We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located and decent clean hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Penang

Save Saved
You added Cititel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cititel Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Jalan Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 hotels in Georgetown
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Conveniently located and decent clean hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days. Though it was my 3rd visit to Penang but this was the first time i was staying at this hotel.
Centrally located, very close to the recommended coffee shops which sells very nice local delights like Lor Bak, Char kway teow and assam laksa. It is also within walking distance to Komtar, Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion, Red Garden, the temples and etc.
Hotel room is clean and well stock of amenities.
Receptionist service was prompt and efficient. It was very nice to see the people behind the counters always having a smile on their face. It really does make my day that way.
Breakfast selection was great, they even have a Japanese corner apart from the usual western, chinese and vegetarians selections.
Penang itself is a food haven, i would recommend people to opt out of the hotel's breakfast and go for the local delights. You wouldn't regret it. There are simply too much and reasonably priced good food around Penang. =)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for staying with us during this visit to Penang. Your encouraging comments about our team, the service rendered and our hotel facilities are greatly appreciated; and yes, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, and I'm very happy to note that you had a great time exploring our heritage city.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable time here and we look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another fulfilling stay.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    389
    172
    40
    19
See reviews for
112
164
70
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Cititel for the third straight summer, even booked the same standard room! There must be a reason: very professionally-run business, from the front desk to porters to housekeeping, and all for an affordable price. New this year were the flat screens TVs, new furniture and carpeting, and a little upkeep to the bathroom. Good job Tony and crew! And another little tip: booking directly from Cititel's website seems to get you a better deal than Agoda or others.

And there are always new things to explore and discover in Penang. This year we visited the clan jetties and my son and I took a tour of the old cemetery around the corner from the hotel. We also took the cheap ride to the top of Komtar--all worthwhile endeavors! Penang is one of our favorite destinations in Malaysia, and Cititel plays a key role in enjoying these visits.

Room Tip: Sam's Batik House is a short 5-minute walk down Penang Rd. on the left. Michael and his wife are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr McCollister

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again. I trust that you and family had a good trip home.

My team and I are extremely grateful to you for your gracious compliments and for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay here with the Trip Advisor community.

We are absolutely delighted to note that you like our new look and that you have had a totally fulfilling stay at Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your continued support and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very convenient location. Eating places in front of hotel. Convenient stores right next to hotel.

Nice Chinese restaurant (Foong Wei Heong) round the corner. Massage shops too.

I even went for a RM6 haircut round the corner as well!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and am very pleased to note that our hotel location is a plus-point during your stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next trip to Penang and thank you once again for writing.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Cititel Penang for 3N in July 2013 and wanted to share how pleased we were with Rohan at the front desk who made a good first - and lasting - impression on us. We checked in without a prior reservation and were absolutely delighted with his excellent service, flexible and friendly attitude, and his ever-ready advice for places to visit during our stay. He exudes genuine enthusiasm and pride in his work that cannot be easy to keep up, especially when we know he is observing the Muslim fasting month. Rohan deserves recognition for being not only an exemplary Cititel employee, but also a good brand ambassador. We could see the same courtesy and friendliness in Rohan's front office colleagues on duty throughout our stay, including the lady on duty when we checked out (whom we regret not noting her name).

We love the hotel's central location too. As we both love to walk, it was easy to cover nearly all of Georgetown - heritage area, shopping malls, food outlets, jetties and financial district.

If there is anything that needs to be improved, it would have to be the slow wifi access in our room. Although the problem was promptly resolved by your cheerful IT staff, we had to keep logging in every so often! You should really look into a more convenient system that requires your hotel guests to log in only once during their stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Chris and Kai

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent visit and I am very happy to note that you have had a totally fulfilling stay with us.

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Rohan and his colleagues at the Front Office which I have shared with them with much pride.

I am glad that you had a great time exploring our city and look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was a whole lot better after the renovation few years back. It was nightmare before that. The room was quite small tho. Good enough if you were there for just a night's sleep. Good Japanese restaurant by the name of Waka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is a delight to know that you like our hotel’s new look and thank you for coming back to stay with us again. I am very glad to note that you enjoyed dining at Kirishima, our Japanese Restaurant. It is always a favourite amongst the local and Japanese communities.

Thank you for your support and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good overall experience. We traveled as a couple and the superior room's size was adequate. Any smaller would be slightly cramp. The room was very well tidied and clean and was equipped with all the amenities that you would need. Good job to the cleaners. Finally, the quiet sleep and super comfortable bed lines were greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

On a side note, my first impression of the hotel wasn't of the best. Arrived and drove to the 1st floor car park. It looked real dodgy with poorly maintained lighting, walls and the floors. lighting was really dark with "blackened" walls. Concrete flooring was uneven as well with local cracks and deformation. Secondly, the parking attendant made me pay even though i told him i was a hotel guest and will be checking in. Was not happy about that. In short, was not impressed by the request to pay and poorly maintained car parking area.

Room Tip: Superior room was very comfortable and adequately sized. Unsure about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

My team and I are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments on our rooms and Housekeeping team. Thank You.

Thank you for your observations of our carpark and sincerely apologise for the lack of its maintenance. I am pleased to inform you that we will be repainting the walls of the car park soon as well as relook at the lighting and signage in the area. Our car park operations are leased out to a third party and all the guests are to pay the fees on arrival. However, we will reimburse the entrance fees to all our house guests. I am sorry that this was not conveyed to you in a more professional and courteous manner. I will personally remind the Operator about the lack of their staff courtesy.

Nevertheless, I hope that this did not detract you from overall enjoyment of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located not too far away fm Komtar. To visit the 'Snake Temple' or Penang Hills u can approach the Concierge to hire a van or limo. Must try the local hawker delights near the hotel. It's also not too far away from the shopping malls. Or you can visit the nice beaches at Batu Ferringhi;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and I hope that you had a wonderful stay in Penang.

Your positive comments of our hotel and location are greatly appreciated – thank you.

Wishing you a great week ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cititel Penang 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes to Penang Ferry terminal. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.