We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient business hotel in strategic location. Tasty breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cititel Penang to your Saves list
Cititel Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Jalan Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Convenient business hotel in strategic location. Tasty breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a convenient business hotel in the centre of old town and nearby the sea. From upper floors you can have a nice sea view (rooms 12 to 22). Breakfast is tasty with good choice of flavours (from Western cuisine to Thai, Malay, Japanese and Korean). Strategic location makes this place a good choice (c.a. 30 minutes drive from the airport). Rooms, although not very spacious, are refurbished and clean, with clean bedclothes (I stayed at the deluxe room, Pinnacle floor). Bathroom is clean. Toilet amenities, safe-box, iron and iron board, hair-dryer, electric water-kettle, a choice of teas and coffees are provided. Rooms are equipped with international charger socket with a variety of configuration (British, European, USA, RSA) - no need to bring your own. Wi-Fi works perfectly in the rooms and in the lobby. Check-in and check-out processes are very fast and not bothersome. Only some things need more attention - sofas at the lobby and corridors carpeting seem to see better times and the room doors are quite thin - you can hear slamming doors and people talking. In some areas you can smell a strong cigarette smoke. Aircon was difficult to adjust. But the overall impression is better than average, close to good. I keep finger crossed for further improvement :-)

Room Tip: Take a sea-view rooms on higher floors. Better to take deluxe rooms and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to write and I am happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    393
    175
    39
    19
See reviews for
115
165
70
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Location is great. Room was clean and modern. Well maintained hotel. Reception staff friendly. A recommendation will be to improve the pool area. We couldn't locate the switch for Jacuzzi; there was no one at the front desk of the recreation area (where the guest sign-up register and towels are placed)at about 4 times that we went there. Overall a pleasant hotel in Georgetown. We hope that management maintain and exceed the standards until we return next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I hope that you had a good trip home.

Thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel services and facilities – it is a delight to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I regret the inconvenience you had encountered at the pool area. The previous operator of the Health Centre has ceased operations and we will have a new Wellness Centre in its place come January 2013. The new operator is presently working on the renovation works for this new outlet, hence the lack of personnel at the front. Thank you for highlighting the switch to the jacuzzi for the pool; we have since placed a notice to indicate the location of the switch for our guests’ information.

Thank you for highlighting the improvements for the pool area and I sincerely hope that it did not dampen your stay with us.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon.

Until then, my best wishes
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last month after booking last minute on Agoda. Upon checking in we found out the room only had two beds, so for a small fee we upgraded for a king size bed with a great view of the water. It's about 20 minutes from the airport which was nice, but the hotel is just kind of old and smoky. You only get one wifi code for the room and will be charged if you need more than one. It's in a good location and right next to the Red Garden night market so there are plenty of options for food, but it just seems like a better hotel for a single business traveler rather than a couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to share that our hotel has just completed a complete refurbishment exercise and am glad that you liked the views from your room and our hotel location.

I am also delighted to share that effective 01 November 2012, all our guests are accorded with WIFI access for two persons per guestroom. I do hope that you will find this most useful on your next visit.

Thank you once again for writing in – my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Penang soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed here for 1 night. About 45 min from airport, close to the sea.

Quick check in & out. friendly & helpful staff. Good room, clean bathroom. Although there is no charging point near the bed ( Mgmt - take a note !! ).

Breakfast was good.

hotel is in a good location. Lots of pubs & bars nearby.

Room Tip: choose a high floor for sea viw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang and thank you for the positive comments of our services, food and facilities.

Thank you for the note about having a charging point by the bed – we will definitely include your suggestion in our plans for the next renovation phase of our guest rooms.

Our thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in Cititel Penang few times during my trip to Penang. This hotel is walking distance to so many food joints and old sights of Penang. A good location if you love exploring for food. Good front office services with speedy check in and out. Rooms were clean and equipped with amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and thank you for your positive comments of our Front Office and Housekeeping teams.

We truly appreciate your continued support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not much else to add to the many positive comments from previous reviewers regarding location, hotel staff etc. Just to note:
1. The mattresses are nice and firm.
2. If you get tired of eating the 'cheap and good" local food ( that my wife and I loved and we had multiple meals of that every day for four days) then the hotel's Japanese restaurant - Kirishima - provides a thoroughly enjoyable and welcomed break.
3. The hotel is also a good start point to walk and discover the amazing street art of Lithuanian artist Ernest Zacherevic. The mural - The Awaiting Trishaw Rider - is across from the hotel facing an open car park and is one of nine in the area. But hurry though as some like ' This Old Man' are beginning to fade.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

It is indeed very heartening to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang.

We truly appreciate your gracious comments about our hotel facilities and yes, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, be it by foot, by trishaw, by car or by public transport.

Thank you for your recommendation and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Cititel Penang soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room (#0630) was clean with views of the sea and hill. I especially like the fragrance of the bath towel, face towel, tooth paste, 2-in-1 shower gel and hand soup! Quick check-in and out too - I checked out in 3 min. Room was kept top-notch clean & tidy by housekeeping.
Good location to venture for street food!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay and am glad you liked the scent of our in-room amenities.

I appreciate your taking the time to share the experience of your stay at Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back the next time you are in Penang.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, Georgetown, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cititel Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes to Penang Ferry terminal. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.