We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Excellent services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cititel Penang to your Saves list
Cititel Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Great Location, Excellent services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with seaview rooms. We were being reserved a connecting room at higher level (18th Floor). The rooms are clean and quiet. The hotel staff is super nice. As we have two eldlies and one baby girl, the staff has tried their best to cater our needs. Really thanks! More importantly, the location is great. The free shuttle bus stop is just opposite to the hotel. The shuttle can take us to the major attractions in Georgetown. We really enjoyed our stay in Penang and will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

It is such a delight to read your comments on how much you and your family had enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our rooms were very much to your liking!

Thank you very much for your positive and encouraging comments of our service and for awarding us the full score on the TripAdvisor rating.

I truly appreciate your kind words of recommendation and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and family back again for yet another fulfilling stay.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    432
    188
    40
    19
See reviews for
129
191
72
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I read the reviews of this hotel and decided to stay here. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is just outside the UNESCO world heritage area of George Town but is close to the main bus station (COMTAR) and the centre of town. The room was comfortable and clean but it was a little dated and tired-looking especially the bathroom but everything was usable and functional. There were many eateries outside the hotel and the hotel has its own taxi desk. There are taxi ranks outside the hotel too. I had a view of the Eastern and Oriental Hotel from my room and so I loved my view. I had a lovely time staying at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Do not eat breakfast here as it is expensive. There are places outside where you can get a cheap and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

I am pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang.

Thank you for looking us up on TripAdvisor and my team and I appreciate your kind comments about our hotel location, facilities and services.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and for taking the time to write in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang soon.

With kind regards,

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Got a room facing sea view. Nice scenery. TV viewing offered many stations. Staff friendly and helpful. Location is perfect. Plenty of eateries and shops around.
Breakfast is optional. Served good food. Nice.

No safe for valuable, TV reception is horrible-snowflakes. Wi fi in room and lobby are unstable.

Despite above, nice to stay. Lobby is spacious and offered long sofa for guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind and gracious comments about our facilities, services and location. I truly appreciate your kind understanding on our shortcomings with the Wifi and the TV reception - please be assured that we are working on these issues to ensure that they do not recur.

My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With best wishes for a Happy 2014!

Kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDAN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stay for 2 nights at cititel in standard room. The lobby is very large, the check-in staff working efficient and full of smile.
The room furnishing needs to be upgrade due the little bit old.
Room is clean and tidy, very quite.
Breakfast is variety full of choice, and yummy.
All the hotel staff is so kind, helpfull and the service is above excellent.

In front the hotel has bus stop, we can take the free penang shuttle bus to travel around the old george town city till jettty and komtar.

Highly recommend for family with young children.


Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you very much for your kind comments of our hotel services, facilities and location - they are greatly appreciated.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you and your friends have had an enjoyable time here.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another fulfilling stay.. see you soon.

Until then, our best wishes for a Happy New Year!

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As the title goes, this hotel is located in a very strategic location which is close to the Penang city walk and the pubs. We could walk to all the murals in the city and come back within an hour and a half. Red garden, a food court with lots of hawker food, is very nearby.

Aparr from that the hotel is very average. From the room size to the decor, its what you would expect with the price paid. Very standard, nothing to shout about. My only complain is that I got the room next to the lift and it was pretty noisy at night. Oh and the bathroom is really small.

Service is good as they did serve us pretty fast. And we had to change rooms because they initially gave us a smoking room and it stinks. So they changed it to another. That room had some problems with the safety vault machine and that was fixed quite fast too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for sharing your comments – am glad to note that you had taken the time to explore our heritage city during your stay.

I am sorry to hear of the shortcomings during your stay but am pleased that our team attended to your requests accordingly. I sincerely hope that this did not detract you from enjoying your overall stay in Penang and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until then, my team joins me in wishing you all the very best for a Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We did a last minute booking online after had some terrible matter in another hotel (no hot shower for 2 days) and a this sudden plan to move to Cititel was an amazing experience. Since we need to check in early, the reservation manager (i think she is a Japanese) really give us a good hand to cordinate our request.

The lobby is spacious and the check process was really quick. We ask for a room with ocean view at high floor which was really nice.

Our room ia really nice with flat screen and modern interior touch. Really nothing to complain about.

Check out time also really quickly done by professional front office assistant.

In terma of location, it just a distance from the Komtar and other tourist attractions i town especially to the UNESCO World Heritage area.

If u are looking for a nice place to stay in Georgetown, this hotel is for u to have a look. Good price and good services.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you so much for your kind comments of our hotel services, facilities and location - they are greatly appreciated.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable time here and thank you for your recommendation and support.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another fulfilling stay.. see you soon.

Until then, my best wishes for a great New Year ahead!

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Just good location near the city centre .
At the beginning they want us to pay for the parking even with hotel reservation.
Nice check in hall but very unfriendly welcome.
Room is ok but a bit old stile .
Bathroom with no wall shower only telephone style .
Poor experience , just good for one night.


Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review – I regret to note the parking issue upon your arrival; our car park facilities is handled by a concessionaire who will collect the car park fees upon entry with an explanation that the reimbursement will be done upon check-in by our Front Desk team. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I have briefed our car park operator to provide a more thorough explanation to our guests when they arrive to park in the hotel.

Thank you for your observations and I hope that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to stay with us.

Until then, my best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cititel Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes to Penang Ferry terminal. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.