We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet dinner was simply divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern & Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Buffet dinner was simply divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I did not stay at the E & O Hotel in Penang but were invited by our families to have a buffet dinner there. It was Grill and Roast evening. Basically, you name it, there was almost everything there that you can possibly want to eat. The entrance to the old beautiful Colonial hotel was charming. The staff at the entrance wore uniforms of the old colonial type. All I can say is that if you don't fancy the local Malaysian food, there are also Western food available. The only snag was there are some young people who are very anxious to have their food, so if you are too slow to scoop whatever you dish you like on your plate and before you can put the tablespoon down, it's snatched away from you. Pity, as there were loads of food everywhere so there was no need to be rude but some young people are making it look like a fast food court which it's not. I took it all with a pinch of salt and not let that spoil my evening with my family. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    378
    126
    42
    19
See reviews for
318
793
72
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I proposed to my girlfriend at the E&O last weekend and it all went perfectly thanks to great service and management by Marco and his team. I emailed him before hand regarding my plans and was surprised by a free upgrade to the Writers Suite which was breathtaking and assisted by Salim the butler throughout. They kindly prepped up the place with rose petals and tealight candles FOC and really were attentive to my needs. Glad to say she was chuffed and said yes. We hope to visit every year and keep up the good work.

Vijay & Tanya

Room Tip: Writers Suites have the best balcony views of the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the E&O hotel. I especially loved the large bathrooms, comfortable beds and beautiful sea view from our room. Next to your bed side, there's even a pillow menu with different pillows for you to choose from. I had my pillow changed and had a very good night's sleep!

I also loved the buffet breakfast spread. There is a wide variety of international and local cuisine as well as a Japanese section.

The hotel is in the town centre so you don't get that resort, beach feel. However, it is very close to the jetty so if you are catching the ferry to Langkawi or Pulau Payar for snorkelling/scuba diving, then E&O would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The accommodation, service and meals were good and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and our room included a spacious balcony with a view to Butterworth. The hotel is conveniently located for George Town's shops and restaurants and its waterfront position provides a great setting for the pool. Whilst we were delighted with the room the rest of the experience lacked the special feel we were expecting. The service, whilst friendly, just wasn't up to the standard of many Malaysian hotels costing substantially less.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

Was there with my wife and two children. Stayed in the spacious java suite with 2 rooms within. Happy with the setup though the interior is bit old. Place was clean. Wife and kids enjoy the privacy that we had.

Breakfast was satisfactory with a great variety.

The place is just next to main road and our room was just beside the main road and it could be nuisance at time especially when there are some bikes speeding around the area.

Surround location is good as we can easily walk around nearby to get beers or nice food.

Well I come back? Probably yes to enjoy the privacy within the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Room booked was a king size suite, were given twin beds instead. Changed without any problems though and with a lot of apologies. Friendly staff. Amazing suite, very clean, beautiful view. Breakfast disappointing in terms of food options (no bacon for example and limited bread options) and set-up; very confusing layout of breakfast room inside. Also understaffed, untrained and unobserving staff; had to ask for more coffee each time (staff don't walk around and check if coffee/tea empty), took long to arrive. Omelette (always a sign of a good hotel) very average in taste and undercooked. Ventilation was also an issue with half the hotel on the ground floor smelling like a kitchen, including the whole breakfast room. Hotel is priced 5-star but overall more like 4 stars, therefore overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as `The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era.In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern & Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.