We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the great experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in George Town
Norwich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the great experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed two nights to celebrate a special wedding anniversary. The hotel knew this but we were amazed when ushered to our room to find a large sheet of paper on the bed with a heart outlined in rose petals and two roses for my husband to present to me. And furthermore on the next day, the actual anniversary, we were telephoned in the afternoon on our return to the room to say a "parcel" was on its way up. This turned out to be 5 of the staff with a plate with two pieces of cake and a greeting in chocolate icing which we held while they sang "You are the only one for me"!!
The only criitcism of the suite (sitting area with sofa, desk etc opening on to bedroom then large luxury bathroom with bath, shower , his and her wash basins...) was that we could not get the room temperature sufficiently high for comfort in the day time- whatever we did it was too cold so we opened the window if there in day time. We did mention this to the desk but although we think someone came to the room in our absence it was clearly not possible to do anything. The bed was vast, but mattress on the hard side. The pool and sitting area with comfortable recliners and large parasols on the terrace by the sea is superb. So is breakfast. But we suspect that when the rest of the building,including an enormous tower block, is completed the place will seem too crowded - unless it is the plan to have separate pool and breakfast areas for the newer part. Breakfast from a fantastic choice sitting under a canopy outside was an experience to remember for ever. The location is good for walking into China Twon and Little India. There is a food hawker market quite near - so no need to pay large sums for hotel dinners. The staff anticipate one's every wish and need and are charming.This is undoubtedly one of the great hotels of the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    371
    122
    41
    19
See reviews for
313
781
70
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bridgetown, Exmoor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just lovely to find the E&O in Penang. Excellent breakfast. Big room with sea view, bathroom had his and hers sides (so mine was tidy!). The red garden food hall across the road was great - you choose your dishes from the surrounding stalls and give them a table number and they trot along with their stuff and collect their cash - at £2 a course -yum! Only downside was the Coel birds in the tree outside our room -diurnal and active at 5am!
Arrived by bus from KL (60 ringgit each -can do cheaper) that terminates in a backwater bus station some 25 ringgit set fee to E&O in a crappyish old taxi. Airport transfer from E&O was 57 ringgit in a posh taxi (only 30 mins but traffic was good).
Weather this feb was torrential rain every night - so be prepared!

Room Tip: Think all rooms had a sea view. A few have balconies. Very well supplied and replaced - one addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My sister & I stayed at the E&O in January this year and had the best stay ever. We were in a premier double room overlooking the sea. The room was so nice. My sister is a smoker so she had her own private balcony to smoke which was good for me as I am a non-smoker. We also had are own sinks - so good for 2 girls. We loved all the staff - they were so friendly, helpful and respectful. We spent most afternoons having a quiet cocktail in Sarkies - the staff treat you so well. We tried the afternoon tea at the restaurant which was a special experience.
We recommend Paul for Taxis rides - he is honest and so helpful. We wished we'd asked him originally to take us places as we know we would have had a better experience. He knows so much. Breakfasts were amazing - so much choice and it wasn't too crowded when getting our meal. We will be going back so thanks E&O for making our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: One with balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just spent 5 days at the hotel. We have stayed there many times while we were in Penang. A few visits ago they disappointed us with both service and f&b quality. This time around, we found that they have taken our comments and complaints to work and have revised their food menu and improved their service tremendously.
Their food menu, although seem limited was open to cooking meals that were not in the menu. However, they do not have a kids menu and I found that lacking. They seem to have a lot of families staying in the hotels and the hotel should make some adjustments to make the little ones feel welcome. Perhaps a small play area in the hotel or an outdoor play slide next to the pool garden.
Apart from that it was a good stay in the E&O. They are slowly getting their old charm back and with the new wing coming up soon, they will need to continually improve.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is always a good pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of my favourite hotels. We had visited before just for lunch when we were on a cruise and decided that we must return as we loved it so much. This time we stayed for 6 nights and had a really lovely room with lounge area overlooking the sea, a beautiful view to wake up to every morning.
Our room was kept beautifully for us and we were provided with a different selection of fresh fruit every day.
All the staff, on the door, reception, restaurant and bar were excellent, extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt valued as customers and never had any cause for complaint.
I really enjoyed our afternoons by the pool, we were always immediately given towels and a glass of iced water when we were arrived and were able to easily order drinks and food also.
We had the Buffett breakfast every day, wonderful choice of fresh fruit and huge selection of foods to appeal to all nationalities, local delicacies such as delicious home made roti and curry, Japanese food, English and American, really fantastic choice, we loved it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and looking forward to going again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My daughter and I had a suite overlooking the pool area and the sea, with large bedroom, smaller but adequate lounge and large bathroom with double sinks, etc. Biggest accolade goes to the staff, who were welcoming, friendly and could not do enough to please. Breakfast so abundant with everything you could wish for - and if they didn't have it on show, such as fresh mango one day, they went to get it for you. Loved our stay, hope to return one day to Penang, and this will be the place we will make our home. Great location, in walking distance of all major sights in Georgetown, and the shuttle to the beach hotel (Lone Pines) at Batu was a bonus (this was also a great place to go for the day, nice poolside lunch, stay for the night market).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great hotel in the same style of the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok and The Sofitel in Hanoi. Lots of charm, great location to all the amazing street food vendors and historical sites. We had a room in the wing close to the Banquet Hall and it was impossible to sleep. The hotel was kind enough to move us quickly without any fuss. So inform them before you do not wish to be in that wing. Breakfast is charming by the veranda but the food is just alright. The hotel seriously needs an update. The toilets could not be flushed properly and they are still giving Nescafe sachets for your morning coffee. Seriously - this is 2013 and to promote itself as a 5 star hotel, they need to move up a notch.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the wing away from the Function hall. if not, you will be bothered by music til...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.