We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience - we loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
London
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“A Great Experience - we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked this last minute for a three night stay in the run up to New Years. It was a great experience and good value.

The hotel is impressive - both in it's heritage and crucially the way it's preserved and maintained.

Our room was larger than I expected, 2nd floor, large bathroom with black 'n' white tiled floor and a view of the pool. Large safe, comfy beds - we slept really well. The separate sitting area with sofa was ideal for relaxing and watching TV.

Breakfast is superb - the best on our two week trip to Thailand, Singapore & Malaysia. Really good selection of fruit (inc yellow watermelon) and an unusual selection of savouries. The best was fresh roti canai with dhal - for anyone who like curry this is a real treat.

The bar was a mixed experience - one night a gloomy Indian barman, no snacks & no smile and then the next night a friendly Malaysia lady, bar snacks (Malaysian peanuts are out of this world, a bit like pistachios are amazing in Turkey) and frothy, delicious Tiger on tap. Their cocktails are only so-so.

The beef rendang and chicken capitan fo room service or the bar were the best we had in Malaysia - simply delicious.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Georgetown itself is OK, the food is not as good as it's purported to be and Penang Hill is decent day trip with a nice view. However, the best thing was just hanging out by the pool and soaking in the atmosphere of the hotel.

It was a really nice stay in a genuinely historic and well run hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    355
    115
    39
    19
See reviews for
297
735
67
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was love at first sight when we pulled up in our taxi to the E&O - how beautiful!!
The service is really second to none - everyone was EXTREMELY helpful and I couldn't fault them on this even if I tried to be picky!!!
The location is pretty good for this hotel - just on the outskirts of the old town - so it is a bit of a sanctuary. We spent HOURS roaming the streets so the E&O's pool was a fantastic place to relax late afternoon before we ventured out again for dinner!
The biggest complaint about the E&O is the beds - they are AWFUL! My husband and I didn't sleep a single wink the first night. They are SO HARD. We complained the next day, and asked to be changed rooms, but were told all the beds were like that, but they would do their best to help us. In the end they added a few blankets underneath the fitted sheet. In their defense it WAS the best they could do. But to be honest, if we had had any more time there - we would have unfortunately been forced to change hotels. What a shame because this place is fantastic otherwise!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there for 2 weeks in January 2013. We had stayed here before some 20 years ago bit it has only gotten better. Great service and staff. The breakfast was absolutely phenomenal with so many choices. The pool assistants were great and looked after you very well. The rooms were great and the service simply fantastic. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a magnificent property and is like stepping back in time. The ambience of the foyer is like being in an old James Bond set. It is sublime. I dont think I have ever stayed in such a classy establishment like the E&O.

The entire hotel is Art Deco even the pool area and the restaurants.

We ate at the buffet which was clearly the best buffet I have ever had the pleasure of eating at. From Massive steamed Salmon to Peking Duck. From Succulent King Prawns, Oysters to every roast imaginable. The choice here is endless and although expensive for Malaysia, is a steal for westerners.

Book this as a side trip from Batu Ferringhi and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This's a best place i have ever been.Stay here in 3 month with my husband i feel like staying at home.They have very beautiful rooms with interior decorators are simple in the direction of the old style.I have no words to say about this place,all are perfect,from the design of the hotel,to the service,to the food everything is the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we had an enjoyable time over Christmas at the E&O hotel. The concierge staff very friendly and helpful. The pool is very good. We stayed in a room in the original part of the hotel which has a balcony with good views of the harbour. Watched merchant and passenger ships coming and going. The buffet dinner in "Sarkey's" amazing with large selection of food and of high standard. Buffet breakfast in same restaurant good but had to order coffee several times before it arrived and then ask for milk several times. Our Christmas dinner in the 1885 Restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We (my husband and adult daughter and myself) have just come back from Christmas in Malaysia and Singapore. We stayed for four days over Christmas in the Herman Hesse suite at the Eastern and Oriental Penang. The hotel was wonderful, the suite was huge and we actually used about two thirds of the space. The suite had a dining and lounge area and a second toilet. The bathroom was very large with a claw bath and shower cubicle and two sinks. The bathroom opened on to the large balcony. The main room (bedroom with two double beds) also opened on to a balcony. Balconies were both facing the sea and were combined. We had Christmas lunch at the 1885 restaurant and it was superb, with fantastic service and food. Breakfast every day was included in our cost and was of a very high standard, especially considering how busy the hotel was at this time. Our fruit and home made chocolates were replenished every afternoon and housekeeping did a round late in the day to check that we were fully stocked with toiletries. Our suite was at the end of the building so perhaps that helped with noise levels, we found it very quiet and only occasionally were we disturbed by outside noise by people walking near the water outside our room. Of course this was easily fixed by closing the door to the balcony. The only negative for this hotel from my viewpoint was the hard beds. This seems to be a regular complaint for me, hotels beds are so hard, and it seems the more we pay, the harder the beds. Overall though a great place with lots of charm and wonderful staff, it might be the choice for festive celebrations for us again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
#1 Business Hotel in Georgetown
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.