We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel overall. But know this before you book” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel overall. But know this before you book”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a two-bedroom suite on the 12th floor
1. The room shows signs of its age and a lack of proper maintenance, marks on the walls, tired curtains, lamp shades fixed with sticky tapes, etc
2. Air-conditioning is not centralised, but 4 separate split systems. We had to keep them running all day to keep the room cool to our liking, gave us a guilty feeling of wasting electricity. But doesn’t mean central air-con can save electricity
3. Many features and things in room advertised on hotel booking sites are either removed/non-existent or malfunction. For example, microwave (not there), in-room safe (not there), TVs (not working), Jacuzzi (not working). If you want me to come back, IN-ROOM SAFE PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!
4. Furniture is obviously of cheap quality and outdated, but serves the purpose well. I am not sure I would like the modern, Ikea-style ones better.
5. Hotel appeared being run with minimal number of staff. Service can be slow, but still reasonable, just be 5-10 mins more patient
6. But we got a very good size suite room. Plenty of space, a living area, small kitchen, cleaned everyday well (note that cleaning the room doesn’t make it look new/modern)
7. All the complaints you read here, we didn’t feel that horrible/bad as people say. But you have to adjust your expectations a little bit.
8. Location is great, particularly if you are not keen on going downtown. Just along the water front outside the hotel, you will find places to eat (from excellent/pricy to low end/tourist traps).
9. The swimming pool on 7th floor, really great and romantic. Can’t beat that
10. The gym, is a ‘nevermind’
11. Breakfast is great, but the Coffee House is understaffed, so be prepared. Breakfast starts at 6:30, thus if you are like us (catching the 8:35am flight back to KL) ask the reception to inform the Coffee House you want to have whatever is available at 6:00am
12. The lifts, worked really well and fast. Never had we to wait for long. We were on 12th floor.
13. Understaffed, but staff is great. The receptionists, some people here say they are rude. But I will say, if you want efficient check in, you have to be a smart guest
14. Once you get over to the initial shock when you first see the room, everything is fine
15. I don’t see it being over priced. But let’s say “it is time to move on, Gurney Hotel”. Keep running your hotel like this because you still get good occupancy rate is no guarantee we will come back
16. If you are a single traveller, you will find the 15-ringgit taxi ride going to town a bit annoying. But we didn’t find it necessary to go to town that much.

Room Tip: Seaview room, definitely Rooms on 10 to15th floor save time in lifts Unless watching TV is your th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments and we certainly take your comment seriously. FYI, we are indeed on process to upgraded our suite room like new LCD TV, curtain, linen, etc...perhaps on your future visit may we suggest to book you at our recent upgraded room. We hope you are able to give us another opportunity to ensure your next stay with us a pleasant one.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    127
    115
    58
    59
See reviews for
160
51
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Overall a comfortable hotel. We had a room on the 32nd floor with views of the sea to the north and the hills to the south. A friendly group of hotel staff - they make you feel at home.

My only complaint was 2 tiny cockroaches in the room. One dead roach (5 mm) was on the shower floor and the other one (3 mm) was scurrying on the writing table which I immediately swatted with the hotel envelope!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments and we apologies for the shortcoming on the cockroaches. FYI, we do engaged a professional pest control contractor on monthly exercise to spray on all the guest rooms. In between if there is report of pest inside guest room we will redo spraying the room to ensure is it pest free which at time prove to be a a bit challenge. We certainly take note on your concerned.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Free wifi in all areas of the hotel including rooms, restaurants and the ballroom. Signal strength is good and the speed reasonably fast.
Breakfast buffet is pretty mediocre
Room is spacious with jacuzzi. No toothbrush or toothpaste in bathroom so bring your own

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments. FYI, we do provide free toothbrush and toothpaste upon request. We look forward to welcome you again for your future stay with us.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a recommendation by a relative who lives in KL.
Initially stayed in room 1603 which was rather tired looking with three TVs with poor signal. However Reception staff offered alternative room and helped us move in to 3503 shortly upon check in to a room which had been renovated. If I had a grumble then it wld be nice if Tv was avail in the bedrooms of the 2 bedroom suite. Bed was comfy with lots of pillows. AC could be a touch cooler instead of being stuck at 18c. Breakfast was varied with attentive service by one called shafiq who made sure service was quick and enjoyable for me and my elderly parents.
Taxi booking was quick and efficient and looked after on an excursion the foll day arranged by kumar. Laundry was quick and housekeeping efficient . The staff are very pleasant and speak good English. My father had probs with the safe and the gentleman came within minutes to repair and after spending time in 3 hotels on my trip to Malaysia, this hotel has left a nice impression on my stay. The pool is lovely and staff helpful my only grumble wld be please don't play local radio as it spoils the ambience of a relaxing swim and the chattering of the radio was distracting. Choose a cd with spa music.
Keep up the good service :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comment. We had taken note to add in extra LCD TV into the 2 bedrooms suite when we have completed the exercise to install all LCD TV on the rest of the suites room and also on the proper music at the Recreation Park pool. We look forward to welcome you again for your future stay with us.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite spacious and it faces the waterfront. The furnitures are a bit old but the plus point is the jacuzzi bathtub they have in the room. Room service was quite fast overall.

Also organised a meeting here for my professional clients about 80 of them. Generally the banquet staff are nice n helpful except for one black sheep. However after complaining to the manager his attitude improved for the rest of the day. The food presentation can be better, the taste is acceptable. For meetings if you are not expecting 5 stars facillities this place is not too bad and quite cost saving as the meeting package is rm70 per pax. Just make sure u let them know about the av/lcds that u need in advance so that they can prepare.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments and looking forward to serve you better for your future meeting with us.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked a sea facing deluxe room.

Lobby- Old fashioned lobby but well maintained.

Chek-in- Service is fine.

Room- Rather old fashioned as you may see Everything in the room is basic. Bed sheet and blanket is yellowish and with some permanent stains. So it make us feel uncomfortable when using it. We didnt bother coz we only stayed one night.

Bathroom & toilet- Pretty old.

Air-conditioner- Not those centralised air-conditioner. There are 2 units of air conditioner in the room, however one is very noisy.

Overall, it need to refurbish.

We stayed at Laurel Evergreen hotel (which is few blocks away along the Gurney drive) 6 months ago, also a sea facing deluxe room. But I would go back to this hotel again rather than this one coz Laurel Evergreen has better clealiness and although its looks old but the overall impression of Laurel Evergreen hotel is a well maintained oldish hotel which I kinda like it rather than half modern and half out-dated like Gurney hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments. We apologies for the room condition during your recent stay with us. Please rest assure we are seriously looking into it to improve the room condition. We are in process to upgrade the room like new LCD TV, new curtain, new linen set, etc....we are confident we are able to match our next door hotel and with better pricing !! We hope you are able to give us another opportunity for your next stay with us and please don't forget to ask for upgraded room.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went there for a shot trip and found the hotel to be good in its location. Near the new gurney mall which is 10-15 mins walk and behind the hotel u can easily catch a bus to the mall for $1RM. Its also near the komtar area/penang street/perangin mall it takes abt 10mins to reach by taxi which cost $12RM. Overall hotels have huge rooms with good shower. For the king size bed is made of two single join together. Nice seaview from the hotel. Surely worth to stay compared to feringghi area where everyrhing was so expensive. The only down side abt the hotel is the breakfast menu.. nothing great to talk abt. Food coffee and tea below average. Hotel management should do somethimg abt it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments. We certainly take note on your comment on breakfast menu and will bring this up to my manager concerned to improve it.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#33 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#17 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.