We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in George Town
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we stay here during chinese new year 10-12/02/2013. overall our stay very satify.. my kids love the kids pool. only shopping centre need to walk 25-30mins. my girl complain about the walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments and we certainly looking forward to see you again in future.

Shepard Ku
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    123
    111
    54
    57
See reviews for
153
51
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

OMG pool was green so couldn't swim kids pool ok. All that was going for it was the spacious room. full of broken lamps, air con, & missing remotes 4 smallest TV screens ever. Poor rabbit in pen to entertain kids in the non existent kids club. Staff friendly. Asking $1 to play on a ripped pool table by the end was well !!! Good location well & truly needs overhaul

Room Tip: Families on a backpacker budget looking for big room & friendly staff & good breakfast ok &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the comment and we certainly will look into the pool condition, and others shortcoming issues. We are in the process to upgrade the room condition stage by stage by starting with changing the old TV to LCD TV, changing curtain, re-upholstery sofa seat, and replacing new linens....In the meantime please bear with us

Shepard Ku
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The receptionists were very accomodating.Thks to Suraya for allowing our late check out.The room was very spacious but the furnitures and curtains are beyond description.The breakfast was good and the food was replenished fast.The 7th floor was great for children with variety of activities.The view was awesome covering both hill and sea view.Located within eating outlets
and you can never go hungry.We enjoyed our first trip to Penang in this stay.

Room Tip: Get the rooms which have been newly furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comment and I will pass my message to Ms. Suraya. We certainly look forward to welcome your family and yourself back again soon.

Shepard Ku
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

All are well and good except for a rude phone operator I faced when trying to confirm my reservation. Long hold on call and the reservation officer doesnt seems to care much when I related my experience with the operator. Ms. Linda - front office manager do take note.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I will take note and follow up on the rude operator

Shepard Ku
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The furniture in the rooms need to be replaced. Traces of burnt mark on settee. Air conditioner failed to work when we required it. Coffee house not bright enough. Generally the hotel need a total refurbishment - it can be a great hotel. As at today its a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are quite spacious but unfortunately not very clean. The breakfast buffet is very good, lots of different food types to choose from. Most of the staff are very kind, especially the doorman and the porters but the reception staff.... Vanila was the receptionist who handled our check-in,, she only greeted my husband,, simply ignored me when I asked her something about the room and kept addressing my husband only. I was going to pay for the room, but boy did she have a problem with that... Quite hilarious really. For shoppers it may not be the most ideal location, the Gurney shopping Mall and the hawker food stalls are about a 15 minutes walk along the waterfront.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor rooms, a lot of noise from the elevator mechanism because it probably worn-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A very large hotel with tall and lager reception area. Upstairs, there are resort type facility area with sand beach pay area, valley ball, ping pong table, game table , pool table and swiming pool at edge of the building. Room size and bathroom are big but needs repair or renovate. There is a small (20 inches CRT TV) in the middle of the room ? Very noise at night due to poor sound insulation. You may hear the talking from adjcent room . Buffet breakfast items are good except the servers are not doing their job at all. I will not come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.