We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the original wing and had a beautiful suite (55m2) with a small balcony over the pool. The bathroom was large with a nice bath and his and hers basins. Overall the room really respected the age and style of the hotel which was why we had chosen to stay in the hotel. There are new rooms which are of a similar style in the new part of the hotel but go with the old if you can. Great!
The hotel has two pools but we stayed around the one at our end which we were told was not as good as the one in the new end but we were very happy.
The only real down-side of the stay was the service at the pool and the bar. We enjoyed the bar but the service was slow and the staff not well trained.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted by the new hotel. The old end is beautifully maintained and the rooms to a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    352
    115
    38
    19
See reviews for
295
733
67
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the last two nights of our Penang stay and what a wonderful treat it was. The staff were incredible, they went out of their way to help us at every chance. It was lovely to come back and be greeted at the door after a hot day exploring the town. the rooms are very clean and well decorated. The bathroom was fantastic and loved the huge walk in shower.

Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice, it was particularly nice to have breakfast out on the terrace.

It was a great base to explore the town with Chinatown and little India very close by as well as the excellent Chong fat tze mansion.

This is a great place to stay and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Myself, husband and daughter stayed here for 3 nights, during our tour of Malaysia, we were really looking forward to staying at this hotel, but left feeling disappointed. The hotel is lovely in a great location for exploring georgetown, the new wing has just opened, but we stayed in the old part, the heritage wing. The room was nice, but the lounge area was lost to my daughters extra bed. They have some nice touches like iced water by the pool and cold towels, cocktail on arrival but it just had no atmosphere and was almost sterile.
Around the pool we found ourselves whispering, my daughter was afraid to splash around and it was really obvious who the 'regulars' were as they got preferential treatment which really bugged me as we all pay the same to stay their.
Also the service in the restaurant wasn't up to much often waiting for 10 minutes for the coffee, our last morning I ordered poached eggs and after 10 min I asked if they had been done as we were in rush he said they were being done then after another 10 mins, pancakes showed up! However breakfast was a good spread.
The drinks around the pool were very expensive, we took our own one day and got dirty looks.
If I returned to Penang I would not return to this hotel, in my opinion this hotel is too expensive and up itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fine Staff, Fine Dining, Wonderful accommodation, Great Service. Only one slight issue, screaming kids at lovely pool on 6th floor.
Overall the Hotel is set in beautiful grounds, overlooking Penang Bay, Butterworth , Tanjong Bunga and Georgetown.
Parking is not an issue.
Front office Staff are exemplary
F& B services amongst the best I have experienced anywhere in the world

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The room is very nice and quite large with beautiful ocean view. The location is good and near to many attractive place in George town. We had a classy dinner in "1885 restaurant" which is in this hotel area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Popularly known as the E&O, this gorgeous old hotel has been there since the British were ensconced in what was once Malaya. it was home to planters and all the well heeled travellers who passed through this exchanging island. It fronts the sea, and has what was once "the longest sea wall in the East" and still you can sit by the wall watching passing sampans and ships. Rooms are large, and the best have balconies looking out over the pool and the sea. While service could probably be improved, the location and ambience cannot be beat. It is located just at the edge of Georgetown, the most colourful part of the island, and home to numerous restaurants, both modern and traditional Chinese, Indian and more. If you cant stay, at least go for a meal or a sunset cocktail. you will be delighted.

Room Tip: if your budget allows, choose a sea facing room with a balcony. They are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

E&O is a well kept old classic. The grounds were perfectly kept; the location was convenient to wal around town, and it's also close to the free shuttle stop. We stayed on the recently opened, new Victoria Annex side. It held the classic charm with brand new modern furnishings. I really enjoyed the photos the decorated the halls.

The room was of decent size, and it has a balcony that overlooks the pool on the sixth floor. The pool was nicely shaded in the afternoon which was perfect after a walk around town (it's hot!).

The stay also came with breakfast and lounge happy hour. The breakfast a Sarkie's was great. They even served freshly pressed fruit/veggie juices.

The best part of the stay was the service. Each servicing staff was nice and helpful. We ended up spending many hours at the property (which is rare for me).

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. It think we have the smallest room with only partial ocean view (and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.