We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best business trip ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best business trip ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay at the E&O recently whilst on a business trip to Penang. From the minute you enter the lobby you know you are going to be staying somewhere special.
I was lucky enough to have a room with a small balcony and a view over the pool and straight out to the malacca straits. My room had two oversized singles which were extremely comfy along with a lounge area and a rather majestic bathroom with his and hers vanity units!
Breakfast is delightful with choices ranging from pain au chocolate to sushi!
The Malaysians are extremely gracious people and there is no end to their excitement when discussing local culinary offerings! Of which there are many to taste.
I highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure travel as there's nothing nicer than sitting by the pool at the end of a busy day enjoying a cocktail or two!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    848
    322
    109
    37
    19
See reviews for
261
675
63
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OZ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Definitely the hotel to stay in when visiting Georgetown, sea view rooms are fantastic, the pool is too die for after a hot day of sightseeing. We were greeted with cool towels and a juice on our arrival, before being personally escorted to our suite with separate living room. Pricey for Malaysia but definitely worth the money

Room Tip: Take the sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Once you enter the hotel, the whole feel transport you back to colonial times with an understated luxury feel. The room is more than spacious, I would call it large , with separate sleeping and living area. Be sure to splurge on a sea view room, you will not regret it. The windows open up to a 360degree sea view which is spectacular. If you go for breakfast, take the outdoor route to absorb the grandeur of the hotel. I like the little touches they leave around the areas like upholstered sofas on lift landing, they even kept a old lift for show with grilles and all.
Well-kept, little gem in the city! I would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My in-laws, who are historical junkies, recommended the E&O to my wife and I for our trip to Penang. I was a little hesitant to stay in a colonial hotel over one of the more modern hotels in Penang, but that feeling evaporated as soon as we walked through the doors into the spacious, majestic lobby and were treated to a magical experience.

The service is simply excellent. Everyone, from room service to the concierge wants to help you out, and they all do it with grace and charm.

Our suite (#011) was amazing. Located right on the ground floor, it afforded us a spectacular view of the Malacca Strait and the opportunity to stroll out onto the grounds whenever we pleased. Inside we were just as impressed. My wife took pictures of the room, she was so taken with it.

Breakfast (which was included) was breathtaking. Yes, I'm using the word breathtaking to describe breakfast. The options are endless, from asian to western. Care for morning sushi? No problem. How about pain au chocolat? Done. Oh, you'd like an omelette? They'll make it for you right now. I think you get my drift.

The only down side about the hotel is that after breakfast, their restaurant menu, while still good (and good value) is limited. So, for a town known its cuisine, you'll probably find yourself eating out rather than in most nights.

Can't say enough good things about the E&O. If we ever go back to Penang, the E&O will be the reason.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We haven't yet stayed at the historic E & O but if the lovely 'water's edge' lunch we had there is anything to go by, it must be a wonderful experience. The service was in a word, sensational, and the quality and presentation of the food, equally good.
It's a wonderful location, just far enough away from the noise and smells of the pier area, and it's been beautifully maintained. In fact, if you apply just a little imagination, you'll be taken back 100 years.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at the historic E&O Penang for a weekend in Dec. Booked it via Booking.com and got a better deal than the direct hotel website. Since we arrived at the hotel early, the staff informed us that the room would take another 2 hours but were immediately given a mocktail and cold towels.

Taking advantage that the room was not ready, we explored the immediate neighborhood which is the historic Georgetown. We quickly realized that the hotel was 5-10 minutes brisk walk from the major attractions of Georgetown.

The suite we got (E&O is all suite hotel) was sea and pool facing on the top floor of the hotel. Spacious, bright and well appointed. The bed was super king size and so was the bathroom. The living has a sofa, a study and an outdated CRT television which was the only sore point in the room (no tv in the bedroom was the other). Free wifi was a plus.

Breakfast was varied and delicious. The staff courteous and attentive.

The hotel is well maintained and very historic. I would definately recommend a drink at the bar for the ambience and a rewind back to the last century. The hotel preserves an era long gone by well.

Would highly recommend this hotel to someone who wants to live in style and be close to Georgetown.

Room Tip: Have a drink at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had stayed at the sister property of the Eastern and Oriental Hotel, the Lone Pine Hotel in Batu Ferringhi and were looking forward to our stay in Georgetown at the E & O. From the welcome drink and cool cloth to the butler service, this hotel is classy and top-notch. We loved our room overlooking the sea, with a separate sitting area and separate sinks in the sumptuous bathroom. The breakfast buffet was quite excellent with great variety. We will definitely come back to the Eastern & Oriental Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.