We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oooo kaayyy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Georgetown City Hotel to your Saves list
Georgetown City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From MYR235++
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oooo kaayyy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a hotel that I thought would be looking great with nice facilities. A little dissappointed on the outlook I guess. Looks a little old. To be fair I think its been around for many years. Its connected to a small complex. Anyway that's fine for me. Location wise it's good. Very near to the famous food street and other hawker food. Room is clean. Bed is great n comfy. Bathroom is ok, looks old but still clean. Service is ok where its too crowded (too many guests) have to queue up and I waited long time for my room. For me the price is a little expensive. Overall good place to stay if u don't mind the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    67
    51
    14
    15
See reviews for
64
21
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everything is fine in this hotel except the access from carpark to the lobby. Really difficult for senior and children.
Other than that, everything is fine. Price is reasonable too.
My daughter really enjoy herself in the hotel room, she can walk around in the spacious living area.
Is really nice.

TY Lim

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I thought the Georgetown city hotel was excellent in terms of location and value. It has an open air pool in a higher floor and is only minutes away from the Botanical gardens, Gurney Drive mall/food market. Its also strategically located between Georgetown CBD, Batu Feringghi beach and Penang Hill. There are also good low priced (and safe) restaurants close to it. And, if you need a quick shop, there is a mall (Midlands) right NEXT to it. For those who wish a bit of quiet in their lives, its also right next to the Catholic church with its distinctive steeple.

SO, if you can do without living right next to or on the beach,this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langkawi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

worth for money for their executive package which it for someone travelling for business or leisure..3 days 2 nite plus breakfast n shuttle to airport from hotel...if i go penang again ill stay at same hotel...the bed is queen size bed and a good view ..but only one tiny tiny problem which is my towel in room not been changed with clean one..the rest is fine..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Georgetown City Hotel is very impressive, while Check in FO staff very helpful with offering maps and books about Georgetown.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the mattress was soft and cold air conditioning.
Breakfast food is very diverse and very real malaysia.
Location of the hotel is easily reached by Rapid Penang Bus from Komtar.
Price not bad for the size of hotel in town

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the Junior Suite in this hotel at a very low price found online, the room is very big and clean. We had a bathtub to soak ourselves in with nice warm water which runs consistently without fluctuating in temperature. Air-condition was working well and not giving any issues. Only had a small issue when checking in our room few hours late and we still have to wait for our room to be clean before they can let us have the room. Their service can be better if they can prepare our room early prior to our arrival. Car park was complimentary but please make sure that you enter the correct entrance to the hotel car park as the entrance to the public car park is just next to it! We have to pay for the public car park which is around MYR7 overnight.

The location of this hotel is really great with walking distance to the Gurney Plaza and the famous Anjung Gurney hawker street! Driving is recommended and fairly easy to find your way using GPS in the car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you Reviewer AlexKhoo for choosing to stay at the Georgetown City Hotel Penang and for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We noted you have scored us 4-star on most factors, being happy with our nice big & clean room at an affordable price. Also good utilities like aircond & hot water, not to mention our strategic location near Gurney Drive.
Despite all the above we were disappointed that AlexKhoo has ranked us only 3 star just because of the waiting time during check in. While we do try our best to provide the services to please our guests, it must be clarified that Hotels are unable to prepare the room earlier no matter how long ago a reservation was made, IF the hotel was running ar high occupancy.
During the recent Malaysia Day long weekend, many rooms were occupied and we can only clean & prepare the room for the next guest after the previous guests check out - which is usually between 12.00 - 2.00 pm.
Nevertheless, we look forward to Reviewer coming back next time and hope that he will give us a better score then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent just short of a week at this hotel in August in a junior suite and found it to be a reasonable stay.

The location is good for someone who does not want to be in the centre of it all but still have relatively easy access to everything.

The hotel could manage a better score if they just tried to think of things from a customers perspective as almost everything was just a little bit off. A good example is in the placement of switches for every lamp in the room (the room has next to no overhead lighting) in that they are in the most hard to reach locations and I should add you practically trip over the toilet to get into the shower/bath. There were smudges on the walls that would be easy to clean if staff did more than a surface clean.

Having said that the bed was comfortable and the room had a nice view. Pitty about the filthy external windows.

Aircon was good and the fridge quiet (actually I only found it on day 3)

If you stay here Bus (Bas) 101 and 104 go into town and to the jetty. 10 goes to the botanical gardens from across the road but if you miss one it is a very long wait till the next one. There is also an airport bus that runs past.

Sorry to add breakfast was really odd. They have the standard egg station (shame I can't eat eggs) and they have a noodle soup station which was a first for me but the hot food is just aweful... I suspect they use the previous nights leftovers hence pasta nepolitana for breakfast.

I won't return to the hotel but it was not such a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown City Hotel

Address: 1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgetown City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Georgetown City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown City Hotel Penang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.