We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quality Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Hertford UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Quality Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent five nights at the E&O and it proved to be an excellent base for exploring Georgetown. Our room was huge (with two televisions!) a comfortable bed, separate seating area, and great view over the Straits of Malacca, and a large bathroom with his n hers wash hand basins. The room could have benefited from from some more lively decoration, and the noise from the corridor air con took a bit of getting used to.

The hotel itself occupies a relatively narrow and long plot overlooking the sea which creates some problems, so one has to walk some distance to get to the restaurant serving breakfast - although the breakfast area itself is very pleasant - as is the breakfast. The pool area was somewhat restricted; and we were amazed that the main access to the pool was via the bar. The bar itself was relatively small for such a prestige hotel.

Notwithstanding these criticisms we enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was very good, with staff who were consistently excellent, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    417
    144
    43
    22
See reviews for
364
901
80
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It lives up to all your expectations for the grandeur of the past. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the ocean, which was tranquil and wonderful area to relax from the bustle of Penang. The staff were excellent going out of their way to be helpful with information and suggestions for visits to restaurants etc Suptuous breakfasts overlooking the harbour were very special. I will return ...

Room Tip: The bathrooms are spectacular with two basins, bath and large shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
577 helpful votes 577 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We tried really hard to get a booking for this hotel and because it was New Years we were unsuccessful, they were fully booked out. So, we did the next best thing and hung out there. Located right on the waterfront, this hotel has location in spades full. The staff have captured the feel of the old British Colonial times and style and are dressed thus-wise. Bombay Bloomers abound, there is wall to wall khaki and topees. From the moment you arrive there is an invitation to join the theatre that is also what this hotel is about.The interiors are lushly colonial and every nook and cranny of the public areas reveal something from a bygone era. There is a souvenir shop with a very energetic and engaging lady behind the counter. She will happily exchange repartee whether you buy a silk scarf or not. There is a great "Pub" on the ground floor that drips with atmosphere. The meet and greet at the front door is suitably colonial and terribly stiff upper lip-ish. They can handle the guests who arrive in limousines with suitable aplomb. Although we couldn't get a room, we could take High Tea, one of the many things for which this hotel is famous. I think they do cucumber sandwiches second to none. Because High Tea is one of their afternoon features, once again their tea rooms were full. However, we found that sitting outside overlooking the extraordinarily mirror smooth waters of the Straits and cooled by the gentle cool breeze on the day, was more than a happy outcome. Next time we will book well ahead for this very popular hotel.

Room Tip: Book well ahead to even get a room, any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had 4 nights in January 2013. Everyone was charming, helpful, enthusiastic. We love that colonial style with the updated benefits. There is a shuttle service to their sister hotel at the Batu Ferrengi beach. We found breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea very charming indeed. Rooms are all suites so all very large.

Room Tip: Some rooms are brighter than others depending on floor, size of window and whether a palm tree is ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is currently developing a major extension which is nearing completion. We stayed in the old section where the rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent although the coffee/tea service was a bit slow at times.The hotel is excellently located with all of the historic area of Georgetown within walking distance. It is very close to the night life and eating areas. For us, the high point of the hotel was the staff who were extremely pleasant and very obliging (even on one occasion dropping us to a restaurant in the hotel bar when no taxi was available). If we came back, we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a touch of something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed there New Years Day for 4 nights. A lovely old world hotel complete with all the trappings of an old style hotel. Immense bathroom and ample space for everything and anything. Highly recommended for those yearning to stay at the Raffles in Singapore but can't justify the price tag. Pool is lovely and gym is not new but well equipped. Breakfasts included in the price - an extensive selection of local and international food. Hotel has an arrangement with their sister property, the Lone Pine on the beach in Batu Ferringhi, so take advantage of the free shuttle there and back to enjoy the pool/beach at the famous lone pine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: keep the windows closed if u want the air conditioning to work properly.. also to keep out the mosqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at E&O hotel, nice colonial style but final touch of 5 star experience was missing. Would have rated it at 4 but the breakfast buffet experience caused the downgrading.
We had to leave early on our last day and we went to breakfast at 6.30am when the restaurant opened. Only half of the buffet was ready at this time. We have had to order everything, and several times. At 7.15 am the buffet was still not up&runnig, for example juices were missing, there was nothing to drink etc. In addition, there was only one waitress serving all guests.
We have travelled in Asia a lot and seen many hotels. I think we have a realistic view of what to expect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.