We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel in Penang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown City Hotel to your Saves list
Georgetown City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12 Treats of Christmas
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great central hotel in Penang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I thought the Georgetown city hotel was excellent in terms of location and value. It has an open air pool in a higher floor and is only minutes away from the Botanical gardens, Gurney Drive mall/food market. Its also strategically located between Georgetown CBD, Batu Feringghi beach and Penang Hill. There are also good low priced (and safe) restaurants close to it. And, if you need a quick shop, there is a mall (Midlands) right NEXT to it. For those who wish a bit of quiet in their lives, its also right next to the Catholic church with its distinctive steeple.

SO, if you can do without living right next to or on the beach,this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    56
    17
    17
See reviews for
75
25
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
langkawi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

worth for money for their executive package which it for someone travelling for business or leisure..3 days 2 nite plus breakfast n shuttle to airport from hotel...if i go penang again ill stay at same hotel...the bed is queen size bed and a good view ..but only one tiny tiny problem which is my towel in room not been changed with clean one..the rest is fine..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Georgetown City Hotel is very impressive, while Check in FO staff very helpful with offering maps and books about Georgetown.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the mattress was soft and cold air conditioning.
Breakfast food is very diverse and very real malaysia.
Location of the hotel is easily reached by Rapid Penang Bus from Komtar.
Price not bad for the size of hotel in town

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the Junior Suite in this hotel at a very low price found online, the room is very big and clean. We had a bathtub to soak ourselves in with nice warm water which runs consistently without fluctuating in temperature. Air-condition was working well and not giving any issues. Only had a small issue when checking in our room few hours late and we still have to wait for our room to be clean before they can let us have the room. Their service can be better if they can prepare our room early prior to our arrival. Car park was complimentary but please make sure that you enter the correct entrance to the hotel car park as the entrance to the public car park is just next to it! We have to pay for the public car park which is around MYR7 overnight.

The location of this hotel is really great with walking distance to the Gurney Plaza and the famous Anjung Gurney hawker street! Driving is recommended and fairly easy to find your way using GPS in the car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you Reviewer AlexKhoo for choosing to stay at the Georgetown City Hotel Penang and for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We noted you have scored us 4-star on most factors, being happy with our nice big & clean room at an affordable price. Also good utilities like aircond & hot water, not to mention our strategic location near Gurney Drive.
Despite all the above we were disappointed that AlexKhoo has ranked us only 3 star just because of the waiting time during check in. While we do try our best to provide the services to please our guests, it must be clarified that Hotels are unable to prepare the room earlier no matter how long ago a reservation was made, IF the hotel was running ar high occupancy.
During the recent Malaysia Day long weekend, many rooms were occupied and we can only clean & prepare the room for the next guest after the previous guests check out - which is usually between 12.00 - 2.00 pm.
Nevertheless, we look forward to Reviewer coming back next time and hope that he will give us a better score then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent just short of a week at this hotel in August in a junior suite and found it to be a reasonable stay.

The location is good for someone who does not want to be in the centre of it all but still have relatively easy access to everything.

The hotel could manage a better score if they just tried to think of things from a customers perspective as almost everything was just a little bit off. A good example is in the placement of switches for every lamp in the room (the room has next to no overhead lighting) in that they are in the most hard to reach locations and I should add you practically trip over the toilet to get into the shower/bath. There were smudges on the walls that would be easy to clean if staff did more than a surface clean.

Having said that the bed was comfortable and the room had a nice view. Pitty about the filthy external windows.

Aircon was good and the fridge quiet (actually I only found it on day 3)

If you stay here Bus (Bas) 101 and 104 go into town and to the jetty. 10 goes to the botanical gardens from across the road but if you miss one it is a very long wait till the next one. There is also an airport bus that runs past.

Sorry to add breakfast was really odd. They have the standard egg station (shame I can't eat eggs) and they have a noodle soup station which was a first for me but the hot food is just aweful... I suspect they use the previous nights leftovers hence pasta nepolitana for breakfast.

I won't return to the hotel but it was not such a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is in perfect location if you plan to go to the Adventist Hospital which is just across the hotel. It was quite an old hotel but I think the rooms must have been upgraded in recent years. They have a limited bathroom amenities as the hotel wants to minimise waste and support the " Loving Earth Program" I guess you can always ask for it if you really need it. However they do provide the bathroom amenities in the Junior suite.
During our stay, the hotel was quite full as there was a seminar held in the hotel and most of the participants stayed in the hotel. The hotel only had three elevators, it took us almost 20 minutes to get a lift from the lobby to our room during this peak time.
The breakfast is average and many rooms for improvement.
The shopping centre beside the hotel was quite small but you can walk to the Gurney Plaza and Gurney Drive. It is about 10-15 minutes walk. However if you want to take the taxi, they will charge you RM 10.
You can also walk to the Pulau Tikus area. There are quite a few good and cheap restaurants. In the morning, you can also find a market in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We aspire to be more than just a Decent Hotel which Sm1I3y has perceive us to be but nevertheless we thank Reviewer for staying with us and making the effort to write his feedback.

It is true that we are conveniently located across from Adventist Hospital and although the hotel is 15 years old, Reviewer has also correctly pointed out that most of the rooms have been refurbished recently.

We do regret the inconveniences caused by the lift delay during his stay with us as its true we had a big seminar group at the time. The logistics of a few hundred people taking the lift at the same time from room to lobby, back to room and then to the function area is definitely no small matter. In any case, the Management would hereby like to use this forum and opportunity to apologize to all our guests who were inconvenienced by it at the time.

Thank you also to Reviewer for pointing out that our location is close to Gurney Drive and nearby to many interesting eating places around. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kedah, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location:
Base on 3 stars rate, I would say staying at this hotel is really value for $$ especially during peak session where drive around Penang Island is a big concern. I just need to walk for about 10-15 minutes to famous Gurney Drive to enjoy delicious foods and shop at Gurney Plaza. I don't need to worry about traffic jam and trouble finding car park there.

Room condition:
- Newly refurbished rooms (level 26) with new LCD TV
- Big space. Good for family stay
- Nice warm bed
- Aircond superb

Staff:
- Friendly and helpful. I checked the buffet price and the person incharge really knowledgable and share few option to me.

Room Tip: All family suite will be located at the corner. To see Penang Bridge, stay at xx12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Value for $$ hotel rate, good location near Gurney Drive, big room, warm bed, superb aircond, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

From us, a big Thank You to Reviewer Penang_Hotel for his comments. This is what we work towards always and we are pleased to be recognized. This will spur us on to continuously improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown City Hotel

Address: 1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgetown City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Georgetown City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown City Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.