We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit Rundown place, nice location though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown City Hotel to your Saves list
Georgetown City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A bit Rundown place, nice location though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nicely located in Penang, near hospital which is my primary reason to stay in here.
The hotel itself is a bit rundown, a renovation would give this hotel a 5 stars rating.
Very easy to find food, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you to Reviewer Alexandre N for mentioning our strategic location which is easily accessible (by walking distance) to food, hospital and even to the famous Gurney Drive area.
For info, we have done some refurbishment in our rooms with carpets, curtain, upholstery, mattress & bed divans as well as TV all replaced new.

We do agree that further renovations would opgrade the hotel to an even higher level and we do have plans to do this in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    93
    78
    24
    23
See reviews for
97
38
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checked into this hotel on 26th January 2013 and stayed for 2 nights.

- Poor Bellman service
- Imagine i had to queue for almost 45 mins to queue

The first night, there was no water supply at all. From there it continued for the 2 nights. The Manager on duty gave me a reason due to it's full house, therefore they're experiencing it.
I used to stay in this hotel yearly for about 7 years now, and at all times they're service sucks big time.

I paid total of about RM750 for 2 nights for a basic room and i ended up not having water in the room. Reason given by the manager on duty was, the management knows about this water supply problem during full house but they refused to do anything.

For the 2 days, my family and me consist of 3 showered with slow pressure of cold water. We had no choice but to live with it due to we're late for our prayers.

I had to speak to 2 different manager on duty for both days, and on my second day, i was provided with a pail to collect water and bathe.

Lifts in this hotel are very very slow. Very annoying as only one lift leads you to the car park and the other two lifts will stop at lobby level itself.

The operator who answers the call, can hung up on me when i raised up my concern of there is no water supply. There is no basic customer service etiquette to some of the staffs in the property. They don't respect the guests and very laid back.

I will never ever stay in this hotel for future years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
First of all we would like to thank Reviewer for being a loyal customer of our hotel for 7 years. At the same time, we hereby convey our deepest regrets to SingGuy13 and his family for all the discomfort he went through during his stay.
Reviewer checked in on 26 Jan which is not only a long weekend but in between 2 holidays. As he rightly pointed out, the hotel was fully occupied for that few days. This of course is not a good reason for a hotel to run out of hot water. Unfortunately the Hotel was catering not to a 100% occupancy but a 200-300% occupancy as many rooms were utilized by 4-10 persons!

Thaipusam today is a Grand affair and this year's Thaipusam is very much more patronized than previous years. Our staff and facilities were quite overwhelmed by the number of guests using it almost at the same time. Thus a room meant for 2-3 persons maximum was "borrowed" by family and friends to use for shower etc. As such, hot water capacity meant for 500-600 persons were being used by thousands daily during the 3 days from 26-28 January. Wave after wave of people continued to utilize the water before the tanks had a chance to fill up and re-heat.
Saying that the Management refused to do anything about the problem is not quite accurate. In view of the special occasion (Thaipusam), we refrain from strictly enforcing our Hotel standard rules on limiting the number of people in the rooms.

We certainly regret the above situation as well as any other inconveniences SingGuy13 went through. Certainly in a full house situation, bell service, reception, lifts will not be as fast and efficient as what a guest will expect. In any case, we thank Reviewer for his feedback and we will continue to find ways to improve our services and facilities in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

While we were booked under a no-change/no refund policy, they did eventually change our dates as requested, but it took 2 calls to booking agent Hotels.com and 2 international calls to the hotel to effect that, each pointing the finger at the other party to sort it out for us. Hotels.com eventually contacted the hotel and got the change done for us.

It is an old hotel under a new name, but nothing else has changed (we have stayed there previously), and it shows. The plumbing noise from other rooms resonates throughout the room.

Reputedly a 4-star hotel, but we didn't get hand towels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Plus:
+ good location for shopping, only 5 mins taxi drive away or RM10 from Gurney Plaza
+ great location for medical check-up, opposite Adventist Hospital which is renowned for heart & vascular specialists
+ reasonably priced, if you buy vouchers through travel agents, you can get standard room for around RM140/night inc breakfast for 2 pax, while Junior Suite is bargain at around RM180 with room for extra bed.
+ minimarts and KFC located near hotel
+ reasonable and courteous service
+ Nice, clean rooms (we stayed at renovated Junior Suite room), great shower, and toilet complete with washers (important for Indonesians)

Minus:
- Lengthy check in time, had to wait almost 1 hour for my room to be ready.
- Standard rooms are...very standard and dated, so ask for renovated rooms which are much nicer
- breakfast variety very limited and boring
- free shuttle to Gurney Plaza sometimes not operational
- noise from nightclub downstairs so ask for rooms on higher floors

Summary:
Good hotel if you are on budget or on medical at Adventist Hospital. If you are Indonesians, you will feel at home as most guests there are Indonesian patients. Convenient locations, near Gurney, with minimart near hotel. Noise from nightclubs at night very annoying, and certainly not helping with so many guests there having heart problems....
It is good value hotel offering good service at reasonable price.

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms, and on higher floors to minimise noise from nightclub downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading reviews that said it was ok but not the best location. We looked around and decided that for the money it was fine. The rooms are clean and large, the staff are friendly and helpful even though the front desk is very understaffed.It is next an on the cheapside mall and food court and very close to the Guerny mall, a very western style one. Just past the Guerny mall is the guerny food hawker area, a must visit for anything your belly desires. Would recommend it as a quiet place for aslong a stay as you needed in Penang which in its self was a let down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel..the staff were quite nice and friendly and did a super quick job with the check in as we arrived after midnight with a tired grumpy child..the room was nice, clean and had a nice view..the breakfast buffet is excellent. Friendly staff helped with suggesting places and giving directions on how to use public transport. Thank you lovely staff :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had an enjoyable 2 week stay at Georgetown City hotel. I stayed in a superior room which was generally well equipped and you could see Penang Bridge in the distance. As other reviewers commented, it is very close to shopping centres and food. I list the plus points of staying at this hotel:

1) Convenience- Gurney Plaza (a very large shopping mall with cinemas etc) is located about 7 minutes walk from the hotel. You will only need to cross one very busy street to get there.
Pulau Tikus market is located about 10-15 min walk but has great choice for local food.
Midlands park next door also has good food choices and some (limited) shopping.
Also located close to Gurney Drive which is really nice for early morning walks/jogs and night time strolls.
2) Security- I noted quite a few police beats located near the hotel though these are only operational during the day.
3) Staff- Staff were generally very welcoming and always smiling. There were 2 staff members that stood out for going the extra mile. Rachel ( Assistant Front Desk Manager) was very accommodating to all the change requests I had for the room. ( I made several requests to extend my stay). She was also very efficient and got things done in a timely manner. She was at all times very polite and professional. I had full confidence knowing that my queries/transportation requests would be addressed.Ganeson (bell hop) was very friendly and helpful. He assisted me on a few occasions to fix my security card and to weigh my (very heavy) luggage. His friendly, ever smiling demeanor should definitely be acknowledged.

I did not use the pool or the gym so I cant comment on that. I did have a peep. The gym looks ok and has a few cardio machines and weight machines. The swimming pool is more like a dipping pool. No chance for laps. Breakfast selection was ok, though I would recommend a short morning walk to Pulau Tikus market for better variety.

Improvements I can suggest:
1) Rooms should come with hand towels, saucers and teaspoons ( this was provided upon request). Rooms were generally quite clean, though there was some moss around the soap holder in the bathroom.
2) Front desk staff were all quite pleasant but I think some of them were quite new and need a bit more training.
3) Room key cards were really sensitive- Not a big problem but can be annoying to have to go to Front desk a few times to get it fixed.
4) Please check all amenities- we had a broken desk chair which was promptly replaced but could have caused serious injury to an unsuspecting guest.

All in all, and enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#49 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
#28 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#25 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.6 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#19 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#29 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown City Hotel

Address: 1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgetown City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Georgetown City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown City Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.