We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream comes True” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Thalang District, Thailand
1 review
“Dream comes True”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

longing to have a holiday in the beautiful island in Malaysia - Penang. Heard so much about the city, people and culture. Finally, my dream comes true having to get a surprise from my dad. And, we are staying at one of the most historical hotels in Penang, Eastern & Oriental Hotel.

We stayed for 4 nights and the trip was fantastic, especially the room which was so spacious and we could literally playing hide and seek. The peak of the event non the less on the superb breakfast we had at the coffeehouse. We enjoyed so much!

Thanks for the wonderful service rendered for me and my family and we definitely will be returning in near future and recommending it to our friends.

Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EOHPenang, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such a generous review and I was pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation experience, superb breakfast and the service met with your expectations.

I am also delighted to know that you would be planning a return and recommend this hotel to your
friends. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    362
    118
    40
    19
See reviews for
305
758
68
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just had a week at the E & O , our second visit, which confirmed our view of the E & O as one of the world's best heritage hotels. We stayed in a Writers Suite in the original section. The recreation of the Victory wing had just opened and it does complement the original design really well. Recreations can be nice, and this one is, but fans of heritage, who know that history is in the walls , will understand that the original is the best. The service is excellent - the turn down service at night is really in mini service replacing towels etc so you get two services a day. Breakfast is superb, with an incredible array of choices, including great local dishes cooked to order. It is an elegant place, with a sedate pace , the staff respond to a smile and friendly appreciation of their efforts and the occasional critics of E & O service might reflect on their attitudes and expectations in that regard. The criticisms of the E & O seem to come mainly from people with children and they are justified to this extent : the E & O doesn't have attractions for children and the lack of a kids playground might send a message. The pool is sedate , but delightful, and the guests there will be relieved when the kids go. If you are looking for a resort where kids can have fun go to one of the many excellent ones at Batu Ferrenghi, just 20 minutes cab ride away. The fine dining at "1885" is indeed fine, and the wine list modest but, again, elegant. The E & O is not cheap, but it is excellent value. Stay for your entire visit to Penang if you can. If you can't treat yourself to a night of two. Either way you will experience excellence not commonly found.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. All guest feedback is much valued. I was pleased to know that you were impressed with the hotel and consider us as one of the best ‘Heritage Hotel’. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our service excellent. I will gladly share your comments with them.

I will also be happy to share your feedback with the Executive Chef about the superb breakfast and it’s lovely to know that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotels.

I acknowledge your comment in regards to kids playground/ children’s attractions and we will definitely look into this.

Thank you once again for your input and I do hope you would be planning a return soon. My team and I remain at your service.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Beautiful old hotel, with a lobby that transports you back to a different time with a service and ambience to match.
We stayed just prior to the Victory wing being opened. The room in the old wing was the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in, with the bathroom almost as large as most other hotel rooms.
We liked everything about the hotel and would recommend it to anyone intending to stay in or explore Georgetown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your appreciation
of our hotel and that you would recommend to other guests.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we certainly look forward to seeing you soon
in the near future.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights here last week and loved it. We had spent two nights at the G Hotel and while the G was a decent business hotel, this place was wonderful. We stayed in the Victory Annex and while we weren't sure if we should stay in the Annex or the old part of the hotel we were not disappointed in our choice. They have done an excellent job in keeping the heritage of the hotel in the Annex, plus with added bonus of multiple locations for breakfast, all day tea and coffee in the Planter's Lounge, and 5-7PM Happy Hour in our very reasonable rate it was hard to pass up.

The rooms are large, well-appointed and tastefully decorated. I believe all rooms face the straits, at least ours did. There is still some latent construction going on, but it did not bother us.

The pool is on the 6th floor and is much nicer than the heritage wing.

Happy Hour rocks with lots of alcohol and some nice finger foods.

We took our breakfast each day in the Sarkies restaurant and it had a nice selection, cooked to order eggs, waffles, pancakes, roti, char kway teow, etc.

Service was good throughout, though coffee could be replenished faster, but that is just my coffee addiction speaking.

Very relaxed and stately ambiance in a good location with easy access to all Georgetown has to offer.

All-in-all, a great stay and would definitely do again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you and your wife had enjoyed our new Victory Annexe
experience especially the room, pool, breakfast & 'Cocktail Hour' at Planters Lounge.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for the compliments on the
services and facilities and we look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the original wing and had a beautiful suite (55m2) with a small balcony over the pool. The bathroom was large with a nice bath and his and hers basins. Overall the room really respected the age and style of the hotel which was why we had chosen to stay in the hotel. There are new rooms which are of a similar style in the new part of the hotel but go with the old if you can. Great!
The hotel has two pools but we stayed around the one at our end which we were told was not as good as the one in the new end but we were very happy.
The only real down-side of the stay was the service at the pool and the bar. We enjoyed the bar but the service was slow and the staff not well trained.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted by the new hotel. The old end is beautifully maintained and the rooms to a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the last two nights of our Penang stay and what a wonderful treat it was. The staff were incredible, they went out of their way to help us at every chance. It was lovely to come back and be greeted at the door after a hot day exploring the town. the rooms are very clean and well decorated. The bathroom was fantastic and loved the huge walk in shower.

Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice, it was particularly nice to have breakfast out on the terrace.

It was a great base to explore the town with Chinatown and little India very close by as well as the excellent Chong fat tze mansion.

This is a great place to stay and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Myself, husband and daughter stayed here for 3 nights, during our tour of Malaysia, we were really looking forward to staying at this hotel, but left feeling disappointed. The hotel is lovely in a great location for exploring georgetown, the new wing has just opened, but we stayed in the old part, the heritage wing. The room was nice, but the lounge area was lost to my daughters extra bed. They have some nice touches like iced water by the pool and cold towels, cocktail on arrival but it just had no atmosphere and was almost sterile.
Around the pool we found ourselves whispering, my daughter was afraid to splash around and it was really obvious who the 'regulars' were as they got preferential treatment which really bugged me as we all pay the same to stay their.
Also the service in the restaurant wasn't up to much often waiting for 10 minutes for the coffee, our last morning I ordered poached eggs and after 10 min I asked if they had been done as we were in rush he said they were being done then after another 10 mins, pancakes showed up! However breakfast was a good spread.
The drinks around the pool were very expensive, we took our own one day and got dirty looks.
If I returned to Penang I would not return to this hotel, in my opinion this hotel is too expensive and up itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.