We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accommodation in the hub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cititel Penang to your Saves list
Cititel Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class accommodation in the hub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Location is great. Room was clean and modern. Well maintained hotel. Reception staff friendly. A recommendation will be to improve the pool area. We couldn't locate the switch for Jacuzzi; there was no one at the front desk of the recreation area (where the guest sign-up register and towels are placed)at about 4 times that we went there. Overall a pleasant hotel in Georgetown. We hope that management maintain and exceed the standards until we return next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I hope that you had a good trip home.

Thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel services and facilities – it is a delight to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I regret the inconvenience you had encountered at the pool area. The previous operator of the Health Centre has ceased operations and we will have a new Wellness Centre in its place come January 2013. The new operator is presently working on the renovation works for this new outlet, hence the lack of personnel at the front. Thank you for highlighting the switch to the jacuzzi for the pool; we have since placed a notice to indicate the location of the switch for our guests’ information.

Thank you for highlighting the improvements for the pool area and I sincerely hope that it did not dampen your stay with us.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon.

Until then, my best wishes
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    453
    198
    40
    22
See reviews for
140
201
73
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last month after booking last minute on Agoda. Upon checking in we found out the room only had two beds, so for a small fee we upgraded for a king size bed with a great view of the water. It's about 20 minutes from the airport which was nice, but the hotel is just kind of old and smoky. You only get one wifi code for the room and will be charged if you need more than one. It's in a good location and right next to the Red Garden night market so there are plenty of options for food, but it just seems like a better hotel for a single business traveler rather than a couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to share that our hotel has just completed a complete refurbishment exercise and am glad that you liked the views from your room and our hotel location.

I am also delighted to share that effective 01 November 2012, all our guests are accorded with WIFI access for two persons per guestroom. I do hope that you will find this most useful on your next visit.

Thank you once again for writing in – my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Penang soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed here for 1 night. About 45 min from airport, close to the sea.

Quick check in & out. friendly & helpful staff. Good room, clean bathroom. Although there is no charging point near the bed ( Mgmt - take a note !! ).

Breakfast was good.

hotel is in a good location. Lots of pubs & bars nearby.

Room Tip: choose a high floor for sea viw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang and thank you for the positive comments of our services, food and facilities.

Thank you for the note about having a charging point by the bed – we will definitely include your suggestion in our plans for the next renovation phase of our guest rooms.

Our thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in Cititel Penang few times during my trip to Penang. This hotel is walking distance to so many food joints and old sights of Penang. A good location if you love exploring for food. Good front office services with speedy check in and out. Rooms were clean and equipped with amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and thank you for your positive comments of our Front Office and Housekeeping teams.

We truly appreciate your continued support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not much else to add to the many positive comments from previous reviewers regarding location, hotel staff etc. Just to note:
1. The mattresses are nice and firm.
2. If you get tired of eating the 'cheap and good" local food ( that my wife and I loved and we had multiple meals of that every day for four days) then the hotel's Japanese restaurant - Kirishima - provides a thoroughly enjoyable and welcomed break.
3. The hotel is also a good start point to walk and discover the amazing street art of Lithuanian artist Ernest Zacherevic. The mural - The Awaiting Trishaw Rider - is across from the hotel facing an open car park and is one of nine in the area. But hurry though as some like ' This Old Man' are beginning to fade.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

It is indeed very heartening to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang.

We truly appreciate your gracious comments about our hotel facilities and yes, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, be it by foot, by trishaw, by car or by public transport.

Thank you for your recommendation and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Cititel Penang soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room (#0630) was clean with views of the sea and hill. I especially like the fragrance of the bath towel, face towel, tooth paste, 2-in-1 shower gel and hand soup! Quick check-in and out too - I checked out in 3 min. Room was kept top-notch clean & tidy by housekeeping.
Good location to venture for street food!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay and am glad you liked the scent of our in-room amenities.

I appreciate your taking the time to share the experience of your stay at Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back the next time you are in Penang.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in the hotel from 2 to 4 November 2012.

Positive points:
a) Very friendly staff that handled a smooth and quick check-in.
b) Room was very clean.
c) Shower had sufficient water pressure.
d) Complimentary in-room Wifi for 1 user throughout the stay.
e) Central Location to all the highly recommended food places in the vicinity of George Town.

Negative points:
a) Limited parking in the hotel (on weekends)


Recommendations:
a) During check-in, the reception staff can ask the hotel guest on whether they prefer an English or Malay/Chinese/Indian newspaper to be delivered. I preferred the Star, but was provided Harian Metro.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us and appreciate the recommendations for our improvement.

Please accept my apologies for the slip-up in the newspaper delivery during your stay - I have taken this up with my Front Office team to ensure that this does not recur.

Admittedly, car park space may be rather tight on weekends, especially when we have banquet dinners and events at the time when occupancy is running high. I have addressed this issue with our car park operator, and that he should accord priority parking to our in-house guests during such a situation.

I sincerely hope that this did not detract you from your overall enjoyment of your stay here and my team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
#28 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#19 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#20 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#9 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cititel Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes to Penang Ferry terminal. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cititel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.