We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We absolutely loved this place! It's a very classy but not overly pretentious hotel with huge, comfortable rooms. It's well located for touring around town on foot. The restaurants were nice with very good food. The afternoon tea was nice and didn't require dressing up for which was unexpected but totally fine with us. The wifi worked well in the room with very good speed (I had to download some things and there was no problem with this at all).

Room Tip: The traditional rooms in the main building (not the annex) are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    380
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
320
796
72
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived in the early hours of Chinese New Year, after an eventful and much delayed rail trip from Melaka, train ahead derailed and ours ran out of fuel. Arriving at the E&O was an almost unbelievable contrast. A warm welcome, cool towel, a welcoming drink, cool, calm and oh so professional, with all the new year fire crackers going off around us.

This has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed in, even when something went wrong - the lock to our room got stuck, we were ushered into the bar, it was made clear the hotel would pick up the bill and when it went on a little longer than they had anticipated the same arrangement was made for lunch.

Norman, at the concierge was amazing with his knowledge and helpfulness, unlike some places that are trying to be something they are not, this hotel is the real thing and it does its thing magnifncently. We would go bak to Penang, just to stay at the E&O.

Room Tip: The other rooms may be good, but they would have to be very good to better the sea view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay at the E&O recently whilst on a business trip to Penang. From the minute you enter the lobby you know you are going to be staying somewhere special.
I was lucky enough to have a room with a small balcony and a view over the pool and straight out to the malacca straits. My room had two oversized singles which were extremely comfy along with a lounge area and a rather majestic bathroom with his and hers vanity units!
Breakfast is delightful with choices ranging from pain au chocolate to sushi!
The Malaysians are extremely gracious people and there is no end to their excitement when discussing local culinary offerings! Of which there are many to taste.
I highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure travel as there's nothing nicer than sitting by the pool at the end of a busy day enjoying a cocktail or two!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Definitely the hotel to stay in when visiting Georgetown, sea view rooms are fantastic, the pool is too die for after a hot day of sightseeing. We were greeted with cool towels and a juice on our arrival, before being personally escorted to our suite with separate living room. Pricey for Malaysia but definitely worth the money

Room Tip: Take the sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Once you enter the hotel, the whole feel transport you back to colonial times with an understated luxury feel. The room is more than spacious, I would call it large , with separate sleeping and living area. Be sure to splurge on a sea view room, you will not regret it. The windows open up to a 360degree sea view which is spectacular. If you go for breakfast, take the outdoor route to absorb the grandeur of the hotel. I like the little touches they leave around the areas like upholstered sofas on lift landing, they even kept a old lift for show with grilles and all.
Well-kept, little gem in the city! I would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My in-laws, who are historical junkies, recommended the E&O to my wife and I for our trip to Penang. I was a little hesitant to stay in a colonial hotel over one of the more modern hotels in Penang, but that feeling evaporated as soon as we walked through the doors into the spacious, majestic lobby and were treated to a magical experience.

The service is simply excellent. Everyone, from room service to the concierge wants to help you out, and they all do it with grace and charm.

Our suite (#011) was amazing. Located right on the ground floor, it afforded us a spectacular view of the Malacca Strait and the opportunity to stroll out onto the grounds whenever we pleased. Inside we were just as impressed. My wife took pictures of the room, she was so taken with it.

Breakfast (which was included) was breathtaking. Yes, I'm using the word breathtaking to describe breakfast. The options are endless, from asian to western. Care for morning sushi? No problem. How about pain au chocolat? Done. Oh, you'd like an omelette? They'll make it for you right now. I think you get my drift.

The only down side about the hotel is that after breakfast, their restaurant menu, while still good (and good value) is limited. So, for a town known its cuisine, you'll probably find yourself eating out rather than in most nights.

Can't say enough good things about the E&O. If we ever go back to Penang, the E&O will be the reason.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We haven't yet stayed at the historic E & O but if the lovely 'water's edge' lunch we had there is anything to go by, it must be a wonderful experience. The service was in a word, sensational, and the quality and presentation of the food, equally good.
It's a wonderful location, just far enough away from the noise and smells of the pier area, and it's been beautifully maintained. In fact, if you apply just a little imagination, you'll be taken back 100 years.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.