had a wonderful time at the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and
thank you for making special mention to the particular staff who had helped
make your stay even more enjoyable.

The Traditional English Afternoon Tea available at The 1885 is very popular, and
thank you for your recommendation of this.

It is our sincere hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A month before my check in to this hotel, i tried my luck approach the hotel request they assist me make over my room..Reason? i am going have married propose to my girl friend, giving her a surprise on our holiday break. The relevant personnel replied with yes they could help me on the plan.

Result ?? Look at the photo attached, it was so much lovely and perfectly decorated. My girl friend has get surprised and shocked a moment she open the door, at first sight she thought reception has assigned us a wrong unit, hesitated a moment, until i take out the flower and ring asking "would you married me?" she start to smile very sweetly.

i am not going to describe the room condition, the size, the cleanliness and bed and etc...one word i would say is PERFECT !! and nice sea breeze too.

The hotel has help us reserve a romantic find dining dinner at Restaurant 1885, ground floor to their heritage building. Although the food is little bit pricey, but the chef has make up a excellent best combination of selection, from a appetizer to a soup and the main course, by putting into our mouth you can feel the chef has make his best on preparing the great food. Very happy.

Infinity pool on 6th floor of new wing, quiet, relax and the wind would just blown your stress away.

Breakfast with lot of choice, from a Malaysian breakfast delicacies to an English style of bread toast, combine with great lavazza coffee, this is marvellous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so rewarding to hear that everything went perfect for you during your
recent stay with us on this very special occasion. Thank you for your
compliments and the photos you have uploaded with your review. We
are pleased to see that you were impressed with the special arrangement.

Your glowing comments on your satisfaction of the presentation of your
room, cleanliness and dining experience were so pleasing to read. We are
glad that we were able to make your stay special and memorable.

We thank you for your patronage and hope that you will visit us again soon.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.