We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in the E&O and, having read a lot of the reviews on trip advisor, we were expecting it to be a fabulous hotel but let down by staff who were not very well trained and were slow, especially in the dining areas. We have been pleasantly surprised to find the staff to be excellent, especially in the large and busy breakfast area. The staff are, like the people of Penang, extremely friendly, pleasant and helpful. In fact, we can't speak highly enough of every member of staff we have come across, from the people who work in the restaurants to the ones who look after the pool and the rooms. They are just so cheerful and friendly. Also, previous reviews said the guests were largely over 70. Where we have found some truth in this, however, we have to say that they appear to be a pretty lively group who knock us into shape with their poolside drinks and hilarious conversations that you occasionally catch if the wind is blowing in the right direction!! Actually we found quite an age range, with the weekend bringing families with young children, and groups of people in their 20's. We have travelled a great deal over the years and overall we would have to say that this is the nicest hotel that we have ever stayed in. Definitely worth getting a room with a sea view. And we love Penang - loads of great places to eat and drink.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    435
    145
    43
    23
See reviews for
371
927
83
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms in the VicoryAnnexe are great . If you want a quiet breakfast go to 6th Floor Lounge rather than Sarkies!!! Will be even better when fully complete but no issues you see even though still more work being carried out and shops not ready
Internet works well everywhere and is complimentary, why cannot all hotels do this. Worth a stay but I expect price will go up when completed. Currently high quality at a bargain

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March and was very disappointed for the price paid. Parts of the hotel have a calm colonial charm, it is clean and well maintained, although there were building works going on the new wing (a tower block on top of a multi storey car park). The buffet breakfast was decent but not exceptional, and let down by digger noise and retaining girders for the new block being moved next to the restaurant terrace.

Our room, a Georgetown suite, was huge and the bathroom was great. Furnishing a little tired, very hard bed even by Asian hotel standards, and a television that was coming up for its 20th birthday. The Nescafé and basic tea in the tea tray was not very 5 star, there was no in room iron, and the entrance door needed a shoulder charge to open it. Despite requesting a quiet room several weeks in advance our room overlooked the entrance courtyard (every corner of which is used as a car park), and was next to a busy road and opposite much of Georgetown's nightlife. A combination of thumping bass throughout the night from "Slippery Senoritas", coming and going of taxis, and constant traffic, didn't make for a good night's sleep even with the earplugs suggested by the unhelpful front desk.

The location at least means lots of good and reasonably priced food options are nearby, so you can avoid the sub zero temperatures and exorbitant prices of the hotel bar or bistro. The pool area is pleasant but some mosquito control would have been welcome as they are absolutely rife round the pool. The business centre was limited and the printer didn't work.

Frustrating I lost my sunglasses in the hotel. I emailed the duty manager after check out to ask if they had been found, but not a peep in response - an acknowledgement would have been nice.

Overrated and overpriced, and I suspect its charm may be lost once the tower block wing opens.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms must be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

the victory annex opened mid March so was one of the first guest..notwithstanding its a new building it still has the ambience of the old wide corridors high ceilings and spacial rooms with balcony and view of the sea
arrived on a early flight from singapore Ming-y on front desk couldn't do enough to make me comfortable until my room was ready
The partly outdoor pool on the 6th floor appears to merge into the sea
The planters room from 5.00to7.00 pm was amazing discovery free spirits , quality wines and canapés and cheeses
Starkies buffet was a treat cheap and a large variety of local good no need to go out onto the street to try local food
All in all a great experience

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

On March 14th, the new, larger, wing of the hotel opened. My wife and I stayed there 3 nights this week and here is a quick review. Not all of the 122 suites are ready at this time. The check in for the Annexe is in its own building, not in the regular entrance area. Access to elevator and rooms is by a credit card device so make sure you always have it with you. The pool is on the 6th floor and gets covered by shade around 3pm with a nice breeze up there. Gym has great machines but not being used yet. Breakfast buffet for all hotel guests is now in this building at Sarkies..excellent choices and several cooking stations. The new rooms have many light switches and controls which can be problematic. The ground floor shops are not open in the Annexe yet. Bed was very comfortable. From 6 to 7pm, in the 6th floor Drawing Room, they have free beer/wine/cocktails and light food..we had drinks then had dinner there outside with great service from Elangovern and Nanthiney. Can not gie this Hotel a 5 star simply because it just needs a bit of time to be fully open. The staff in every aspect is already 5 star!

Room Tip: get a room as high up as possible for the breeze and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have booked 3 day 2 nights stay at E&O Hotel for a short break in Penang.

The location at Georgetown was convenient to visit the "Blue Mansion" or Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion and the Penang State Museum & Gallery and also the heritage walk if you can bear with the heat.

The room is spacious and the bedding are comfortable as many pillows are provided. Wi-fi is complimentary throughout the hotel, hence, it is an added plus. The staff who check-in for us was very helpful and friendly.

My kids and I loved the breakfast spread at E&O hotel. It has western, local (Nasi Lemak), Chinese ( Dim Sum for breakfast on sunday) and even fresh fruit juice. You can sit on the inside or outside, which you can have a nice view of the sea.

There is also a shuttle bus that brings hotel guest to Lone Pine Hotel, located at Batu Ferringgi and Quay Side, a shopping complex. That would save you taxi fare as most taxi fare in Penang are not run on meter, but charge based on a fixed rate.

If I ever visit Penang again, I will definitely choose E&O Hotel as my first choice.

Room Tip: There is a new extension added to E&O hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The E&O is a truly beautiful piece of Georgetown history. I had been very much looking forward to staying at this hotel after seeing the amazing photographs of it online.

First impressions were incredibly positive - the check in experience was flawless, greeted the door with delicious welcome cocktails, led up to our upgraded seaview room. The view is incredible, truly beautiful room too, with period appropriate furnishings. The only flaw really is the small fitness room - there is only one treadmill, and the equipment is really outdated. The bar is lovely, and if you can, get a peek into the ballroom - beautiful. The concierge desk are unfailingly helpful too.

We did have a major issue though when trying to access room service. We wanted to order a bottle of wine - 5 lengthy (hung on the line for at least 5 minutes) phone calls later, and two callbacks from the butler service, before someone finally came up to the room. For a place that prides itself on service, 40 minutes to attempt to order a bottle of wine was pretty average.

Apart from that - very beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.