We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Ho Chi Minh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights.

First impressions were of a wonderful colonial-style hotel of yesteryear. Spacious, elegant and with impeccable service.

The rooms are definitely spacious, with a large separate sitting area and huge bathroom hence the all suites appeal. Really did make me feel like I was in another age, the old fashioned switches for lights (imagine that), the comfy sofa, the reading light and the decor. A really pleasant change from the identikit designs of so many hotels these days.

If there was a minor point on the rooms, noticed the 3rd floor where I stayed had the smallest windows, not a huge amount of natural light. But then it's nice to have windows that can be opened.

As for food, I only had breakfast and a poolside snack. Breakfast was wonderful, with an outdoor or indoor choice by the sea. Pretty large selection, my favourite was the juice bar where they'll freshly squeeze your choice of fruit.

Poolside was nice, big enough to swim laps but the main attraction was lounging and enjoying the seaview and breeze. Smallish gym with basic range of equipment.

Bit unlucky to be staying when they had a wedding on..'boom boom boom' from the sound system till very late one night, whilst there's some construction work going on in a part of the hotel as well as the construction of a small pier which added a bit of noise, but overall still a lovely stay in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Go for lower floors, may be a bit more expensive but more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    380
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
320
796
72
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I need to mention the ''1885'' restaurant in the hotel, which is top of the line. We have been to many high end restaurants and we are very critical when it comes to food, but both food and service was excellent, highly recommended! Convert it to your currency and you realize what a great value it is.
The hotel was great too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A female friend and I stayed at the E&O for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend to any one who enjoys old world charm and elegance. This hotel is well situated for sight seeing in Georgetown and has a free shuttle service to Batu Ferringhi if you are looking for beach..... I personally would not bother as we were not that impressed with the beach. The pool at E&O is lovely and the breakfast is excellent.
Staff are friendly and helpful and our only complaint was that they gave a recommendation to a Spa called Deluxcious which was a complete dud. Do NOT use this place. Find somewhere in town where it will be cheaper for sure and could not be any worse.
All in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The writer’s suites are enormous. Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

If you want to treat yourself to a little luxury and old fashioned service with your own butler then this is the place to go.

Restaurant is not much, but with so many places on your doorstep this is not such a huge problem.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

In July this year we returned again to the wonderful E&O for where we stayed for three fabulous weeks. We have been to Penang on many occasions and every year when we return it is like coming home.

We are always warmly welcomed at the airport after an overnight flight from Australia. On reaching the hotel the staff are delighted to see us again, and their smiles are warm and genuine. We are swept straight through to our favourite suite overlookng the sea where chocolates, fruit and wine await.

Our reservations are dealt with professionally and courteously by Mr Jimmy Lee. The new manager, Mr Harold Rainfroy is delightful, hospitable and ensures all guests are welcomed and any requests promptly attended to. The pool is a fabulous place to relax and Josman laughs, smiles and offers iced water frequently. I love getting up early every day to swim as the sun is coming up. Early in the morning the pool is a calm, serene and peaceful place, and in the late afternoon after exploring Georgetown, it is a great place to have a drink and unwind.

Breakfast is now in the new Sarkies, and perhaps the buffet is a little less impressive. We hope the Old Sarkies finds a new purpose soon. It looks a little lost and forlorn.

The Bombay Shop has lots of lovely items, and the smiling, fun-loving ladies are full of information about the hotel, and the history of Georgetown. Dinner out one evening with them was full of fun, laughter and great food.

This is a hotel full of grace and charm. It is staffed by people who are professional, helpful, courteous, warm and friendly. The E&O is a haven of tranquillity after the heat and bustle of Georgetown.

Go on! Do yourself a favour and go and stay there!

We are already planning another holiday there next year, which will be exactly forty years since our very first trip to Penang. And in the many holidays in Malaysia since our honeymoon in 1973….oh what changes we have been fortunate to experience!

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

E&O hotel has a rustic charm about it, which we rarely see nowadays in other city hotels. From the outside you can immediately notice the gorgeous colonial style architecture. It has luxurious decors, elegant atmosphere, good size rooms and facilities. The poolside view is breath-taking, combined with the very relaxing tropical atmosphere of Penang. It's central location is also an additional plus, with close proximity to everything. It's within walking distance to heritage sites in Georgetown, and also to shopping areas. But what impressed us the most is the quality of service the staff delivers to their customers. Upon arrival, they immediately made us feel welcome and anticipated everything we need before we even asked for it. We would like to extend our sincerest gratitude to the Resident Manager of the hotel Mr. Harold Rainfroy, who is always there to answer our queries, offered suggestions and help made our stay much more enjoyable. He is such a valuable asset to the hotel. The reception staff were also very assistive & attentive to our needs. We wish that all hotels have the same outstanding quality of service E&O has.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosier
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is like many other colonial hotels in southeast asia (raffles in singapore, oriental in bangkok, strand in yangon or metropole in hanoi) The room booked was 208 located over the swimming pool and facing the straits. Large bathroom, with a small living room. TV is not a flat one but not that useful as Wi fi free in the hotel. Buffet breakfast is large, however, you will taste every dish if you spend several nights there. We tried the 1885 restaurant:food is above average but the service is not (slow, not careful to guests needs).
Location is good as many sightseeings are within walking distance. The blue mansion is very close (5min)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.