We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was here for a wedding banquet.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“I was here for a wedding banquet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Well, as my title has mention it, I was here for a wedding banquet. It was held in the ballroom with a cocktail reception at the garden. First of all, the lift at the car park was out of service. Thus, we had to use the staircase, with our heels and beautiful gowns and considering there are some folks with tongkat. Luckily my car was parked at level 1. Imagine my car is parked at level 3?

Banquet service was attentive. What we requested was delivered promptly. Air condition was a little warm. Probably I was sitting at the far end corner of the ballroom. Food wise was a little let down and was not fantastic. It was an eight course wedding dinner. This is my first time stepping into E&O and I hear a lot about the hotel. So, I thought the food must be awesome too. It was not. Quality was moderate and taste is fair. Just so so. The food is not comparable to the status of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    378
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
318
793
72
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 12 day stay at the E&O hotel in Georgetown. The hotel in itself was beautiful like stepping back in time. The Farquhar staff were simply amazing. Not one thing about this hotel and it's staff to complain about.

Room Tip: Our room faced overlooking the sea. It was very lovely. The only downside was we were near the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great hotel. Wonderful staff and beautiful rooms. The view from our room was amazing. Breakfast (which was included) was well prepared and had many options. I would recommend this to others. The location was great, as we could walk to places to get dinner and see the town.

Room Tip: Get a room with a few of the ocean and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wow, What a hotel. Stayed at the Eastern and Oriental Hotel for seven nights in the second week of June and what an experience. Supurb old colonial style hotel with all the trimmings but without the price . Fabulous attitude, extrordinarilly friendly, fantastic attitude, gracious hosts, wonderfull food where does it end and unfortuately in the end we had to leave. Wow,wow, wow. Experience the grandure and pomp whithout price tag.If you stay there then enroll in the cooking class on wednesdays and the first three bookings are free! Fantastic cooking class and you get to eat the results.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

So sorry to leave you!
There have been changes since last September and I'm not sure having Sarkies moved is a great idea. It's lost the ambience. There are other subtle changes that appear to be the result of an accountants pen but all in all this is simply the best.
The staff are wonderful the service impeccable. The shutle bus to lone pine a huge bonus.the room opening to the sea wall can't be beaten.what a joy it is to stay here.Three generations think so. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front are favourites. The suite on the end 015 has the property lights on all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I wonder it's the off-peak period for M'sians and Sporeans (kids back in school) that made our stay unforgettable because the price was right and it was crowd-free! From the moment we left our car with the valet up till the departure 4 days later, it was just smooth sailing. Sheer peace and ease. You couldn't ask for anything more for a holiday.

The check-in and check-out were a breeze. Getting the car out and parked was like we had personal valets, not to mention the impeccable manners and intelligence of the staffs. From Day 2, we didn't even need to ask for the car; they recognised us.

As for the room which housed the 3 of us (hubby, son and I), it was long and spacious, with a sea view but the bathroom topped it all! We had experienced pretty classy hotels with cool bathrooms overseas but this was the best, with a His & Hers section plus a long bath in between. I can only imagine what the suites have to offer!! The set up was well-thought, comfortable and felt like home. Every part of the room was clean. I like the parquet flooring which is cleaner than carpets.

The complimentary buffet breakfast had a wonderful spread (not the best we've had but plentiful). You could sit in or out doors. Service was tip top. My husband complimented the Indian chef on his ability to make roti canai as well as waffle and immediately a plate of "decorated" roti tissue was served by the waitress "with compliments from the chef." What can I say - class A+ service!

What a lovely 3-night stay, the best we've had. Thank you E&O Penang and thank you Easytobook.com. You will be the first website I will check from now on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel right on the ocean, our room looked directly out on the pool, gardens and bay.
Our dinner in both 1885 and the bar were excellent. The breakfast was unbelievable. Envision the best hotel Sunday Brunch you ever had and that is what you receive complimentary every morning. Eggs cooked to order, fruits, pastries, cheeses, smoked duck and other meats, sushi, salad and noodle soups with seafood , and many other items I can't remember. Staff was friendly and in a great location within walking distance to shops and temples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.