We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, clean, comfortable enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Penang

Save Saved
You added Cititel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cititel Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Jalan Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice location, clean, comfortable enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel located in the center of penang city, lucky i got oceanview bedroom, clean and comfy enough, surrounded by small restaurants and cafe which is good for discovering at night. Lot of good foods and nice view

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    382
    166
    39
    19
See reviews for
107
160
69
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Cititel 4 times.The location is great ,the hotel is comfortable and is good value for money. (Booking online through the Cititiel site seems to be cheaper than Agoda etc). We have occasionally used the breakfast buffet which is cheaper if you include with your intitial online bookings. There is a multitude of places to eat nearby, try the rice porridge breakfast at the Yeng Keng a couple of doors away. We have used the pool and spa , a great thing after a sweltering hot walk around. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. We will return again! As mentioned in other reviews Wifi slow and TV chanels limited but who needs it. Ask for a sea view room to be able to watch fishing boats, cruise ships etc coming and going.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sue

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is indeed most delightful to know that you had a wonderful stay with us during your recent trip to Penang - thank you for always selecting Cititel Penang and thank you for the compliments on our hotel facilities and services and for booking directly with us.

I have shared your kind comments with my team members and they are very happy to learn that their dedication and hard work provided you with a fulfilling stay with us.

All of us certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang for your 5th visit and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Wishing you a great weekend ahead.

With kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special for a four-star-hotel. Clean but a little worn out. Room service food was pricy and nothing to write home about. Our room rate did not include breakfast and based on that the rate was a bit high. All in all we had a nice stay. Best thing about the hotel is that it's located opposite a fabulous food court called Red Garden. Tons of cheap and delicious food there. Wifi was mediocre. The rooms weren't really soundproof.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and I hope that you had a good trip home.

I am sorry if you found our room rates a little high – we do have a special online breakfast rate which you might want to consider booking that at the same time you make your next online reservations directly with us.

Am glad that you took time to explore our heritage city and that you like our Penang hawker fare.

Wishing you a great week ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Cititels location is fantastic, right on Penang Road. This is our 4th trip to Penang, but our first stay in Georgetown. Good landmark as you could see it from many different directions around Georgetown. Even at night it was easy to spot, as it has a blue neon light around the roof.

10/15 minute walk to Komtar. But on the way to Komtar you pass Mydin ( everything so cheap, especially personal care goods) and Penang Bazaar and Pasa Chowrasta (same things as at Batu Ferringhi night market, but so much cheaper than at BF). One minute walk to the Red Garden Food Paradise.
Convenience store located just across the road from the hotel. Also the hotel has a small convenience store just past the lifts in the lobby.
Free city bus stop just before the entrance to Red Garden, opposite the hotel. But to use the rapid buses, stop is nearly opposite Mydin / Police Station. Under a 5 minute walk. The Rapid bus on the way back to the hotel is just around the corner, a 2 minute walk.
Went to Foong Wei Heong Chinese Restaurant. Its just around the corner from Cititel. Fantastic food, especially the steamed fish and crispy skin duck.

We caught a taxi from airport to Cititel. Rm47 (by voucher), took an hour as it was peak hour traffic.

Nice hotel, excellent staff. Check in and check out were smooth and fast. We stayed for 7 nights. Our room was a touch small but adequate for the two of us. Room was clean. Our room had a fantastic view towards Komtar, Kek Lok Si, and some ocean view. Never tired of watching sunrise and sunset from our window. Even had a night where lightening lit up everything. Sat for hours trying to get a great photo of the lightening strikes.

We opted for 2 single beds. Beds far too HARD. Called housekeeping and tried to get a foam mattress topper, but they didn’t have any. So asked for an extra doona. I folded this in 4 and slept on this. Bit more comfortable. Cititel, please get some foam mattress toppers in for those of us that don’t like sleeping on very hard mattresses. Housekeeping were helpful and no problems asking for extra pillows, towels or whatever you needed.

Flat screen TV was mounted on the wall. Below this was a cupboard, that had a kettle and tea/coffee cups and a fridge. Along side this was a desk with a large mirror above it. Ideal place to use your laptop. We paid extra and had an in-room safe. Wardrobe with hanging space and an iron and ironing board. Space next to this had a shelf for your suitcase with a shelf above that to store things on.
There was a comfortable lounge chair and small table near the window, with a great view.
Bathroom was ok, a shower above the bathtub, with a shower curtain (not a fan of this type of combination). Floor would get a bit wet, so we would throw our towels on the floor, after showering. But not a problem as we would just ring housekeeping for more towels. Found towels a bit too thin, though. New toiletries supplied daily.
Room is air conditioned, but also has a ceiling fan. We used the air con during the day, but found the fan adequate during the night.

We are not big breakfast eaters, so we didn’t have breakfast at the hotel. We would just buy something from Bread Talk the previous night and have this with our morning cup of tea /coffee.
We did try the hotels restaurant for lunch one day. We paid rm60 for a burger, sandwich and 1 coke. Pricey and not worth it, as it was not very tasty.

The lobby is enormous and beautiful. Well lit and a good place to sit down and relax.

I found the all the staff including, reception, door men, cleaners, welcoming and friendly.

Smallish pool with an inbuilt spa. Enclosed, so you could use it no matter what the weather was like. Unfortuately we didn’t use it, as I didn’t like the clear glass panels from the gym overlooking the pool.

I was a bit hesitant about booking the hotel at first, as they call themselves a business hotel. But I think that this is because they have several function rooms for business people to use. It does not affect the average tourist at all.

Free wifi , slow (just like most of Malaysia / Asia), but as we are on holidays it didn’t bother us too much.

Hotel arranged for a car back to the airport for us. Rm45, approx 25 minutes from hotel to airport (takes longer if peak hour traffic).

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Location is fantastic, staff are excellent.
Perhaps for me (as I suffer from a painful back), I would just email them to see if they can do something about the hard bed).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and trust you had a good trip home.

Thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel services, facilities and location and I am indeed very happy to know that you have had a totally fulfilling stay with us.

i appreciate your feedback and am pleased to inform you that I have addressed the issue of our hard beds with our Housekeeper and we are looking into providing the mattress topper for use. i hope that our beds did not aggravate the situation with your back,

Please let me know (gm@cititelpenang.com) when the plans for your next visit are underway and will assist with the needful.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and all of us at Cititel Penang look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Hotel is very well located in Georgetown. The famous food street is just outside the hotel and you will be able to taste all the famous delicious food,instead of travelling to the over rated Guerney Drive.
Staff very polite and helpful and rooms clean and comfortable. Upon checking in, the hotel staff called to check if our room is ok. Something which surprised me.
We actually request for a airport transfer from hotel to Airport, the staff recommend us to take a cab is much more cheaper.
The only negative point is there are no Safe box at my room. Not important factor because there is a safebox at the main lobby. Just that a bit troublesome when you need it.
We're satisfied stay here. I will be there for other time when I go back to Penang Island next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. I am truly appreciative of your kind words about our services and facilities and have shared them with my team here.

It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests' expectations during their stay with us and your appreciation is great motivation to all of us here. Thank you for the full score in this review and for taking the time to share your experience at Cititel Penang.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Penang.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

what i like most is the staff.. very helpfull and friendly.
the room is clean.
the food is just nice.have alot of choices.
the ambient is overall very good
the location in the middle of town, easy for food-hunting, sightseeing and shopping

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel services and facilities and it is indeed a delight to know that you have had a totally fulfilling stay with us. I have proudly shared your comments with my team members and all of us look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Cititel Hotel is central to Georgetown, about 5-10 minute walk from the Butterworth Ferry. It is an older hotel with a magnificent entry and reception area, taking one back to more salubrious times.

The reception staff were professional courteous and extremely professional. My room allocation could not have been more efficient.

The room (0727) was a large room with a wonderful view of the river. The room is dated, but comfortable with 2 single beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free WIFI and a colour TV with a variety of channels. Sadly, it does not have a room safe.

There were some problems with the WIFI connection, especially during the evening, but being on vacation I am not sure that is what should determine my life or the adequacy of the hotel. If you want 100% Internet connection either buy one you can trust or don’t come to SEA!

The bathroom is old style, with a bath – heavenly. Having finished a 11 km run with the Penang H3, it was really nice to sooth the aching muscles in a hot bath. Showers, which the room has, are more appropriate to cleanliness, but a hot bath certainly helps tired muscles.

The breakfast area is huge and provides nearly every available style of food that should satisfy European, Middle East and Asian guests. The restaurant staff members are friendly and accommodating.

The gym is slightly inadequate for real fitness freaks, but should suffice for the average traveller. The pool on the other hand, when added to its spa potential is excellent.

Overall this hotel is real value for money, close to the river, the Butterworth Ferry and easily accessible to many/ most of the Penang tourist sites, some of which are in walking distance. To get an idea of where the hotel sits in relation to Georgetown go to the 3rd floor gym and look out of the window. To the left behind the hotel (facing) you can see the Mast from the Fort and to its right the Clock Tower and further right the Ferry Terminal The shape of the hotel is easily distinguishable being narrower than most other buildings also of an evening it has a blue light stripe around its roof for easy identification.

The ‘free city bus’ and the Penang Hill bus services stop outside the front of the hotel, approximately 25 metres to the left as you exit the hotel. I will certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers and WILL stay there the next time I visit Penang.

Room Tip: I stayed in 0727, which had a nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Alan

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us and of our services, facilities and location and thank you for giving us full marks here on Trip Advisor as well as on our online guest questionnaire. I am truly grateful for your kind words and have shared them with my team here with much pride.

Glad to know that you had a great run with the Penang H3 and hope that you will be back again soon.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another fulfilling stay at Cititel Penang on your next visit.

Until then, best wishes from all of us at Cititel Penang.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes to Penang Ferry terminal. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.