We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“E&O Penang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“E&O Penang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I wonder it's the off-peak period for M'sians and Sporeans (kids back in school) that made our stay unforgettable because the price was right and it was crowd-free! From the moment we left our car with the valet up till the departure 4 days later, it was just smooth sailing. Sheer peace and ease. You couldn't ask for anything more for a holiday.

The check-in and check-out were a breeze. Getting the car out and parked was like we had personal valets, not to mention the impeccable manners and intelligence of the staffs. From Day 2, we didn't even need to ask for the car; they recognised us.

As for the room which housed the 3 of us (hubby, son and I), it was long and spacious, with a sea view but the bathroom topped it all! We had experienced pretty classy hotels with cool bathrooms overseas but this was the best, with a His & Hers section plus a long bath in between. I can only imagine what the suites have to offer!! The set up was well-thought, comfortable and felt like home. Every part of the room was clean. I like the parquet flooring which is cleaner than carpets.

The complimentary buffet breakfast had a wonderful spread (not the best we've had but plentiful). You could sit in or out doors. Service was tip top. My husband complimented the Indian chef on his ability to make roti canai as well as waffle and immediately a plate of "decorated" roti tissue was served by the waitress "with compliments from the chef." What can I say - class A+ service!

What a lovely 3-night stay, the best we've had. Thank you E&O Penang and thank you Easytobook.com. You will be the first website I will check from now on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    484
    164
    54
    24
See reviews for
414
1,018
90
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel right on the ocean, our room looked directly out on the pool, gardens and bay.
Our dinner in both 1885 and the bar were excellent. The breakfast was unbelievable. Envision the best hotel Sunday Brunch you ever had and that is what you receive complimentary every morning. Eggs cooked to order, fruits, pastries, cheeses, smoked duck and other meats, sushi, salad and noodle soups with seafood , and many other items I can't remember. Staff was friendly and in a great location within walking distance to shops and temples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good location! It's just a 5min walk to the Blue Mansion (one of the definite must-go sights in Penang). Close to many famous hawker foods (lor bak & chendol just down Jalan Penang, 10mins walk from hotel). Breakfast at the hotel is also good, sit alfresco, beautiful view. Lovely service, always ready to help. Taxis aplenty from the hotel, they hardly run by the meter but it will cost about RM15 to anywhere in central Georgetown from the hotel.There's a steam room & sauna at the hotel gym, complimentary of course. The free WIFI was also stable & fast, no complaints. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The E&O was everything I expected: attentive but not imposing service, old world charm and wonderful facilities.

Our departure flight was at 10pm at night and we asked for a late check-out. The hotel staff was very sympathetic: our check-time was postponed to 3pm and they offered us use of their gym facilities to freshen up before we left for the airport.

The only downside was the lack of a second bedside table/reading lamp.

Will definitely stay at the E&O again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I.stay at the E&O for 3-4 nights every other month and have been doing so for many years. It is disappointing to see the changes in the menu for breakfast and also in Farquhar's and the poolside. It would seem that with every change of management there are cosmetic changes that affect the old world charm and appeal of this hotel.

Concierge, front desk staff and service remain excellent. However the hotel uses a lot of college trainee staff and generally these trainees lack the situational awareness that is required in the service industry. They avoid the guests and refuse eye contact.

Is it possible to revert to some of the old items in the menu eg banana split at the poolside and curry fish at sarkies?

Could a senior staff member monitor the trainees to ensure that the service level does not continue to deteriorate?

The outside seating area at the new sarkies gets extremely hot in the mornings and afternoons.

The limousines of the hotel are not cleaned and give a very bad impression to the guests. Is it that difficult to maintain them ( like the Pen in hongkong)

It's a shame to see the grand old lady starting to show her age.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here last year and found it to be a great experience. Very old colonial and service to match. Not at all cheap but worth it! We dined in the 1855 resturent one night and had a great meal. I also proposed to my soon to be wife! This was observed by a regular to the resturent dining with his family who sent us over a bottle of wine from his private cellar. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sth Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel really has old world charm from its origins in 1885. Apart from our room most of the hotel looks pretty good. They even painted the front door whilst we were there. The free shuttle bus to the sister hotel ( Lone Pine in Batu Ferringhi) is also useful as you get full use of their facilities. The breakfast is fantastic for quality and choice. Has unlimited free Wi Fi. The main detraction was our room.. Chips of paint off the walls, frayed electrical chords to the bedside lamp and standard lamp, thermostat on the air conditioner that did not work, moth hole in the quilt cover etc.. And worst of all a worm in the bottom of our ice bucket. ( they offered no apology for this. I think they were as shocked as we were). We broke the first rule in visiting Asia - do not have ice in your drinks..
Overall I would rate 9/10 for charm, 5/10 for facilities and 5/10 for attention to detail.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 71 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#16 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#17 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
7.0 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.