We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Grandeur at its very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Colonial Grandeur at its very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a great stay in the E and O. Beautiful well-appointed rooms which felt steeped in history and at the same time contemporary and up-to-date. We had an amazing view of the sea which really never got tiring- definitely make sure the room comes with a sea view.
Bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was a tad limited but all items on offer were high quality. We also had a couple of the evening buffets in the same restaurant and again these were good quality, as was the room service. Pool very pleasant and plenty of room between loungers so even though it was quite busy, it never felt this way.
A really great experience overall, even with the hefty price tag. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    379
    126
    42
    20
See reviews for
320
795
72
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We failed to be impressed by their overpriced afternoon tea! We were celebrating a birthday and booked well in advance and when we arrived they had booked the wrong time! After a wait we were bustled to a table (with dirty table cloth) Our disappointment started with the china - our tea served in coffee cups that were rather plebian - we were so hoping for fine bone china! Dried out finger sandwiches, average scones, a dollop of ordinary jam. We eventually managed to obtain hot water for our tea but the wait staff were hard to find and very indifferent. The cakes were OK and the best part of the experience. We then retired to the bar for celebratory cocktail - which took 25 minutes to be served and too was expensive in comparison to other venues.

The foyer and restuarants had obviously been renovated at some stage - rather badly in our opinion. The decorations are bland and not in keeping with the colonial history ie wrong light fittings for period - chandeliers hung at wrong heights etc. We were planning on returning for dinner one night but failed to do so after this experience. We would not recommend - plenty of other delightful restaurants in Georgetown and were so glad that we didn't waste our money staying there!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at the E & O. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was a joy to stay in. We were upgraded to a suite with a sea view and it was perfect with plenty of room. The bathroom was huge with a washhand basin at either end and a bath and separate walk in shower. The toilet was behind a door but within the bathroom.

The view of the palm trees and ocean from our bedroom was wonderful. We ate in the hotel (but outside) the first night and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. The breakfast was equally good.

The swimming pool was lovely, again, with views of the ocean, so a lovely place to sit and relax at the end of the day.

There are great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, with something to suit every pocket.

If we return to Malaysia we would definately make sure that we have another three nights at the E & O.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at the E&O for several nights and overall I was very impressed with the service and the amenities of the hotel. You can definitely sense the colonial influence as soon as you arrive. The views from this property are excellent, however no beach access. The breakfast buffet spread was very good with many choices. The gym is small but servicable. Location is good with several bars and restaurants just down the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I spent a single night at the E&O, arriving with great expectations as the reviews suggested this was the best hotel in Georgetown. If it is, then it's a shame for Georgetown, as it's on a par neither with somewhere like the Datai on neighbouring Langkawi, nor with its historical sibling, the Raffles in Singapore. It's not that there's anything very specific to pick on as a major problem, it just fails to charm and delight in the same way that both those others do (and in Georgetown itself, the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion does).

Entering the hotel, the lobby is dark and sparsely furnished, but the reception staff are helpful and I am shown to my room by a dedicated butler. The rooms are very generously proportioned, almost all with sea views, and with separate seating and dressing areas as well are palatial bathrooms. Others remark that they feel transported to the 1930s: I can see why as the amenities and furniture in the rooms feel a little more from that era than the current one. I am sure this place was once the epitome of style and luxury, but a little updating would not go amiss.

I had evening food in the bar: a simple Asian salad was OK but nothing more. Breakfast in the huge new dining wing felt a little institutional or tour-group: it's very canteen style and not at all up-market.

The best feature of the hotel is probably its lengthy waterfront: a great place for a stroll, or to sit by the pool or outside the bar and enjoy the view. Just a bit of a shame that the rest of the hotel does not entice in the same way.

Room Tip: They're all pretty good, just don't choose a city view, the water side is much the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is without a doubt one of the best hotels in Penang. It has maintained it's old charm which sets it apart from the other conventional hotels. You get this feeling of being transported to the 1930's the moment you set foot in the hotel lobby.

The lift in the hotel is the first in the country (according to the staff who led us to our room) and it is still working! So do make a request to have them take you up in the lift instead of using the normal lifts.

The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. You will feel relax immediately with it's cosy ambience and layout. Privacy is assured as this place does not have the normal family crowd, perfect for couples.

Staff are friendly and makes it a point to address you by your name which shows the extend they go to make you feel welcome at this prestigious hotel.

We had buffet dinner at the Sarkies bar. The choices were somehow not as extensive as what I would have expected. I suppose this is the only area that we were less happy about otherwise the rest of the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights here in September and had a wonderful stay. We were in the old part of the hotel on the third floor - suites were large, very comfortable, and windows opened to lovely views out over the sea. There was no noise apart from the crashing of the sea against the shore ... A wonderful sound on waking. Service was superb - all staff were welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive in any way. I particularly loved the pool by the sea and spent a few hours in and around it - it was never crowded or noisy. Breakfast was excellent (try the roti ... best I had in all Penang and I made sure to try a few!). I also really enjoyed the free yoga class.

The hotel was well located near the old town and a cheap taxi ride to other Penang attractions.

We read the guest book which had quite a few people returning for second or third visits - I can't think of anything nicer than being a regular visitor to the E&O. Thanks to all staff for looking after us so well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.