We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Australia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife & I returned to the E & O with a close friend for four nights in early March. We had ‘sold’ our friend on the idea of breaking her journey from Sydney to London by staying at the E & O.
To keep costs down for her I researched the cost of the Java Suite rather than using two standard rooms. The cost of the suite was lower than the two rooms so I booked it for the four nights. The suite is on the first floor (second floor for American readers), it is 258 sq mtrs and has two full size king bedrooms, which are both en-suite. The larger of the two also had a dressing room with enough storage space for a family. This area allowed my wife and I to fully unpack, as one wall of storage (drawers, cupboards etc) was hers and the other wall was mine.
The suite also has a small dining area and sitting room. In addition it has a full size kitchen, large entrance hall and an office work area, as well as a decent size room that could be used as a storage room for stowing suite-cases etc. I had plenty of exercise walking from the main bedroom to the kitchen each time I wanted a cup of coffee. The place was BIG!
The E & O have expanded in to other areas that they have owned for some years, but didn’t use. The new area is called the Victory Annex where we had the Saturday evening buffet dinner. As much as you can eat, with wine, for a set price. I asked if the rooms above the Victory Annex were available, but was told that they were not ready for use, yet.
Breakfast was outside on the patio in the heritage area (the original area of the hotel), a must if you want to watch the sunrise and the ships arriving and leaving harbour. In the evening most people sat outside the Farquhar Bar and watched the sunset as the lights of the town and the passing ships allowed ones mind to drift to times past.
As usual the overall service was first class and the E & O is still our favourite hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. The Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion is less than 5 minute wak from the hotel - wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahal12, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Ellenga,

Greetings from E&O Hotel, Penang!

I’m sure everything is well and the month of April is proceeding positively.

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the E&O Hotel, Penang.

Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any help here in Penang at marco.battistotti@eohotels.com

Wishing you and your family a good 1st quarter of year 2012.

Thank you.


I remain ,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    435
    145
    43
    23
See reviews for
370
926
83
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our expat party of three Canadians and one American from Kuala Lumpur arrived at the E and O with the expectation of enjoying a lovely lunch in a pleasant setting. The hotel fell woefully short.

Upon our arrival at 2:30 PM we were told by the valet at the car drop that our late arrival limited our lunch options to afternoon tea or Farquhar's Bar's menu service. We opted for the latter. Our server tried very hard with us but he was new at his job and it became quickly evident that he was under-trained, over-worked, and under-supported. Being effective as a server was a challenge for him, and as the restaurant began to fill he became quickly overwhlemed. During our stay in the Bar, he received virtually no assistance from the two under-occupied servers behind the bar. Their priority did not appear to be providing quality service to patrons.

Our party ordered a starter of satay to share, and it was lovely and flavourful. For our entrees we ordered shepherd's pie, fish and chips, salmon and lentil salad, and a beef Roquefort salad. These meals did not arrive together. The shephard's pie appeared to be and tasted like a beef bolognaise sauce (!!) topped with a thin layer of mashed potatoes sprinkled with cheese. After a few bites it was set aside and not finished. The fish and chips were not British-style; the fish was pan fried rather than presented in the traditional batter fried manner. Neither dish could claim the British inspiration of it's stated menu category. The Beef Roquefort salad - a woeful 350-400 ml volume of mainly bean sprouts with two slices of cucumber and a few bits of capsicum- contained three thin shavings of beef and perhaps 20 ml of crumbled cheese. That salad was a disgrace and a shameful rip-off at RM36 (over US$10).

Our total bill with drinks and food was over RM320/over US$100. As long-term residents of Malaysia we are well aware of the high level of service and fare a tariff like that can provide, even in an hotel setting. At the hotel's website they claim that "the E&O Hotel offers unparalleled dining experiences". It's time for them to make a frank appraisal of their service and food offerings and start making much-needed improvements. Their concern for patrons' feedback is demonstrated by failure to even acknowledge my email to the hotel manager outlining our party's recent disappointing time at Farquhar's Bar. They dishonour their proud history - their competative edge - by solely resting on your laurels. Step up, E & O!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahal12, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear MapleLeafExpat,

Greetings from E&O Hotel, Penang!

Thank You for the timely & accurate notes you have written to us via mail and on tripadvisor in regards to you and your friends gathering experience at Farquhar’s Bar in March.

Firstly, we would like to offer our sincere apologies on some of the shortcomings you had encountered during the above-mentioned visit especially in the areas of service and food quality.

We are very concerned to hear that the service you had received did not meet up to your expectation. I have discussed this matter with members of my team and have stressed to them that such shortcomings are not acceptable and to ensure that it does not occur again. All our guests are to be treated with utmost importance and will be given the highest level of service and product quality expected out of us.

We view your comments very seriously as it serves to be part of our permanent effort to improve further and constantly provide excellent albeit efficient service to all our valued guests.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future and to make up for some of the unfavorable impressions you have experienced.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any help here in Penang at marco.battistotti@eohotels.com


Thank you.


I remain ,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is where my parents got married hence I come here at least twice a year when I return to Penang.
Upon arrival,one would think one is back in the 1950s. Guess what,nothing has changed. The service from the door,reception,bar,pool area,sarkies restaurant or the silver service restaurant have been consistently kept their high standards.
A place to unwind,relax,enjoy great food and extensive wine list with the staff taking care of everything. Why not?! Plus wagyu beef is on the menu.......
In my mind money well spent.

Room Tip: No idea re the rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahal12, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Yesmin M,

Greetings from E&O Hotel, Penang!

I’m sure everything is well and the month of April is proceeding positively.

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at the E&O Hotel, Penang.

Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any help here in Penang at marco.battistotti@eohotels.com

Wishing you and your family a good 1st quarter of year 2012.

Thank you.


I remain ,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for four nights on the way to Australia and having stayed for our honeymoon 5 years ago had a rather romantic view of this old girl
Sadly she had become rather frayed around the edges
The reception area was grubby and the carpet and upholstery needed a good clean the staff while on the face of it friendly rather seemed to panic when asked something off script
The room itself though spacious smelt musty and with all the dark furniture felt dated and tired It had two large big box TVs and no electronic gizmos iPod dock DVD player ect even the bedside clock needed a new battery
The restaurant was well stocked but again tired and had one of the grubbiest ceilings I've seen in a 5 star hotel

It felt staying with a great aunt struggling on reduced means
The pool area is compact and bigou reached either via the gym which is rather less than private or the bar
It was popular with the would be colonial types and a Walkman with headphones a must if you don't want to listen to the county set types tabber on
They are building a huge annex over the car park next door and there was some building noise
Overall we found our stay rather miserable and left feeling the old girl needed a good wash and a new dress if she was to fit in with the modern world

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahal12, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Allanscn,

Greetings from E&O Hotel, Penang

I hope everything is well on your side and the month of April is proceeding positively.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang & I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

It certainly is a pleasure to receive, from guests such as yourselves, feedback, for us to continue to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any help here in Penang at marco.battistotti@eohotels.com.

Wishing you and your family a great month of April ahead.

Thank you.

I remain,

MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

There are some wonderful hotels in Asia that transport you back to a more elegant time, Raffles Singapore, The Peninsular Hong Kong and the fabulous Manila Hotel. The E&O is one of them.
I stay whenever i can and having spent a difficult couple of days in provincial Malaysia the hotel was a welcome site. Georgetown is such a fascinating place that's still "real" and working and the E&O its crowning glory.
The rooms are spacious and i love the separate living area with sliding doors to the bedroom. The room height is majestic and the his and hers bathrooms a treat. Its a tasteful renovation.
Had a lively night in the bar with a three piece combo playing, we even had a sing-a-long in Chinese, English and poor Japanese!
Just one thing - my shepherds pie never arrived but my gin and tonics did.
Even the car to the airport had flags on the bonnet
A grand dame of hotels with modern amenities and a lively friendly atmosphere, long may she reign

Room Tip: I booked on agoda and it was half the price of the hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

What a place unbelievable service and staff. The quality of the entire HOTEL was beyond my expectations! I was here for business and will return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Nice pool and location. The rooms are large. The beds are nice. The staff was very responsive and polite. We also had tea and enjoyed the drinks at the bar such as the E&O Sling.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.